Laser 140101 Tynemouth |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Proper Course |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1234> |
Author | ||
Scooby_simon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 02 Apr 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 2415 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 26 Feb 08 at 1:36pm |
|
I'd agee that the windward boat needs to keep clear, but the boat may still be on their proper course. Proper course is defined (loosely) “as the course you would sail to get to the next mark quickest“ Now, in order to get the kite up quickly, you need to bear off, it’s quicker to sail down wind with the kite up and my proper course is to sail in such a way as to allow me to put the kite up as quickly as possible. BUT there are some caveats: 1, on a VERY short leg, you might be able to argue that it’s quicker to just sail the leg and forget the kite 2, If light wind, you may not need to bear off 3, in strong wind you may need to go deeper.
|
||
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..
|
||
![]() |
||
English Dave ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 10 Aug 06 Location: Northern Ireland Online Status: Offline Posts: 682 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Sorry Scoobs, don't agree with you on this one. Proper course is indeed very loosely defined but in a protest room you would be very hard pressed to argue that your proper course was initially very low to hoist kite then high to get max speed (before bearing off when apparent wind come forward). In any case, my second point still holds true. Two boats downwind, both sailing "different" proper courses. Windward boat keeps clear. You cannot bear away - effectively into another boat - and demand right of way. A couple of years ago I cleared the top mark in a "mixed" Hurricane event and raised kite. Trouble was that a two sail Huricane was below me and quite correctly intent on luffing me to death. I could have hailed for room to bear away but I think my request would have been met with derision. (Fortunately, God sails an SX and a freak gust put the other boat mast down in a shallow estuary. Ha bloody ha. However that was the only way I was going to get past him in the short term.) |
||
![]() |
||
Scooby_simon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 02 Apr 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 2415 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Dave, I don't disagree in this case windward boat keeps clear. Simple as. If there was another situation where proper course was under consideration while putting the kite up (and I cannot think of one at present) then proper course IS to go low, put the kite up and then come back up and then bear off again zas this gets you to the next mark quickest. |
||
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..
|
||
![]() |
||
ChrisJ ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 07 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 337 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
There is no way that hoisting a kite is an integral part of any mark roundiing. So, going around the mark, the outside boat has to give way / provide room. Once you have finished rounding the mark, you then move onto the hositing the kite routine. And at that point the windward boat has to keep clear, and the leeward boat can "luff" (slowly, providing opportunity to keep clear) well above the direct course to the next mark if that is there proper course. There is no way that the windward boat can bear away in order to be able to hoist the kite. |
||
![]() |
||
Spyderman ![]() Newbie ![]() ![]() Joined: 27 Feb 08 Location: Netherlands Online Status: Offline Posts: 39 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Proper Course is the course a boat would have sailed to finish as soon possible in ABSENCE of the other boat mentioned in the rule. If he would go low to set the spi before coming up again, when there was no other boat, that that's his proper course. If he thinks there's a puff of wind and heads up to get there quicker, that still is his proper course. Only on a beat, you can't go higher than close hauled.
But proper course is only a restriction on the right of way boat. Not a right of the keep clear boat. If rule 17.1 is applicable and the leeward boat luffs above his proper course, the windward boat still has to keep clear, otherwise he breaks rule 11. In match racing this situation leads to a twin penalty. |
||
Are you interested in the Racing Rules of Sailing? Go to: http://rrsstudy.blogspot.com
|
||
![]() |
||
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Kite setting may be part of a mark rounding. Rule 18 appliees from the time that boats are about to round a mark until both boats have completed their rounding.
A typical situation - on a windy day manoeuvers to take down a spinnaker may start well before the zone. Boats are about to round the mark. Entering the 2 boat length zone is the point at which an existing overlap (or non-overlap) becomes "fixed" and cannot be broken. Rights acquired at this moment are fixed throughout the rounding. The rounding ends, and Rule 18 ceases to apply, when the transom of the last boat passes the mark. During the rounding kites may be hoisted, and if in certain boats the seamanlike manoeuvre to hoist the kite is to bear away, then, WHILST RULE 18 APPLIES, any boat obliged under rule 18 to keep clear or give room must allow room for this. If after the mark rounding an outside boat acquires rights as a leeward boat then she must give room to the ex-inside, now windward boat, to keep clear. This may include time to finish hoisting the kite. If the leeward boat luffs and the windward boat luffs and immediately capsizes because her kite was not fully hoisted the windward boat could claim that she was not given enough room. There is a match racing call which states that when a leeward boat luffs a windward boat to the point qwhere the seamanlike thing to do would be to take the kite down then the leeward boat must give room for the windward boat to do so. Gordon |
||
Gordon
|
||
![]() |
||
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6662 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Does that mean that the Windward boat is then obliged to take the kite down? Or can they ask for room and then leave it up? |
||
![]() |
||
Spyderman ![]() Newbie ![]() ![]() Joined: 27 Feb 08 Location: Netherlands Online Status: Offline Posts: 39 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
The obligation for Leeward to give Windward time to get the kite down is not infinitive. If Windward leaves the spinnaker up, after Leeward has given time, they no longer have the protection of room. Leeward may luff up and Windward has to keep clear. |
||
Are you interested in the Racing Rules of Sailing? Go to: http://rrsstudy.blogspot.com
|
||
![]() |
||
Spyderman ![]() Newbie ![]() ![]() Joined: 27 Feb 08 Location: Netherlands Online Status: Offline Posts: 39 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
The leeward boat doesn't acquire that right after passing the mark. During the rounding he was and still is, the right of way boat. (rule 11) He only has to give room to the inside boat. Rule 18 only conflicts with rule 11 to that extent. Rule 15 doesn't apply. The leeward boat is however restricted by rule 16.1 (changing course) when she luffs and then she has to give windward room to keep clear... including time to get the kite down... |
||
Are you interested in the Racing Rules of Sailing? Go to: http://rrsstudy.blogspot.com
|
||
![]() |
||
alstorer ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 02 Aug 07 Location: Cambridge Online Status: Offline Posts: 2899 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
BULL****
It all depends upon upon the wind conditions and course, of course, but in lighter winds (ie ones where I don't need to be out the rack during the rounding) I'd hope to have the kite pulling by the time we're fully round the mark. Might not always manage it, but it's an aspiration certainly. We're going for maximum speed- why wouldn't be hoisting whilst rounding? Obviously, in bigger winds, I'll wait till we've got through the Zone of Death before moving in and forward to hoist, and we'll have cleared the mark by then, but really, there's no hard and fast rule on this. |
||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1234> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |