New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Inside and outside at an obstruction.
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Inside and outside at an obstruction.

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
SteveB00 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 30 Nov 13
Location: Sydney, Oz
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 24
Post Options Post Options   Quote SteveB00 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Inside and outside at an obstruction.
    Posted: 11 Jan 14 at 1:19am

A boat, L, is reaching on starboard tack towards a mark of the course that is at the left hand end of an island. However, it's the not the island, but a navigation mark just off the end of it that is listed as the mark. I believe that makes the island a continuing obstruction.


A bigger, slightly faster boat, W, catches L and forms an overlap to windward of her. L comes up until the boats are sailing straight at the island. The shore is a gradually shoaling beach and, while the boats are roughly abeam of each other, the bigger boat, W, starts to run out of water, while L still has enough water to sail further before needing to bear away for the mark.


My instinct is that rule 19(b) should compel L to bear away and make room for W to sail between her and the island but, while the boats are sailing directly at the island, in what sense are the boats "outside" and "inside"? To take it further, if L sailed high enough, she would appear to be the "inside" boat and W the "outside".


When W runs out of water, what compels L to bear away and allow W to pass the obstruction?


Thanks in advance,

Steve  = : ^ )

Back to Top
Presuming Ed View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 26 Feb 05
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 641
Post Options Post Options   Quote Presuming Ed Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jan 14 at 5:15pm
Can someone quote 19.2.c. On my phone & can't cut and paste from a PDF.

I assume the island is to windward?
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6661
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jan 14 at 8:47pm
<quote>19.2(c) While boats are passing a continuing obstruction, if a boat that was clear astern and required to keep clear...</quote>

I think the crucial word here is passing. In your scenario they are approaching, so I don't believe 19.2(c) applies until such time as the boats are travelling more nearly parallel to the obstruction.

And in 19.2.b, L, as ROW boat has the right to choose which side of the obstruction they go, but as soon as she does that it becomes immediately clear which is the inside boat. If she delays the decision on which way to go until W has run out of room to navigate safely then I suspect she will lose both protest and insurance claim...
Back to Top
iansmithofotley View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 16 Mar 04
Location: Otley, West Yorkshire
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 209
Post Options Post Options   Quote iansmithofotley Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jan 14 at 9:08pm
Hi everyone,

Don't we need to know how big the island is (yards or miles long), how far the mark is from the island, whether or not the island can be rounded, and whether the mark to be rounded is a gybe mark? Also, are the boats large yachts or dinghies?

Ian  (Yorkshire Dales SC)
Back to Top
SteveB00 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 30 Nov 13
Location: Sydney, Oz
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 24
Post Options Post Options   Quote SteveB00 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jan 14 at 10:48pm
"I assume the island is to windward?" Yes, the boats are on starboard tack sailing towards an island with a mark at the left-hand end of the island, so the island is to windward.

"And in 19.2.b, L, as ROW boat has the right to choose which side of the obstruction they go, but as soon as she does that it becomes immediately clear which is the inside boat." Yes I understand that.

"If she delays the decision on which way to go until W has run out of room to navigate safely then I suspect she will lose both protest and insurance claim..." What are you basing that on? Specifically, how would W assert that L had broken a rule?

"Don't we need to know how big the island is (yards or miles long)" The island is large enough to constitute a continuing obstruction.

"how far the mark is from the island" There is no navigable water between the island and the mark.

"whether or not the island can be rounded" The island can be rounded the other way, but that means missing the mark.

"whether the mark to be rounded is a gybe mark" The way I've described it, it's not possible to gybe around the mark.

I think the same rules apply regardless of the size of the yachts. Here they're 35-40 footers.

Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jan 14 at 11:52pm
Firstly, I don't have any difficulty with the island, and the mark, contiguous to the island, with no navigable water in between is a continuing obstruction, so rule 19 rather than rule 18 applies (rule 19.1).

MR Call B15 discusses the approaching at 90 degrees situation and gives some significant pointers on how to analyse this problem, although it doesn't get to the stage where a boat actually fails to give room.

MR CALL B15 (UMP 37)
Rule 11 On the Same Tack, Overlapped
Rule 16.1 Changing Course
Rule 19 Room to Pass an Obstruction
Question 1
Blue and Yellow are overlapped on port tack, with Yellow as the leeward, rightof-way boat. They approach a continuing obstruction on courses that make it clear that Yellow is the inside boat, or at an angle of approximately 90 degrees to the shoreline so that it is unclear which boat will be the inside boat when they reach the obstruction. Yellow begins to luff or maintains her course and Blue keeps clear. When Yellow is approximately one and a half lengths from the obstruction she suddenly bears away and passes the obstruction to port leaving Blue clear astern. There is a Y-flag. What should the call be?



Answer 1
Display the green and white flag. Rule 11 applies, and rule 19 also applies when it becomes clear that the boats are at the obstruction. Yellow has right of way and can choose to luff or bear away as she pleases provided she complies with rule 16.1. If Yellow and Blue bear away to pass the obstruction to port, Yellow must give room to Blue while the boats are overlapped. If Blue becomes clear astern, she must comply with rule 19.2(c). In the situations shown, no rules are broken.

Key issue for applicability of rule 19 is not whether boats are 'passing' the obstruction, but whether they are 'at' it (rule 19.1).

'Passing' comes up in rule 19.2( c ), which is a 'carve-out' exception to the fundamental obligation in rule 19.2( b ) to give room.  But for boats to be 'inside' and 'outside' I guess there has to be some notion of 'passing'.

I'm happy that both boats are 'at' the obstruction when W, the larger becomes reasonably concerned about water under her keel.  It would be absurd to say that one boat could be 'at' the obstruction and the other boat 'not at' the obstruction.

It's going to be extremely difficulty to be certain that L is sailing exactly 90 degrees to the island.

Last point of certainty was she was sailing obliquely towards the obstruction with W overlapped inside.  At this point, when 'at' the obstruction, L must give W room between her and the obstruction.

Only if L could persuade a protest committee that she had sailed more than 90 degrees to the obstruction, and thus had become the inside boat, would this not apply.



Back to Top
iansmithofotley View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 16 Mar 04
Location: Otley, West Yorkshire
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 209
Post Options Post Options   Quote iansmithofotley Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan 14 at 12:27am
Originally posted by SteveB00

"I assume the island is to windward?" Yes, the boats are on starboard tack sailing towards an island with a mark at the left-hand end of the island, so the island is to windward.

"And in 19.2.b, L, as ROW boat has the right to choose which side of the obstruction they go, but as soon as she does that it becomes immediately clear which is the inside boat." Yes I understand that.

"If she delays the decision on which way to go until W has run out of room to navigate safely then I suspect she will lose both protest and insurance claim..." What are you basing that on? Specifically, how would W assert that L had broken a rule?

"Don't we need to know how big the island is (yards or miles long)" The island is large enough to constitute a continuing obstruction.

"how far the mark is from the island" There is no navigable water between the island and the mark.

"whether or not the island can be rounded" The island can be rounded the other way, but that means missing the mark.

"whether the mark to be rounded is a gybe mark" The way I've described it, it's not possible to gybe around the mark.

I think the same rules apply regardless of the size of the yachts. Here they're 35-40 footers.


Hi Steve,

Thank you. I now realise that the mark is to be left to starboard, which was not mentioned in your original post.

Ian  (Yorkshire Dales SC)
Back to Top
SteveB00 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 30 Nov 13
Location: Sydney, Oz
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 24
Post Options Post Options   Quote SteveB00 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan 14 at 3:18am
Leaving my original scenario aside and using your diagram, in which the boats are on the opposite tack, it's the 3rd diagram I'm mostly interested in. Let's say there's a mark at the right hand end (for the boats, off the bottom of the picture for us) of the obstruction and L (yellow) has luffed up W (blue) who is attempting to pass to windward. L is, by any usual meaning of the word, the "inside" boat. It appears she can force W (blue) into a position where she can no longer bear away before bearing away herself and taking the mark.

Is this correct?

Steve  = : ^ )

P.S. I assume the umpires call is from match racing and I don't understand the significance of the Y and the green and white flags.  
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan 14 at 4:59am
Yes, in the third diagram in MR Call B15 (bottom left) Y is the leeward, inside boat, entitled to both right of way (rule 11) and room at the obstruction (rule 19) throughout.

Is this diagram something like your original scenario?





@3 Y is something like exactly 90 degrees to the shoreline, but, as previously discussed, we can't be sure, so last point of certainty is she is overlapped outside B.  If B is running out of water, boats are at the obstruction and Y must give B room.

@4, Y is clearly past 90 degrees to the shoreline and becomes the inside boat (as in the above MR Call).  If Y can get to this position without failing to give B room, she is as good as gold.

Consider:  this situation is no different from taking a boat the wrong side of the mark, while outside the zone at any ordinary mark.

And in match racing flag Y is displayed by a boat to signify a protest, Green and White Flag in response by umpires means no boat is penalised and a penalty is signified by a Blue or Yellow flag corresponding to the colour of the boat penalised


Edited by Brass - 12 Jan 14 at 5:05am
Back to Top
SteveB00 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 30 Nov 13
Location: Sydney, Oz
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 24
Post Options Post Options   Quote SteveB00 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan 14 at 5:53am
Yes, this is the situation (except that the wind was a little further aft). I'm kind of surprised that, as long as yellow aims roughly at the mark and blue is "inside", then blue has rights, but if yellow luffs up to the point where she is closer to the obstruction than blue, then she can force blue out, then bear away herself. It may seem difficult for her to do that in your match race diagram but, she may be a bigger boat, and may be further ahead than in the diagram.

A boat can only take another boat the wrong side of a mark if she also goes the wrong side, correct? Here yellow bears away at the last minute to take the mark, but has forced blue to tack and gybe (or tack back) to get there.

Thanks for all this,
Steve  = : ^ )
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy