Print Page | Close Window

Proper Course

Printed From: Yachts and Yachting Online
Category: General
Forum Name: Racing Rules
Forum Discription: Discuss the rules and your interpretations here
URL: http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=3971
Printed Date: 07 Aug 25 at 11:21pm
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com


Topic: Proper Course
Posted By: redback
Subject: Proper Course
Date Posted: 24 Feb 08 at 9:41pm

Here's one to ponder.  Gybe mark, two asymmetrics one behind the other.  The second boat delays his gybe by half a boat length so that he ends up to leeward but behind the front one who then bears away to hoist his kite resulting in a collision with the rear one who has by this time already got his pole deployed and overlapping the front one.

The boat at the front claims he needs room, the boat behind claims the leader has sailed low causing the collision.  The leading boat says he would be able to sail that low if the rear boat had not put his pole out into his path.  The rear boat says he is sailing his proper course because being 2 man he doesn't have to bear away as much to hoist.  Needless to say the rear boat was a 4000 which has a very long pole.

It was all solved in good humour as the contact was merely the pole of the rear boat and the legs of the leading boat's helm, and the rear boat did a quick 720 in lightish winds.  But thinking about it, was that necessary?




Replies:
Posted By: Lukepiewalker
Date Posted: 24 Feb 08 at 10:47pm
Depends on many things, were they still within the mark rounding zone? If the boat was behind and to leeward then they had rights (as long as there wasn't still a water situation applying). Beyond that it's a question of whether the the overlap was gained from clear astern or not. It sounds like the front boat bore down on the rear boat, which sounds like the wrong boats did turns to me. I don't think there is any obligation to give someone room to bear away and hoist their kite....

-------------
Ex-Finn GBR533 "Pie Hard"
Ex-National 12 3253 "Seawitch"
Ex-National 12 2961 "Curved Air"
Ex-Mirror 59096 "Voodoo Chile"


Posted By: redback
Date Posted: 24 Feb 08 at 11:23pm
Yes but on the other hand the overlap was established by pushing the pole out.  As for boat lengths the rear boat may well have still been in the 2 boat lengths circle (but he was the outside boat) and anyway we were sailing away from the mark.


Posted By: jeffers
Date Posted: 25 Feb 08 at 11:23am
Personally I would say it is TS to the boat that was to windward, this would be a simple winward leeward situation if it came to protest. The fact that the windward boat wanted to hoist his kite to bear away is pretty much irreleavnt, he bore away in to the right of way boat. As long as the pole on the 4000 was in the appropriate position for the leg being sailed (ie it the pole was out the kite was up or being hoisted) then it does nt matter how the over was eastablished.

I am not sure of the rule that covers this but it does say something like the boat that is too leeward 'shall not sail above their proper course'. There is also another rile that says a boat ahead shall not sail below their proper course unless they immediately gybe.

i appreciate the other boat say that their proper course was to bear away but they could not because the leeward boat had established an overlap...

As I said at the begiunning it sounds like a simple winward leeward to me. The 'leading boat' should have gone high and then bourne away to hoist.

Just my 2p, if it is wrong I am sure the other rules 'gurus' here will correct me.


-------------
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74


Posted By: Stefan Lloyd
Date Posted: 25 Feb 08 at 12:35pm
I agree with jeffers.The leading boat was given room to round the mark, so I don't think the presence of the mark comes into it. It's a W/L question. L, having established an overlap from behind, is entitled to sail their proper course, and W doesn't appear to be claiming they were doing otherwise. L's pole was in its "normal position". So W has to keep clear. If there's a pole stopping them bearing away to set, that's tough.


Posted By: iansmithofotley
Date Posted: 25 Feb 08 at 3:58pm

 

Hi everyone,

These are some of the rules that cover this scenario:

 SECTION C

AT MARKS AND OBSTRUCTIONS

To the extent that a Section C rule conflicts with a rule in Section A or B, the

Section C rule takes precedence.

18 ROUNDING AND PASSING MARKS AND OBSTRUCTIONS

In rule 18, room is room for an inside boat to round or pass between an

outside boat and a mark or obstruction, including room to tack or gybe

when either is a normal part of the manoeuvre.

18.1 When This Rule Applies

Rule 18 applies when boats are about to round or pass a mark they are

required to leave on the same side, or an obstruction on the same side,

until they have passed it. However, it does not apply

(a) at a starting mark surrounded by navigable water or at its anchor

line from the time the boats are approaching them to start until

they have passed them, or

(b) while the boats are on opposite tacks, either on a beat to windward

or when the proper course for one of them, but not both, to

round or pass the mark or obstruction is to tack.

18.2 Giving Room; Keeping Clear

(a) OVERLAPPED BASIC RULE

When boats are overlapped the outside boat shall give the inside

boat room to round or pass the mark or obstruction, and if the

inside boat has right of way the outside boat shall also keep clear.

Other parts of rule 18 contain exceptions to this rule.

(b) OVERLAPPED AT THE ZONE

If boats were overlapped before either of them reached the twolength

zone and the overlap is broken after one of them has reached

it, the boat that was on the outside shall continue to give the other

boat room. If the outside boat becomes clear astern or overlapped

inside the other boat, she is not entitled to room and shall keep clear.

(c) NOT OVERLAPPED AT THE ZONE

If a boat was clear ahead at the time she reached the two-length

zone, the boat clear astern shall thereafter keep clear. If the boat

clear astern becomes overlapped outside the other boat, she shall

also give the inside boat room. If the boat clear astern becomes

overlapped inside the other boat, she is not entitled to room. If the

boat that was clear ahead passes head to wind, rule 18.2(c) no

longer applies and remains inapplicable.

(d) CHANGING COURSE TO ROUND OR PASS

When after the starting signal rule 18 applies between two boats

and the right-of-way boat is changing course to round or pass a

mark, rule 16 does not apply between her and the other boat.

(e) OVERLAP RIGHTS

If there is reasonable doubt that a boat obtained or broke an

overlap in time, it shall be presumed that she did not. If the outside

boat is unable to give room when an overlap begins, rules

18.2(a) and 18.2(b) do not apply.

18.4 Gybing

When an inside overlapped right-of-way boat must gybe at a mark or

obstruction to sail her proper course, until she gybes she shall sail no

farther from the mark or obstruction than needed to sail that course.

 

16 CHANGING COURSE

16.1 When a right-of-way boat changes course, she shall give the other

boat room to keep clear.

 

I think that the inside boat is under an obligation to gybe at the first opportunity. There is no indication that it did not do so.  As I understand it, the inside boat is also supposed to complete the manoeuvre in a 'seamanlike way', I suspect that this will vary according to the wind, waves and other conditions (which have not been described).

 

I suppose that the 'proper course' saga comes into play again and who is to say what the 'proper course' is for a single handed asymmetric boat which has just gybed his main and is in the process of hoisting a kite in the prevailing conditions, until the kite is set. (Maybe it would have been alot simpler for us all if the racing rules defined 'proper course' as the shortest distance between two marks of the course but making allowances for manoeuvres being completed and sails being set).

 

 17 ON THE SAME TACK; PROPER COURSE

17.1 If a boat clear astern becomes overlapped within two of her hull lengths

to leeward of a boat on the same tack, she shall not sail above her proper

course while they remain overlapped within that distance, unless in

doing so she promptly sails astern of the other boat. This rule does not

apply if the overlap begins while the windward boat is required by rule

13 to keep clear.

17.2 Except on a beat to windward, while a boat is less than two of her hull

lengths from a leeward boat or a boat clear astern steering a course to

leeward of her, she shall not sail below her proper course unless she

gybes.

 

 From the description given, it would appear that whilst rounding the mark the boats were clear ahead/clear astern and within the two length zone, both of each other and the mark.

 

I suppose that it could be said that the outside boat should have anticipated the manoeuvres of the inside single handed assymetric boat and kept clear or gone behind.  It could also be said that the providing the inside boat completed his manoeuvres as soon as possible and in a 'seamanlike way' then he had done nothing wrong as he was merely completing the gybing of his mainsail and hoisting his kite at the first opportunity. There is no evidence to suggest that he did not gybe straight away or overstood the mark in order to do so.

 

Ian  (Yorkshire Dales S.C.)

 

 



Posted By: Stefan Lloyd
Date Posted: 25 Feb 08 at 4:30pm

In rule 18, room is room for an inside boat to round or pass between an

outside boat and a mark or obstruction, including room to tack or gybe

when either is a normal part of the manoeuvre.

 

It doesn't say "tack, gybe or set your kite". Rule 18 is a red herring.

 

"I suppose that the 'proper course' saga comes into play again and who is to say what the 'proper course' is for a single handed asymmetric boat which has just gybed his main and is in the process of hoisting a kite in the prevailing conditions, until the kite is set"

 

It is indeed about proper course but it's about L's proper course (17.1). 17.2 is irrelevant since W is required to keep clear of L anyway unless the latter is contravening 17.1. It doesn't appear that W is asserting that to be the case.



Posted By: Garry
Date Posted: 25 Feb 08 at 5:40pm
To add some extra confusion - you do not have to anticipate and you must give the keep clear boat the opportunity and time to respond.  So in this case was the pole put out so close to the other boat as she bore away that it wasn't possible to avoid it?  Otherwise IMHO it would be W in the wrong all other things being equal. 

-------------
Garry

Lark 2252, Contender 298

www.cuckoos.eclipse.co.uk


Posted By: English Dave
Date Posted: 26 Feb 08 at 8:47am
Everyone seems to be in agreement on this and I'll add my endorsement of it being a simple windward/leeward issue. IMO the windward boat is NOT sailing her proper course when going deep to raise kite.  It's just convenient as the kite goes up faster and the crew doesn't have to work so hard. Proper course is only resumed when the kite is up and set.

As an aside and linking in with the other thread - when I sail my assymetric Hurricane downwind against Lasers sailing by the lee we are both sailing proper course but going in vastly different directions. The windward boat keeps clear. End of


-------------
English Dave
http://www.ballyholme.com - Ballyholme Yacht Club

(You'd think I'd be better at it by now)

Hurricane 5.9 SX
RS700


Posted By: redback
Date Posted: 26 Feb 08 at 10:09am

Well thanks for the contributions.  I feel pretty good now, as leeward boat I was probably in the right and doubly so since I had also did my turns.  During the turns a couple of 400s and a B14 got past but we went on to beat them all.

I guess the incident wouldn't have happened if I'd kept a better lookout but I imagine it was the distraction of having to look down into the boat to grab the wing-wang that did it.



Posted By: Scooby_simon
Date Posted: 26 Feb 08 at 1:36pm

Originally posted by English Dave

Everyone seems to be in agreement on this and I'll add my endorsement of it being a simple windward/leeward issue. IMO the windward boat is NOT sailing her proper course when going deep to raise kite.  It's just convenient as the kite goes up faster and the crew doesn't have to work so hard. Proper course is only resumed when the kite is up and set.

As an aside and linking in with the other thread - when I sail my assymetric Hurricane downwind against Lasers sailing by the lee we are both sailing proper course but going in vastly different directions. The windward boat keeps clear. End of

 

I'd agee that the windward boat needs to keep clear, but the boat may still be on their proper course.

 

Proper course  is defined (loosely) “as the course you would sail to get to the next mark quickest“

 

Now, in order to get the kite up quickly, you need to bear off, it’s quicker to sail down wind with the kite up and my proper course is to sail in such a way as to allow me to put the kite up as quickly as possible.  BUT there are some caveats:

 

1, on a VERY short leg, you might be able to argue that it’s quicker to just sail the leg and forget the kite

2, If light wind, you may not need to bear off

3, in strong wind you may need to go deeper.

 



-------------
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..


Posted By: English Dave
Date Posted: 26 Feb 08 at 10:07pm

Sorry Scoobs, don't agree with you on this one. Proper course is indeed very loosely defined but in a protest room you would be very hard pressed to argue that your proper course was initially very low to hoist kite then high to get max speed (before bearing off when apparent wind come forward).

In any case, my second point still holds true. Two boats downwind, both sailing "different" proper courses. Windward boat keeps clear. You cannot bear away - effectively into another boat -  and demand right of way.

A couple of years ago I cleared the top mark in a "mixed" Hurricane event and raised kite. Trouble was that a two sail Huricane was below me and quite correctly intent on luffing me to death. I could have hailed for room to bear away but I think my request would have been met with derision.

(Fortunately, God sails an SX and a freak gust put the other boat mast down in a shallow estuary. Ha bloody ha. However that was the only way I was going to get past him in the short term.)



-------------
English Dave
http://www.ballyholme.com - Ballyholme Yacht Club

(You'd think I'd be better at it by now)

Hurricane 5.9 SX
RS700


Posted By: Scooby_simon
Date Posted: 26 Feb 08 at 11:04pm

Dave,

I don't disagree in this case windward boat keeps clear.  Simple as.

If there was another situation where proper course was under consideration while putting the kite up (and I cannot think of one at present) then proper course IS to go low, put the kite up and then come back up and then bear off again zas this gets you to the next mark quickest. 



-------------
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..


Posted By: ChrisJ
Date Posted: 27 Feb 08 at 2:20am

There is no way that hoisting a kite is an integral part of any mark roundiing.

So, going around the mark, the outside boat has to give way / provide room. Once you have finished rounding the mark, you then move onto the hositing the kite routine. And at that point the windward boat has to keep clear, and the leeward boat can "luff" (slowly, providing opportunity to keep clear) well above the direct course to the next mark if that is there proper course. There is no way that the windward boat can bear away in order to be able to hoist the kite.



Posted By: Spyderman
Date Posted: 27 Feb 08 at 9:24am
Proper Course is the course a boat would have sailed to finish as soon possible in ABSENCE of the other boat mentioned in the rule. If he would go low to set the spi before coming up again, when there was no other boat, that that's his proper course. If he thinks there's a puff of wind and heads up to get there quicker, that still is his proper course. Only on a beat, you can't go higher than close hauled.
But proper course is only a restriction on the right of way boat. Not a right of the keep clear boat. If rule 17.1 is applicable and the leeward boat luffs above his proper course, the windward boat still has to keep clear, otherwise he breaks rule 11. In match racing this situation leads to a twin penalty.

-------------
Are you interested in the Racing Rules of Sailing? Go to: http://rrsstudy.blogspot.com - http://rrsstudy.blogspot.com


Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 27 Feb 08 at 12:14pm
Kite setting may be part of a mark rounding. Rule 18 appliees from the time that boats are about to round a mark until  both boats have completed their rounding.

A typical situation - on a windy day manoeuvers to take down a spinnaker may start well before the zone. Boats are about to round the mark. Entering the 2 boat length zone is the point at which an existing overlap (or non-overlap) becomes "fixed" and cannot be broken. Rights acquired at this moment are fixed throughout the rounding.

The rounding ends, and Rule 18 ceases to apply, when the transom of the last boat passes the mark. During the rounding kites may be hoisted, and if in certain boats the seamanlike manoeuvre to hoist the kite is to bear away, then, WHILST RULE 18 APPLIES, any boat obliged under rule 18 to keep clear or give room must allow room for this.

If after the mark rounding an outside boat acquires rights as a leeward boat then she must give room to the ex-inside, now windward boat, to keep clear. This may include time to finish hoisting the kite. If the leeward boat luffs and the windward boat luffs and immediately capsizes because her kite was not fully hoisted the windward boat could claim that she was not given enough room.

There is a match racing call which states that when a leeward boat luffs a windward boat to the point qwhere the seamanlike thing to do would be to take the kite down then the leeward boat must give room for the windward boat to do so.

Gordon


-------------
Gordon


Posted By: JimC
Date Posted: 27 Feb 08 at 12:23pm
Originally posted by gordon

There is a match racing call which states that when a leeward boat luffs a windward boat to the point qwhere the seamanlike thing to do would be to take the kite down then the leeward boat must give room for the windward boat to do so.

Does that mean that the Windward boat is then obliged to take the kite down? Or can they ask for room and then leave it up?


Posted By: Spyderman
Date Posted: 27 Feb 08 at 12:29pm
Originally posted by JimC

Originally posted by gordon

There is a match racing call which states that when a leeward boat luffs a windward boat to the point qwhere the seamanlike thing to do would be to take the kite down then the leeward boat must give room for the windward boat to do so.

Does that mean that the Windward boat is then obliged to take the kite down? Or can they ask for room and then leave it up?


The obligation for Leeward to give Windward time to get the kite down is not infinitive. If Windward leaves the spinnaker up, after Leeward has given time, they no longer have the protection of room. Leeward may luff up and Windward has to keep clear.


-------------
Are you interested in the Racing Rules of Sailing? Go to: http://rrsstudy.blogspot.com - http://rrsstudy.blogspot.com


Posted By: Spyderman
Date Posted: 27 Feb 08 at 12:37pm
Originally posted by gordon

Kite setting may be part of a mark rounding. Rule 18 appliees from the time that boats are about to round a mark until  both boats have completed their rounding.

The rounding ends, and Rule 18 ceases to apply, when the transom of the last boat passes the mark. During the rounding kites may be hoisted, and if in certain boats the seamanlike manoeuvre to hoist the kite is to bear away, then, WHILST RULE 18 APPLIES, any boat obliged under rule 18 to keep clear or give room must allow room for this.

If after the mark rounding an outside boat acquires rights as a leeward boat then she must give room to the ex-inside, now windward boat, to keep clear. This may include time to finish hoisting the kite. If the leeward boat luffs and the windward boat luffs and immediately capsizes because her kite was not fully hoisted the windward boat could claim that she was not given enough room.

Gordon


The leeward boat doesn't acquire that right after passing the mark. During the rounding he was and still is, the right of way boat. (rule 11) He only has to give room to the inside boat. Rule 18 only conflicts with rule 11 to that extent. Rule 15 doesn't apply. The leeward boat is however restricted by rule 16.1 (changing course) when she luffs and then she has to give windward room to keep clear... including time to get the kite down...


-------------
Are you interested in the Racing Rules of Sailing? Go to: http://rrsstudy.blogspot.com - http://rrsstudy.blogspot.com


Posted By: alstorer
Date Posted: 27 Feb 08 at 12:49pm
Originally posted by ChrisJ

There is no way that hoisting a kite is an integral part of any mark roundiing.

 

BULL****

 

It all depends upon upon the wind conditions and course, of course, but in lighter winds (ie ones where I don't need to be out the rack during the rounding) I'd hope to have the kite pulling by the time we're fully round the mark. Might not always manage it, but it's an aspiration certainly. We're going for maximum speed- why wouldn't be hoisting whilst rounding?

Obviously, in bigger winds, I'll wait till we've got through the Zone of Death before moving in and forward to hoist, and we'll have cleared the mark by then, but really, there's no hard and fast rule on this.



Posted By: Guests
Date Posted: 27 Feb 08 at 3:13pm
Originally posted by redback

Yes but on the other hand the overlap was established by
pushing the pole out.  As for boat lengths the rear boat may well have
still been in the 2 boat lengths circle (but he was the outside boat)
and
anyway we were sailing away from the mark.


Surely that's the key, so rule 18 still applies.


Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 27 Feb 08 at 3:19pm
Spyderman,

We are talking about a gybe mark. At such a mark the outside overlapped boat  before rounding is the windward keep clear boat. She must keep clear throughout the rounding. After both boats have gybed the outside boat is now the leeward right of way boat. She HAS acquired right of way. Rule 15 may apply

Gordon


-------------
Gordon


Posted By: iansmithofotley
Date Posted: 27 Feb 08 at 8:13pm

Hi everyone,

 

It just shows how complicated the rules are as many experienced sailors have responded to this topic having had access to rule books and lots of time to think about the scenario.  After all this consideration there is still quite a bit of disagreement and lots of different opinions.  Nevertheless, whilst racing, we all have to make decisions like this in split seconds, often in strong winds, in testing conditions, when surrounded by many other boats (often of all different types with different sail plans) and in testing high performance boats.

 

I think that the topic has been a great source of learning for us all.  Redback said in his original post that the matter was resolved informally and in good spirit, which is great.  I think that part of the problem, now that we have all had chance to study the situation, is that we really needed more information to decide which rules apply.  I realise that initially it was just a brief, interesting, post by Redback who I suspect might be quite surprised with the amount of interest in the topic.  However, situations like this happen all the time in club racing, open meetings and championships.  I think that the problem has become more prevalent since the glut of asymmetric boats over the past fifteen years and particularly with asymmetric boats sailing against non-asymmetric boats.  The ‘proper course’ problem raises its head all of the time.

 

It seems that both boats were on tightish reaches, prior to approaching the mark in question, as neither boat was flying a kite.  It appears that the leg of the course after rounding the mark was much broader, or a run, as both boats intended to hoist kites.

 

It does not state whether or not the boats were clear ahead/astern on approaching the two length zone of the mark.  It does not state whether or not the boats were within the two length zone of each other, or, if they were, at what stage in relation to the mark (before, alongside or past the mark). It does not state where the boats were in relation to the mark when the leading boat started to hoist a kite (before, alongside or after the mark).  It does not state whether or not both boats had completely rounded the mark and were then on the downwind leg.  My point is that unless these facts are known then it is difficult to assess which rules apply and when.

 

Redback has not stated what type of boat he was sailing or what stage he was at, in the process of hoisting his kite.  In my experience, if the leading boat was say a Musto Skiff or an RS 700, and the wind was say a Force 3+, then the helm would find great difficulty in pointing up, and keeping clear, in response to a luff from the outside boat, whilst in the process of hoisting his kite, knowing full well that there might be a strong possibility of a capsize if he did luff up.  Rightly or wrongly, I suspect that he would, firstly, concentrate on safely getting his kite up and secured before getting out on the wire and then pointing up.  The circumstances would be different in lighter winds.

 

I can’t see how the topic can be finally resolved, with a definitive conclusion, as we, unfortunately, do not have all of the facts.

 

It shows how important it is, if there is an incident, to know exactly where you are in relation to other boats concerned, in relation to marks, and precise details of relative distances involved. Problems will always occur if the parties involved do not agree or can not remember exactly where an incident took place.  If an incident is not informally resolved and one or both of the parties accepts a penalty, this is where witnesses are important, particularly in cases where there is a formal protest which eventually goes to a Protest Committee for a decision.

 

Ian  (Yorkshire Dales S.C.)

 



Posted By: Scooby_simon
Date Posted: 27 Feb 08 at 9:54pm
Originally posted by iansmithofotley

Hi everyone,

It just shows how complicated the rules are as many experienced sailors have responded to this topic having had access to rule books and lots of time to think about the scenario.  After all this consideration there is still quite a bit of disagreement and lots of different opinions.  Nevertheless, whilst racing, we all have to make decisions like this in split seconds, often in strong winds, in testing conditions, when surrounded by many other boats (often of all different types with different sail plans) and in testing high performance boats.

I think that the topic has been a great source of learning for us all.  Redback said in his original post that the matter was resolved informally and in good spirit, which is great.  I think that part of the problem, now that we have all had chance to study the situation, is that we really needed more information to decide which rules apply.  I realise that initially it was just a brief, interesting, post by Redback who I suspect might be quite surprised with the amount of interest in the topic.  However, situations like this happen all the time in club racing, open meetings and championships.  I think that the problem has become more prevalent since the glut of asymmetric boats over the past fifteen years and particularly with asymmetric boats sailing against non-asymmetric boats.  The ‘proper course’ problem raises its head all of the time.

It seems that both boats were on tightish reaches, prior to approaching the mark in question, as neither boat was flying a kite.  It appears that the leg of the course after rounding the mark was much broader, or a run, as both boats intended to hoist kites.

It does not state whether or not the boats were clear ahead/astern on approaching the two length zone of the mark.  It does not state whether or not the boats were within the two length zone of each other, or, if they were, at what stage in relation to the mark (before, alongside or past the mark). It does not state where the boats were in relation to the mark when the leading boat started to hoist a kite (before, alongside or after the mark).  It does not state whether or not both boats had completely rounded the mark and were then on the downwind leg.  My point is that unless these facts are known then it is difficult to assess which rules apply and when.

Redback has not stated what type of boat he was sailing or what stage he was at, in the process of hoisting his kite.  In my experience, if the leading boat was say a Musto Skiff or an RS 700, and the wind was say a Force 3+, then the helm would find great difficulty in pointing up, and keeping clear, in response to a luff from the outside boat, whilst in the process of hoisting his kite, knowing full well that there might be a strong possibility of a capsize if he did luff up.  Rightly or wrongly, I suspect that he would, firstly, concentrate on safely getting his kite up and secured before getting out on the wire and then pointing up.  The circumstances would be different in lighter winds.

I can’t see how the topic can be finally resolved, with a definitive conclusion, as we, unfortunately, do not have all of the facts.

It shows how important it is, if there is an incident, to know exactly where you are in relation to other boats concerned, in relation to marks, and precise details of relative distances involved. Problems will always occur if the parties involved do not agree or can not remember exactly where an incident took place.  If an incident is not informally resolved and one or both of the parties accepts a penalty, this is where witnesses are important, particularly in cases where there is a formal protest which eventually goes to a Protest Committee for a decision.

Ian  (Yorkshire Dales S.C.)

 

Excellent post Ian.  Sums up why this is so difficult to do on a forum.



-------------
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..


Posted By: redback
Date Posted: 28 Feb 08 at 12:12am
I've just seen these posts.  It's late but tommorrow I'll try and give you a sketch.


Posted By: Spyderman
Date Posted: 28 Feb 08 at 12:23am
Originally posted by iansmithofotley

................

 

It does not state whether or not the boats were clear ahead/astern on approaching the two length zone of the mark.  It does not state whether or not the boats were within the two length zone of each other, or, if they were, at what stage in relation to the mark (before, alongside or past the mark). It does not state where the boats were in relation to the mark when the leading boat started to hoist a kite (before, alongside or after the mark).  It does not state whether or not both boats had completely rounded the mark and were then on the downwind leg.  My point is that unless these facts are known then it is difficult to assess which rules apply and when.

 



Perhaps a picture-diagram of the situation would help?



-------------
Are you interested in the Racing Rules of Sailing? Go to: http://rrsstudy.blogspot.com - http://rrsstudy.blogspot.com


Posted By: Spyderman
Date Posted: 28 Feb 08 at 12:48am
Originally posted by gordon

Spyderman,

We are talking about a gybe mark. At such a mark the outside overlapped boat  before rounding is the windward keep clear boat. She must keep clear throughout the rounding. After both boats have gybed the outside boat is now the leeward right of way boat. She HAS acquired right of way. Rule 15 may apply

Gordon


My mistake. In this scenario you are right about the outside boat getting r-o-w and rule 15 is applicable. Specially since the overlap seems to be created by sticking out the kite-pole forward. However, if at that moment the windward boat was keeping clear and the contact only occurred because she bore off, rule 15 was not infringed. The windward boat could have kept clear. So, Leeward gave her room to do that...


-------------
Are you interested in the Racing Rules of Sailing? Go to: http://rrsstudy.blogspot.com - http://rrsstudy.blogspot.com


Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 28 Feb 08 at 5:07pm
Judging from TSS (wish I could figure how to stop it moving), which I will take as the "facts found"

at 1 Blue is clear astern. Rule 18.2c applies and Blue must keep clear.

at 4 : Blue has yet to finsh rounding the mark. 18.2c still applies and Blue must keep clear. At this point Blue is still clear astern

at 5 The mark rounding is complete. Rule 18 no longer applies. Blue  establishes an overlap from clear astern, partly, at least, because Yellow bears away to hoist her kite. Rule 15 does not apply. However Blue alters course, and, as right of way boat, is required to give room for Yellow to keep clear (rule 16.1). Contact is almost immediate. If Blue had not changed course, Yellow would have had an opportunity to keep clear.

Blue has infringed rule 16.1 and should take a penalty.

It would be interesting to know if the boats courses at 6 are in fact their proper course. If this is so then Blue would also have infringed rule 17.1 by sailing above her proper course at 5

Many competitors, especially in match racing, feel that rule 16.1 gives the keep clear boat an advantage as she effetively prevents the right of way boat from changing course. But that is the way the rules are written

Gordon


-------------
Gordon


Posted By: Stefan Lloyd
Date Posted: 28 Feb 08 at 6:51pm

Originally posted by gordon

at 5 The mark rounding is complete. Rule 18 no longer applies. Blue  establishes an overlap from clear astern, partly, at least, because Yellow bears away to hoist her kite. Rule 15 does not apply. However Blue alters course, and, as right of way boat, is required to give room for Yellow to keep clear (rule 16.1). Contact is almost immediate. If Blue had not changed course, Yellow would have had an opportunity to keep clear.

In the verbal description at the top of this thread, my reading is that Blue does not alter course. The animation does seem to show Blue luffing following the rounding but I'm uncertain if that is accurate. Why would Blue want to luff at this point?

 



Posted By: Spyderman
Date Posted: 28 Feb 08 at 7:03pm
Originally posted by Stefan Lloyd

Originally posted by gordon

at 5 The mark rounding is complete. Rule 18 no longer applies. Blue  establishes an overlap from clear astern, partly, at least, because Yellow bears away to hoist her kite. Rule 15 does not apply. However Blue alters course, and, as right of way boat, is required to give room for Yellow to keep clear (rule 16.1). Contact is almost immediate. If Blue had not changed course, Yellow would have had an opportunity to keep clear.

In the verbal description at the top of this thread, my reading is that Blue does not alter course. The animation does seem to show Blue luffing following the rounding but I'm uncertain if that is accurate. Why would Blue want to luff at this point?

 


The TSS diagram is a representation of how I thought the facts were. However the only one who can accuratly draw this is Redback
I don't know where the next mark was situated, I don't know if Blue luffed.....or not


-------------
Are you interested in the Racing Rules of Sailing? Go to: http://rrsstudy.blogspot.com - http://rrsstudy.blogspot.com


Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 28 Feb 08 at 7:07pm
Which is why, Steffan, I was careful to point out that I was taking the diagram as the "facts found"

Fortunately, judges are not asked to rule on the motivation behind the peculiar things some competitors get up to! In this case one would surmise that Blue wanted Yellow to be in an uncomfortable situation not conducive to a well conducted spinnaker hoist.
Gordon


-------------
Gordon


Posted By: Spyderman
Date Posted: 28 Feb 08 at 7:16pm
Originally posted by gordon

Judging from TSS (wish I could figure how to stop it moving), which I will take as the "facts found"
Gordon


Gordon:
Here's a static picture of the TSS-diagram.



-------------
Are you interested in the Racing Rules of Sailing? Go to: http://rrsstudy.blogspot.com - http://rrsstudy.blogspot.com


Posted By: alstorer
Date Posted: 28 Feb 08 at 8:34pm
But where's the previous and next marks? Whilst the straight line is not the proper course, the direction of the mark does play a part in it.


Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 28 Feb 08 at 10:29pm
No, actually. The direction of the next mark would only be important if rule 17.1 was an issue. In the Tss the infringement occurs when Blue (RoW, leeward) luffs without giving Yellow room to keep clear. Rule 16.1

Gordon


-------------
Gordon



Print Page | Close Window

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz - http://www.webwizguide.com