New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Proper Course
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Proper Course

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234>
Author
Guests View Drop Down
Guest Group
Guest Group
Post Options Post Options   Quote Guests Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Proper Course
    Posted: 27 Feb 08 at 3:13pm
Originally posted by redback

Yes but on the other hand the overlap was established by
pushing the pole out.  As for boat lengths the rear boat may well have
still been in the 2 boat lengths circle (but he was the outside boat)
and
anyway we were sailing away from the mark.


Surely that's the key, so rule 18 still applies.
Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Feb 08 at 3:19pm
Spyderman,

We are talking about a gybe mark. At such a mark the outside overlapped boat  before rounding is the windward keep clear boat. She must keep clear throughout the rounding. After both boats have gybed the outside boat is now the leeward right of way boat. She HAS acquired right of way. Rule 15 may apply

Gordon
Gordon
Back to Top
iansmithofotley View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 16 Mar 04
Location: Otley, West Yorkshire
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 209
Post Options Post Options   Quote iansmithofotley Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Feb 08 at 8:13pm

Hi everyone,

 

It just shows how complicated the rules are as many experienced sailors have responded to this topic having had access to rule books and lots of time to think about the scenario.  After all this consideration there is still quite a bit of disagreement and lots of different opinions.  Nevertheless, whilst racing, we all have to make decisions like this in split seconds, often in strong winds, in testing conditions, when surrounded by many other boats (often of all different types with different sail plans) and in testing high performance boats.

 

I think that the topic has been a great source of learning for us all.  Redback said in his original post that the matter was resolved informally and in good spirit, which is great.  I think that part of the problem, now that we have all had chance to study the situation, is that we really needed more information to decide which rules apply.  I realise that initially it was just a brief, interesting, post by Redback who I suspect might be quite surprised with the amount of interest in the topic.  However, situations like this happen all the time in club racing, open meetings and championships.  I think that the problem has become more prevalent since the glut of asymmetric boats over the past fifteen years and particularly with asymmetric boats sailing against non-asymmetric boats.  The ‘proper course’ problem raises its head all of the time.

 

It seems that both boats were on tightish reaches, prior to approaching the mark in question, as neither boat was flying a kite.  It appears that the leg of the course after rounding the mark was much broader, or a run, as both boats intended to hoist kites.

 

It does not state whether or not the boats were clear ahead/astern on approaching the two length zone of the mark.  It does not state whether or not the boats were within the two length zone of each other, or, if they were, at what stage in relation to the mark (before, alongside or past the mark). It does not state where the boats were in relation to the mark when the leading boat started to hoist a kite (before, alongside or after the mark).  It does not state whether or not both boats had completely rounded the mark and were then on the downwind leg.  My point is that unless these facts are known then it is difficult to assess which rules apply and when.

 

Redback has not stated what type of boat he was sailing or what stage he was at, in the process of hoisting his kite.  In my experience, if the leading boat was say a Musto Skiff or an RS 700, and the wind was say a Force 3+, then the helm would find great difficulty in pointing up, and keeping clear, in response to a luff from the outside boat, whilst in the process of hoisting his kite, knowing full well that there might be a strong possibility of a capsize if he did luff up.  Rightly or wrongly, I suspect that he would, firstly, concentrate on safely getting his kite up and secured before getting out on the wire and then pointing up.  The circumstances would be different in lighter winds.

 

I can’t see how the topic can be finally resolved, with a definitive conclusion, as we, unfortunately, do not have all of the facts.

 

It shows how important it is, if there is an incident, to know exactly where you are in relation to other boats concerned, in relation to marks, and precise details of relative distances involved. Problems will always occur if the parties involved do not agree or can not remember exactly where an incident took place.  If an incident is not informally resolved and one or both of the parties accepts a penalty, this is where witnesses are important, particularly in cases where there is a formal protest which eventually goes to a Protest Committee for a decision.

 

Ian  (Yorkshire Dales S.C.)

