Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Laser 140101 Tynemouth |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Sailing Backwards |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <12 |
Author | |
Stefan Lloyd ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 03 Aug 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1599 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 26 Sep 06 at 7:13am |
I'm not sure that is true even in theory. Protests are about making your case. Therefore you need to understand what case you are making. The facts found will be related to the facts reported. You only know which facts matter, and therefore should be reported, if you understand, at least to some degree, the application of the rules to the situation. |
|
![]() |
|
FreshScum ![]() Groupie ![]() Joined: 27 Apr 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 99 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
I agree with Stefan. While on the subject of sailing backwards; is it backwards through the water or relative to the land which 'counts'? Thinking about the presence of tide/current.
|
|
![]() |
|
Scooby_simon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 02 Apr 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 2415 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Water. |
|
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..
|
|
![]() |
|
Garry ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 18 Apr 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 536 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
I won't deny that knowing the rules helps, but saying the other boat infringed 18.2 because he tacked inside the two lengths circle is really no different from saying that the other boat tacked under you close to the mark and then luffed up forcing you to tack or hit you. Its up to the protest committee to determine if the facts support the other boat tacking inside the two boat length or if there is any doubt... Your explanation suggest a degree of making the facts fit the rules, protest committees are actually quiet savy at spoting that sort of thing. The danager with not having a good working knowledge of the rules is lodging a protest when in fact you were in the wrong (and I've seen that a few times). Edited by Garry |
|
Garry
Lark 2252, Contender 298 www.cuckoos.eclipse.co.uk |
|
![]() |
|
Stefan Lloyd ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 03 Aug 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1599 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Certainly not. The point is that there are a million facts but only a few are relevant. To know which those are requires a knowledge of the rules. Read RRS appendix M, which describes the recommended procedure for a protest. One party is described as making a case, the other defending it. How can you possibly make a case if you don't know the rules? How do you even fill in the form which is normally required? The protest system is based on adversarial Anglo-Saxon law, where the two sides argue their case. There may be a "Judge". There is no "Investigating Magistrate". |
|
![]() |
|
Garry ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 18 Apr 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 536 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
There is no requirement to state which rules have been broken on the protest form. Furthermore just because the protestor states rule 18 was broken doesn't stop the protest committee finding that it was rule 10. While I agree the set-up tends to make it adversarial there is also the element of an investigating committee. What would be the outcome if boat A on starboard was hit by boat B on port (no other boats around and plenty of navigable water). Boat A only knows the IRPCS and that if you're hit shout protest. Boat B is a rules expert pushing his luck. Are you suggesting that boat B would be exonerated at a hearing? Of course B should just do his turns and get on with racing but how often do we see that nowadays! |
|
Garry
Lark 2252, Contender 298 www.cuckoos.eclipse.co.uk |
|
![]() |
|
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
There are a number of scenarios in which a starboard tack boat may be deemed to have infringed a port tack boat. In particular rules 15, 16.1, 16.2 may all provide the port tack boat with some hope. Gordon |
|
Gordon
|
|
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <12 |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |