Print Page | Close Window

GWB needs room to gybe to give water

Printed From: Yachts and Yachting Online
Category: General
Forum Name: Racing Rules
Forum Discription: Discuss the rules and your interpretations here
URL: http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=4253
Printed Date: 27 Jun 25 at 12:24am
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com


Topic: GWB needs room to gybe to give water
Posted By: Matt Jackson
Subject: GWB needs room to gybe to give water
Date Posted: 05 Jun 08 at 1:07pm

You guys may be able to help here.

2 boats on a dead run, both on starboard, overlapped with WB less than 1 boatlength away. Been like this for most of the (shortish) leg. Both boats will need to gybe to lay a starboard rounding mark and then gybe again to round it.

When the entering the 2 boatlength zone WB is so close to LB that LB cannot gybe without making contact. WB says he's gybing, LB says give me room to gybe. WB gybes and barges LB forcing LB to gybe and the 2 generally raft up for 20 seconds or so.

Who was in the wrong? I guess it depends if LB should have anticipated the situation and luffed to give himself room to gybe before the zone or whether WB should give LB room to gybe within the zone.

Any ideas? I'll let you know which was me after a few responses



-------------
Laser 203001, Harrier (H+) 36



Replies:
Posted By: tack'ho
Date Posted: 05 Jun 08 at 1:51pm
argggghhhhhh,  any chance of a diagram

-------------
I might be sailing it, but it's still sh**e!


Posted By: Matt Jackson
Date Posted: 05 Jun 08 at 2:13pm
Yeah give me an hour or 2.

-------------
Laser 203001, Harrier (H+) 36


Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 05 Jun 08 at 2:26pm
I guess it will start with the definition of keeping Clear. Was the windward boat keeping clear of Leeward?

Keep Clear
One boat keeps clear of another if the other can sail her course with no need to take avoiding action and, when the boats are overlapped on the same tack, if the leeward boat can change course in both directions without
immediately making contact with the windward boat




Posted By: Chew my RS
Date Posted: 05 Jun 08 at 3:05pm

Once the WB had gybed, he was on port and so has no right to barge the starboard tack boat and force him to make a gybe. 

One other thing - if you are both on a dead run, then IMHO the windward boat is the one who's bow is less far forward, not necessarily the boat on the starboard side (in this starboard tack case).  So are you sure who was WB and who was LB?  Not that it matters because I see this as a port/starboard incidence.



-------------
http://www.sailns14.org - http://www.sailns14.org - The ultimate family raceboat now available in the UK


Posted By: Matt Jackson
Date Posted: 05 Jun 08 at 4:31pm

Originally posted by Matt Jackson

Yeah give me an hour or 2.

 can someone PM and tell me how to get a picture in. I thought I could just caut n paste from a PDF or JPG.

 



-------------
Laser 203001, Harrier (H+) 36


Posted By: jeffers
Date Posted: 05 Jun 08 at 4:32pm
This one is pretty simple...Once in the zone the inside boat is entitled to room. If the gap has closed so much that LB cannot keep clear of WB then I would say LB should have anticipated the situation.

If WB caused contact by gybing and 'barging' then this I believe is an avoidable collision and WB should be thrown out.

LB could also be thrown out for not giving WB room.

I would say that LB should have anticipated what was going to happen and accepted that WB was going want room and planned accordingly.

Not sure which part of Rule 18 this comes under as I dont have my rule book to hand....


-------------
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74


Posted By: sargesail
Date Posted: 05 Jun 08 at 5:49pm

All LB can do is slide away downwind to create room to gybe - but this may not be sufficientlt timely - in this case WB certainly seems to have thought so.

This is a classic case where the About to round thing is of releveance:

WB - "We're about to round and you need to start soaking now to create room for your gybe even tho we're not in the 2 boat zone.

LB -"I'll bear away and then protest".

But since that's not the case I would say WB was not keeping clear and should be binned.  No case to answer for LB who could hardly avoid the collision if WB was already crowding him and preventing the gybe.

Of course if LB has luffing rights he could have luffed earlier and made sure they never got to the zone, and then gybed very late ensuring no chance of WB having an inside overlap at the zone.

Matt



Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 05 Jun 08 at 5:52pm
My first thought is that I'm amazed that the two boats could be inside the two length zone and have to gybe twice to get round the mark... I suppose its just about possible, but only just... It seems to me much more likley they were outside the zone.

But that's only of partial relevance. This gets complicated, because rule 18 switches "when the boats are about to pass a mark", not at 2BL. 2BL only defines when an overlap is or isn't broken, and not when rule 18 applies. I have trouble believing that a boat that must gybe to reach the mark can be said to be about to pass the mark, even if it is two boat lengths from it. Are they spinnaker boats? Have they dropped the kites yet? Is it a kite drop mark?

If the boats are not about to pass the mark, because they have to gybe to make it, then rule 18 doesn't apply, and L can take W as far from the mark as they like. That's a controversial interpretation though, and I have little confidence in it. I think I'd pass this one to the RYA rules query guys! I think this depends lots what the boats are... If they are Lasers then they were definitely about to pass the mark. If they were asymettric boats that will be dropping the kite at the mark I'm not so sure... If I were W I would have been asking for water for the mark well outside the 2BL zone and planned to soak down rather than gybe.


Posted By: tack'ho
Date Posted: 05 Jun 08 at 6:04pm
Originally posted by Chew my RS

One other thing - if you are both on a dead run, then IMHO the windward boat is the one who's bow is less far forward, not necessarily the boat on the starboard side (in this starboard tack case).  So are you sure who was WB and who was LB? 

I'm pretty sure this is not the case!



-------------
I might be sailing it, but it's still sh**e!


Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 05 Jun 08 at 6:43pm
Originally posted by tack'ho

Originally posted by Chew my RS


One other thing - if you are both on a dead run, then IMHO the windward boat is the one who's bow is less far forward, not necessarily the boat on the starboard side (in this starboard tack case).  So are you sure who was WB and who was LB? 


I'm pretty sure this is not the case!


I think you're right: from the definitions:-

Leeward and Windward A boat’s leeward side is the side that is or, when she is head to wind, was away from the wind. However, when sailing by the lee or directly downwind, her leeward side is the side on which her mainsail lies. The other side is her windward side. When two boats on the same tack overlap, the one on the leeward side of the other is the leeward boat. The other is the windward boat.


Posted By: Matt Jackson
Date Posted: 05 Jun 08 at 7:15pm

Hope this helps, boats are Contender and Albacore. LB sailing by the lee hoping to round but not quite making it!



-------------
Laser 203001, Harrier (H+) 36


Posted By: jeffers
Date Posted: 05 Jun 08 at 7:29pm
Originally posted by JimC

Originally posted by tack'ho

Originally posted by Chew my RS


One other thing - if you are both on a dead run, then IMHO the windward boat is the one who's bow is less far forward, not necessarily the boat on the starboard side (in this starboard tack case).  So are you sure who was WB and who was LB? 


I'm pretty sure this is not the case!


I think you're right: from the definitions:-

Leeward and Windward A boat’s leeward side is the side that is or, when she is head to wind, was away from the wind. However, when sailing by the lee or directly downwind, her leeward side is the side on which her mainsail lies. The other side is her windward side. When two boats on the same tack overlap, the one on the leeward side of the other is the leeward boat. The other is the windward boat.


Or to put it very simply...The windward side of your boat is the side opposite the boom regardsless of where the wind is actually coming from (for boats sailing by the lee).

I still say that the situation should never have happened the the LB should have either luffed WB to created room and break the overlap prior to the zone (or being about to round or pass) or allowed WB enough room then cut inside at the rounding. Just because the rules allow you to do something does not mean that you should as you may end up stuffing yourself over!

Remember downwind 'in the zone' port and starboard are irrevelevant it is whoever is inside if overlapped.


-------------
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74


Posted By: Matt Jackson
Date Posted: 05 Jun 08 at 7:33pm

Trust me there wasn't any room to give, to lay the mark LB had to gybe.



-------------
Laser 203001, Harrier (H+) 36


Posted By: jeffers
Date Posted: 05 Jun 08 at 8:08pm
If it was as tight as the pictures describe then it is down to LB to gybe cleanly and WB to head up to allow room before gybing herself.

How was the overlap established in the first place?

If LB had no luffing rights then they should never have been close enough for this situation to develop (wonderful thing hindsight).


-------------
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74


Posted By: Matt Jackson
Date Posted: 05 Jun 08 at 8:41pm
Came round a Port hand windward mark with the LB in this picture on the inside with water. Paced each other almost exactly down this leg. In hindsight LB should certainly have luffed.

-------------
Laser 203001, Harrier (H+) 36


Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 05 Jun 08 at 8:55pm
Seems to me then that W didn't keep clear the entire length of the run and made it impossible for L to give water at the mark due to the aforesaid failure to keep clear. W DSQ.


Posted By: jeffers
Date Posted: 05 Jun 08 at 10:39pm
Thats the conclusion I was coming to Jim hence the Q of when was the overlap established.

-------------
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74


Posted By: Matt Jackson
Date Posted: 06 Jun 08 at 1:39pm

I was LB, and I wasn't too worried about the incident as according to his crew he spent the rest of the race puffing and complaining (and going backwards down the fleet) and I had a lovely time planing around the course as the wind picked up.

Actually what I left out is that about 3 boatlengths back WB was so close that when he got a puff his boom end snagged on my windward shroud. I should have anticipated trouble then as when I pointedly looked at him and twirled my index finger in the air he just looked back and shrugged!



-------------
Laser 203001, Harrier (H+) 36


Posted By: Scooby_simon
Date Posted: 06 Jun 08 at 1:53pm
Originally posted by Matt Jackson

I was LB, and I wasn't too worried about the incident as according to his crew he spent the rest of the race puffing and complaining (and going backwards down the fleet) and I had a lovely time planing around the course as the wind picked up.

Actually what I left out is that about 3 boatlengths back WB was so close that when he got a puff his boom end snagged on my windward shroud. I should have anticipated trouble then as when I pointedly looked at him and twirled my index finger in the air he just looked back and shrugged!

 

So you should have shouted protest and then the second incident would probably not have happened!!!!!



-------------
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..


Posted By: Matt Jackson
Date Posted: 06 Jun 08 at 2:03pm
Of course that's what I should have done...

-------------
Laser 203001, Harrier (H+) 36


Posted By: Garry
Date Posted: 06 Jun 08 at 8:23pm

here's ny two pence worth

going down the run wb needs to keep clear and is probably not.  When the boats are about to round LB must give WB room to go inside, but must be given the opportunity to keep clear.  Since LB can't gybe without hitting wb then LB has not been given the opportunity to keep clear. 

As soon as WB gybes it depends if they are about to round. If they are not about to round the WB gybed into a give way situation and therefore has no right to any sort of water.  Again if the gybe is part of about to round then WB must give LB opportunity to keep clear and clearly hasn't.

In most situations then WB was in the wrong, so logically a protest should go against WB.

Garry



-------------
Garry

Lark 2252, Contender 298

www.cuckoos.eclipse.co.uk


Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 07 Jun 08 at 12:40pm

Working from the diagrams :

Situation 1 : WB is not keeping clear. WB infringes RRS 11 and should take a penalty.

Situation 2  : By gybing, WB moves from one give way position to another. WB infringes RRS 10 and, because there is contact, RRS 14, and should take a penalty.

LB, as right of way boat, overlapped on the outside, is obliged to give room to WB. However, LB is prevented from giving room because WB has broken a rule. RRS 64.1(b) applies and LB is exonerated. As there is no damage LB does not have to take a penalty under RRS 14

Situation 3 This should be considered as part of the same incident... WB still has 2 penalties to take, and appears to be preventing LB from keeping clear.

 

NB Once a boat has infringed a rule  the Basic Principle "Sportsmanship and the rules" obliges them to take a penalty, even if no other boat protests. However, LB should have protested well before the two boats were anywhere near the leeward mark!



-------------
Gordon



Print Page | Close Window

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz - http://www.webwizguide.com