 

Back to Top
Scooby_simon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 02 Apr 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2415
Post Options Post Options   Quote Scooby_simon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Feb 08 at 9:54pm
Originally posted by iansmithofotley

Hi everyone,

It just shows how complicated the rules are as many experienced sailors have responded to this topic having had access to rule books and lots of time to think about the scenario.  After all this consideration there is still quite a bit of disagreement and lots of different opinions.  Nevertheless, whilst racing, we all have to make decisions like this in split seconds, often in strong winds, in testing conditions, when surrounded by many other boats (often of all different types with different sail plans) and in testing high performance boats.

I think that the topic has been a great source of learning for us all.  Redback said in his original post that the matter was resolved informally and in good spirit, which is great.  I think that part of the problem, now that we have all had chance to study the situation, is that we really needed more information to decide which rules apply.  I realise that initially it was just a brief, interesting, post by Redback who I suspect might be quite surprised with the amount of interest in the topic.  However, situations like this happen all the time in club racing, open meetings and championships.  I think that the problem has become more prevalent since the glut of asymmetric boats over the past fifteen years and particularly with asymmetric boats sailing against non-asymmetric boats.  The ‘proper course’ problem raises its head all of the time.

It seems that both boats were on tightish reaches, prior to approaching the mark in question, as neither boat was flying a kite.  It appears that the leg of the course after rounding the mark was much broader, or a run, as both boats intended to hoist kites.

It does not state whether or not the boats were clear ahead/astern on approaching the two length zone of the mark.  It does not state whether or not the boats were within the two length zone of each other, or, if they were, at what stage in relation to the mark (before, alongside or past the mark). It does not state where the boats were in relation to the mark when the leading boat started to hoist a kite (before, alongside or after the mark).  It does not state whether or not both boats had completely rounded the mark and were then on the downwind leg.  My point is that unless these facts are known then it is difficult to assess which rules apply and when.

Redback has not stated what type of boat he was sailing or what stage he was at, in the process of hoisting his kite.  In my experience, if the leading boat was say a Musto Skiff or an RS 700, and the wind was say a Force 3+, then the helm would find great difficulty in pointing up, and keeping clear, in response to a luff from the outside boat, whilst in the process of hoisting his kite, knowing full well that there might be a strong possibility of a capsize if he did luff up.  Rightly or wrongly, I suspect that he would, firstly, concentrate on safely getting his kite up and secured before getting out on the wire and then pointing up.  The circumstances would be different in lighter winds.

I can’t see how the topic can be finally resolved, with a definitive conclusion, as we, unfortunately, do not have all of the facts.

It shows how important it is, if there is an incident, to know exactly where you are in relation to other boats concerned, in relation to marks, and precise details of relative distances involved. Problems will always occur if the parties involved do not agree or can not remember exactly where an incident took place.  If an incident is not informally resolved and one or both of the parties accepts a penalty, this is where witnesses are important, particularly in cases where there is a formal protest which eventually goes to a Protest Committee for a decision.

Ian  (Yorkshire Dales S.C.)

 

Excellent post Ian.  Sums up why this is so difficult to do on a forum.

Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..
Back to Top
redback View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 16 Mar 04
Location: Tunbridge Wells
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1502
Post Options Post Options   Quote redback Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Feb 08 at 12:12am
I've just seen these posts.  It's late but tommorrow I'll try and give you a sketch.
Back to Top
Spyderman View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 27 Feb 08
Location: Netherlands
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 39
Post Options Post Options   Quote Spyderman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Feb 08 at 12:23am
Originally posted by iansmithofotley

................

 

It does not state whether or not the boats were clear ahead/astern on approaching the two length zone of the mark.  It does not state whether or not the boats were within the two length zone of each other, or, if they were, at what stage in relation to the mark (before, alongside or past the mark). It does not state where the boats were in relation to the mark when the leading boat started to hoist a kite (before, alongside or after the mark).  It does not state whether or not both boats had completely rounded the mark and were then on the downwind leg.  My point is that unless these facts are known then it is difficult to assess which rules apply and when.

 



Perhaps a picture-diagram of the situation would help?



Edited by Spyderman
Are you interested in the Racing Rules of Sailing? Go to: http://rrsstudy.blogspot.com
Back to Top
Spyderman View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 27 Feb 08
Location: Netherlands
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 39
Post Options Post Options   Quote Spyderman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Feb 08 at 12:48am
Originally posted by gordon

Spyderman,

We are talking about a gybe mark. At such a mark the outside overlapped boat  before rounding is the windward keep clear boat. She must keep clear throughout the rounding. After both boats have gybed the outside boat is now the leeward right of way boat. She HAS acquired right of way. Rule 15 may apply

Gordon


My mistake. In this scenario you are right about the outside boat getting r-o-w and rule 15 is applicable. Specially since the overlap seems to be created by sticking out the kite-pole forward. However, if at that moment the windward boat was keeping clear and the contact only occurred because she bore off, rule 15 was not infringed. The windward boat could have kept clear. So, Leeward gave her room to do that...
Are you interested in the Racing Rules of Sailing? Go to: http://rrsstudy.blogspot.com
Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Feb 08 at 5:07pm
Judging from TSS (wish I could figure how to stop it moving), which I will take as the "facts found"

at 1 Blue is clear astern. Rule 18.2c applies and Blue must keep clear.

at 4 : Blue has yet to finsh rounding the mark. 18.2c still applies and Blue must keep clear. At this point Blue is still clear astern

at 5 The mark rounding is complete. Rule 18 no longer applies. Blue  establishes an overlap from clear astern, partly, at least, because Yellow bears away to hoist her kite. Rule 15 does not apply. However Blue alters course, and, as right of way boat, is required to give room for Yellow to keep clear (rule 16.1). Contact is almost immediate. If Blue had not changed course, Yellow would have had an opportunity to keep clear.

Blue has infringed rule 16.1 and should take a penalty.

It would be interesting to know if the boats courses at 6 are in fact their proper course. If this is so then Blue would also have infringed rule 17.1 by sailing above her proper course at 5

Many competitors, especially in match racing, feel that rule 16.1 gives the keep clear boat an advantage as she effetively prevents the right of way boat from changing course. But that is the way the rules are written

Gordon
Gordon
Back to Top
Stefan Lloyd View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 03 Aug 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1599
Post Options Post Options   Quote Stefan Lloyd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Feb 08 at 6:51pm

Originally posted by gordon

at 5 The mark rounding is complete. Rule 18 no longer applies. Blue  establishes an overlap from clear astern, partly, at least, because Yellow bears away to hoist her kite. Rule 15 does not apply. However Blue alters course, and, as right of way boat, is required to give room for Yellow to keep clear (rule 16.1). Contact is almost immediate. If Blue had not changed course, Yellow would have had an opportunity to keep clear.

In the verbal description at the top of this thread, my reading is that Blue does not alter course. The animation does seem to show Blue luffing following the rounding but I'm uncertain if that is accurate. Why would Blue want to luff at this point?

 

Back to Top
Spyderman View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 27 Feb 08
Location: Netherlands
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 39
Post Options Post Options   Quote Spyderman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Feb 08 at 7:03pm
Originally posted by Stefan Lloyd

Originally posted by gordon

at 5 The mark rounding is complete. Rule 18 no longer applies. Blue  establishes an overlap from clear astern, partly, at least, because Yellow bears away to hoist her kite. Rule 15 does not apply. However Blue alters course, and, as right of way boat, is required to give room for Yellow to keep clear (rule 16.1). Contact is almost immediate. If Blue had not changed course, Yellow would have had an opportunity to keep clear.

In the verbal description at the top of this thread, my reading is that Blue does not alter course. The animation does seem to show Blue luffing following the rounding but I'm uncertain if that is accurate. Why would Blue want to luff at this point?

 


The TSS diagram is a representation of how I thought the facts were. However the only one who can accuratly draw this is Redback
I don't know where the next mark was situated, I don't know if Blue luffed.....or not
Are you interested in the Racing Rules of Sailing? Go to: http://rrsstudy.blogspot.com
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy