Print Page | Close Window

Windward mark to port

Printed From: Yachts and Yachting Online
Category: General
Forum Name: Racing Rules
Forum Discription: Discuss the rules and your interpretations here
URL: http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=2297
Printed Date: 07 Aug 25 at 8:42pm
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com


Topic: Windward mark to port
Posted By: Rupert
Subject: Windward mark to port
Date Posted: 09 Oct 06 at 8:43pm
OK, this happened on Sunday. I'm coming into a mark, on the layline, on port and tacking round it to port. A boat which has over stood the mark comes down from the windward side on a close reach (also on port) and demands water. Am I right in thinking that I don't have to give him room, as it is a windward mark, even though he would have water at another mark? I forced him to tack off and go round, as I was always taught that at the windward mark you take the mark away, and then you have a windward boat situation. Am I right, or have the rules changed, or was I always wrong?

-------------
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686



Replies:
Posted By: les5269
Date Posted: 09 Oct 06 at 8:51pm
If I'm reading it right, I  would say that as your both on port ,he's windward boat so has to keep clear, but I'm a little confused how he could be coming in from windward and on port .

-------------
49er 531 & 5000 5025 and a mirror(now gone to mirror heaven)!

http://www.grafham.org/" rel="nofollow - Grafham water Sailing Club The greatest inland sailing in the country


Posted By: Lukepiewalker
Date Posted: 09 Oct 06 at 8:52pm
I'm fairly sure it has always been the case that boats in that situation would have to give room, as long as you are overlapped at the two boat circle, ovbiously. 


Posted By: Rupert
Date Posted: 09 Oct 06 at 9:07pm

Originally posted by les5269

If I'm reading it right, I  would say that as your both on port ,he's windward boat so has to keep clear, but I'm a little confused how he could be coming in from windward and on port .

Really difficult to describe, easy to draw. He has over stood the mark, and is reaching down to it. Do I have to bear away from the mark, having got the lay line right, or can I carry on and make him go the wrong side. Obviously, I can't on a leeward mark, but on a windward mark it would seem that I was being punished for getting the angles right?



-------------
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686


Posted By: Lukepiewalker
Date Posted: 09 Oct 06 at 9:12pm
As I said, if he doesn't have an overlap at the two boat length circle you can push him up (subject to giving room to keep clear), but if you are overlapped then you have to let him round inside.


Posted By: Lukepiewalker
Date Posted: 09 Oct 06 at 9:14pm
The rules don't distinguish between windward marks and other marks.


Posted By: Stefan Lloyd
Date Posted: 10 Oct 06 at 8:08am

Originally posted by Lukepiewalker

The rules don't distinguish between windward marks and other marks.

Yes they do, but not in the situation described. Rule 18 does not apply between boats on opposite tacks at a windward mark. Since both boats were on port here, rule 18 does apply and the windward boat was entitled to room.

When This Rule Applies

Rule 18 applies when boats are about to round or pass a mark they are

required to leave on the same side, or an obstruction on the same side,

until they have passed it. However, it does not apply

(a) at a starting mark surrounded by navigable water or at its anchor

line from the time the boats are approaching them to start until

they have passed them, or

(b) while the boats are on opposite tacks, either on a beat to windward

or when the proper course for one of them, but not both, to

round or pass the mark or obstruction is to tack.

 



Posted By: Stefan Lloyd
Date Posted: 10 Oct 06 at 8:11am

Originally posted by Rupert

it would seem that I was being punished for getting the angles right?

No, you are being punished for approaching a port-hand windward mark on port, because it puts a windward boat on the inside.



Posted By: Rupert
Date Posted: 10 Oct 06 at 11:45am
Fair enough Stefan! Though it would have been difficult on this particular course to do anything else. Luckily, it is a situation that comes up rarely.

-------------
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686


Posted By: tornado435
Date Posted: 10 Oct 06 at 12:00pm
Happened to me on saturday. Scary when it's tornado's and you've also got a row of Starboard boats coming into the mark. Still it was made a lot better by the fact that the Starboard boats were Leigh Macmillan and Rob Wilson.


Posted By: Scooby_simon
Date Posted: 10 Oct 06 at 12:50pm

Originally posted by tornado435

Happened to me on saturday. Scary when it's tornado's and you've also got a row of Starboard boats coming into the mark. Still it was made a lot better by the fact that the Starboard boats were Leigh Macmillan and Rob Wilson.

 

Ity is so much nicer when you are in a "tight spot" and you know the people around you know what they are doing !



-------------
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..


Posted By: Matt Jackson
Date Posted: 10 Oct 06 at 12:56pm
I've done this a couple of times when it's windy as I get buried easily on a large ACH start but am quick upwind and very quick when freed off a little. My tactic is to overstand to the left to get clear air and reach down over the whole fleet taking my chances on a gap in the starboard layline procession. Won on Sunday doing this!

-------------
Laser 203001, Harrier (H+) 36


Posted By: tornado435
Date Posted: 10 Oct 06 at 1:40pm
I was just nervous about me not knowing and T boning one of them. Don't think they would be overly happy as it is the qualifiers for next years worlds. But I was at the windward mark at the same time as them. Must keep eating the pies, pity I got left for dust downwind


Posted By: Scooby_simon
Date Posted: 10 Oct 06 at 1:52pm

Originally posted by tornado435

I was just nervous about me not knowing and T boning one of them. Don't think they would be overly happy as it is the qualifiers for next years worlds. But I was at the windward mark at the same time as them. Must keep stop eating the pies, pity I got left for dust downwind

 



-------------
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..


Posted By: tornado435
Date Posted: 10 Oct 06 at 2:04pm

But the pies help upwind

Just need a bigger flappy thing at the front



Posted By: Hector
Date Posted: 10 Oct 06 at 3:09pm

You didn't get the angles right. - It's always been dodgy to approach a windward mark right on the port layline and nowadays it's extremely inadvisable.

If however you'd tacked 2  -3 boatlengths earlier, you'd have approached 2 - 3 boatlengths below the mark. That would have been (comparitively) safe when subsequently tacking in front of any starboard boats and you'd have nailed the overstanding port tacker.




Print Page | Close Window

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz - http://www.webwizguide.com