New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: GWB needs room to gybe to give water
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

GWB needs room to gybe to give water

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
Matt Jackson View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 21 Sep 04
Location: Darlington
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 962
Post Options Post Options   Quote Matt Jackson Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: GWB needs room to gybe to give water
    Posted: 05 Jun 08 at 1:07pm

You guys may be able to help here.

2 boats on a dead run, both on starboard, overlapped with WB less than 1 boatlength away. Been like this for most of the (shortish) leg. Both boats will need to gybe to lay a starboard rounding mark and then gybe again to round it.

When the entering the 2 boatlength zone WB is so close to LB that LB cannot gybe without making contact. WB says he's gybing, LB says give me room to gybe. WB gybes and barges LB forcing LB to gybe and the 2 generally raft up for 20 seconds or so.

Who was in the wrong? I guess it depends if LB should have anticipated the situation and luffed to give himself room to gybe before the zone or whether WB should give LB room to gybe within the zone.

Any ideas? I'll let you know which was me after a few responses



Edited by Matt Jackson
Laser 203001, Harrier (H+) 36
Back to Top
tack'ho View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 08 Feb 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1100
Post Options Post Options   Quote tack'ho Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jun 08 at 1:51pm
argggghhhhhh,  any chance of a diagram
I might be sailing it, but it's still sh**e!
Back to Top
Matt Jackson View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 21 Sep 04
Location: Darlington
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 962
Post Options Post Options   Quote Matt Jackson Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jun 08 at 2:13pm
Yeah give me an hour or 2.
Laser 203001, Harrier (H+) 36
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6661
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jun 08 at 2:26pm
I guess it will start with the definition of keeping Clear. Was the windward boat keeping clear of Leeward?

Keep Clear
One boat keeps clear of another if the other can sail her course with no need to take avoiding action and, when the boats are overlapped on the same tack, if the leeward boat can change course in both directions without
immediately making contact with the windward boat


Back to Top
Chew my RS View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 05 Oct 05
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 790
Post Options Post Options   Quote Chew my RS Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jun 08 at 3:05pm

Once the WB had gybed, he was on port and so has no right to barge the starboard tack boat and force him to make a gybe. 

One other thing - if you are both on a dead run, then IMHO the windward boat is the one who's bow is less far forward, not necessarily the boat on the starboard side (in this starboard tack case).  So are you sure who was WB and who was LB?  Not that it matters because I see this as a port/starboard incidence.

http://www.sailns14.org - The ultimate family raceboat now available in the UK
Back to Top
Matt Jackson View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 21 Sep 04
Location: Darlington
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 962
Post Options Post Options   Quote Matt Jackson Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jun 08 at 4:31pm

Originally posted by Matt Jackson

Yeah give me an hour or 2.

 can someone PM and tell me how to get a picture in. I thought I could just caut n paste from a PDF or JPG.

 

Laser 203001, Harrier (H+) 36
Back to Top
jeffers View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3048
Post Options Post Options   Quote jeffers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jun 08 at 4:32pm
This one is pretty simple...Once in the zone the inside boat is entitled to room. If the gap has closed so much that LB cannot keep clear of WB then I would say LB should have anticipated the situation.

If WB caused contact by gybing and 'barging' then this I believe is an avoidable collision and WB should be thrown out.

LB could also be thrown out for not giving WB room.

I would say that LB should have anticipated what was going to happen and accepted that WB was going want room and planned accordingly.

Not sure which part of Rule 18 this comes under as I dont have my rule book to hand....
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74
Back to Top
sargesail View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 14 Jan 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1459
Post Options Post Options   Quote sargesail Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jun 08 at 5:49pm

All LB can do is slide away downwind to create room to gybe - but this may not be sufficientlt timely - in this case WB certainly seems to have thought so.

This is a classic case where the About to round thing is of releveance:

WB - "We're about to round and you need to start soaking now to create room for your gybe even tho we're not in the 2 boat zone.

LB -"I'll bear away and then protest".

But since that's not the case I would say WB was not keeping clear and should be binned.  No case to answer for LB who could hardly avoid the collision if WB was already crowding him and preventing the gybe.

Of course if LB has luffing rights he could have luffed earlier and made sure they never got to the zone, and then gybed very late ensuring no chance of WB having an inside overlap at the zone.

Matt

Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6661
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jun 08 at 5:52pm
My first thought is that I'm amazed that the two boats could be inside the two length zone and have to gybe twice to get round the mark... I suppose its just about possible, but only just... It seems to me much more likley they were outside the zone.

But that's only of partial relevance. This gets complicated, because rule 18 switches "when the boats are about to pass a mark", not at 2BL. 2BL only defines when an overlap is or isn't broken, and not when rule 18 applies. I have trouble believing that a boat that must gybe to reach the mark can be said to be about to pass the mark, even if it is two boat lengths from it. Are they spinnaker boats? Have they dropped the kites yet? Is it a kite drop mark?

If the boats are not about to pass the mark, because they have to gybe to make it, then rule 18 doesn't apply, and L can take W as far from the mark as they like. That's a controversial interpretation though, and I have little confidence in it. I think I'd pass this one to the RYA rules query guys! I think this depends lots what the boats are... If they are Lasers then they were definitely about to pass the mark. If they were asymettric boats that will be dropping the kite at the mark I'm not so sure... If I were W I would have been asking for water for the mark well outside the 2BL zone and planned to soak down rather than gybe.
Back to Top
tack'ho View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 08 Feb 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1100
Post Options Post Options   Quote tack'ho Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jun 08 at 6:04pm
Originally posted by Chew my RS

One other thing - if you are both on a dead run, then IMHO the windward boat is the one who's bow is less far forward, not necessarily the boat on the starboard side (in this starboard tack case).  So are you sure who was WB and who was LB? 

I'm pretty sure this is not the case!

I might be sailing it, but it's still sh**e!
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy