| Bruce Roberts classic 45 Valencia, Spain |
![]() |
| Free mast for Merlin Rocket - has a bend! Guildford |
![]() |
| Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Windward mark to port |
Post Reply
|
Page 12> |
| Author | |
Rupert
Really should get out more
Joined: 11 Aug 04 Location: Whitefriars sc Online Status: Offline Posts: 8956 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Topic: Windward mark to portPosted: 09 Oct 06 at 8:43pm |
|
OK, this happened on Sunday. I'm coming into a mark, on the layline, on port and tacking round it to port. A boat which has over stood the mark comes down from the windward side on a close reach (also on port) and demands water. Am I right in thinking that I don't have to give him room, as it is a windward mark, even though he would have water at another mark? I forced him to tack off and go round, as I was always taught that at the windward mark you take the mark away, and then you have a windward boat situation. Am I right, or have the rules changed, or was I always wrong?
|
|
|
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
|
|
![]() |
|
les5269
Really should get out more
Joined: 11 Oct 05 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 1530 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 09 Oct 06 at 8:51pm |
|
If I'm reading it right, I would say that as your both on port ,he's windward boat so has to keep clear, but I'm a little confused how he could be coming in from windward and on port
.
|
|
|
49er 531 & 5000 5025 and a mirror(now gone to mirror heaven)!
Grafham water Sailing Club The greatest inland sailing in the country |
|
![]() |
|
Lukepiewalker
Really should get out more
Joined: 24 May 06 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 1341 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 09 Oct 06 at 8:52pm |
|
I'm fairly sure it has always been the case that boats in that situation would have to give room, as long as you are overlapped at the two boat circle, ovbiously.
Edited by Lukepiewalker |
|
![]() |
|
Rupert
Really should get out more
Joined: 11 Aug 04 Location: Whitefriars sc Online Status: Offline Posts: 8956 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 09 Oct 06 at 9:07pm |
|
Really difficult to describe, easy to draw. He has over stood the mark, and is reaching down to it. Do I have to bear away from the mark, having got the lay line right, or can I carry on and make him go the wrong side. Obviously, I can't on a leeward mark, but on a windward mark it would seem that I was being punished for getting the angles right? |
|
|
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
|
|
![]() |
|
Lukepiewalker
Really should get out more
Joined: 24 May 06 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 1341 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 09 Oct 06 at 9:12pm |
|
As I said, if he doesn't have an overlap at the two boat length circle you can push him up (subject to giving room to keep clear), but if you are overlapped then you have to let him round inside.
|
|
![]() |
|
Lukepiewalker
Really should get out more
Joined: 24 May 06 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 1341 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 09 Oct 06 at 9:14pm |
|
The rules don't distinguish between windward marks and other marks.
|
|
![]() |
|
Stefan Lloyd
Really should get out more
Joined: 03 Aug 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1599 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 10 Oct 06 at 8:08am |
|
Yes they do, but not in the situation described. Rule 18 does not apply between boats on opposite tacks at a windward mark. Since both boats were on port here, rule 18 does apply and the windward boat was entitled to room. When This Rule Applies Rule 18 applies when boats are about to round or pass a mark they arerequired to leave on the same side, or an obstruction on the same side,until they have passed it. However, it does not apply (a) at a starting mark surrounded by navigable water or at its anchorline from the time the boats are approaching them to start untilthey have passed them, or (b) while the boats are on opposite tacks, either on a beat to windwardor when the proper course for one of them, but not both, toround or pass the mark or obstruction is to tack.
|
|
![]() |
|
Stefan Lloyd
Really should get out more
Joined: 03 Aug 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1599 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 10 Oct 06 at 8:11am |
|
No, you are being punished for approaching a port-hand windward mark on port, because it puts a windward boat on the inside. |
|
![]() |
|
Rupert
Really should get out more
Joined: 11 Aug 04 Location: Whitefriars sc Online Status: Offline Posts: 8956 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 10 Oct 06 at 11:45am |
|
Fair enough Stefan! Though it would have been difficult on this particular course to do anything else. Luckily, it is a situation that comes up rarely.
|
|
|
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
|
|
![]() |
|
tornado435
Posting king
Joined: 05 May 06 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 196 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 10 Oct 06 at 12:00pm |
|
Happened to me on saturday. Scary when it's tornado's and you've also got a row of Starboard boats coming into the mark. Still it was made a lot better by the fact that the Starboard boats were Leigh Macmillan and Rob Wilson.
|
|
![]() |
|
Post Reply
|
Page 12> |
| Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |