Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Laser 140101 Tynemouth |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Proper Course |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 123 4> |
Author | |
redback ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 16 Mar 04 Location: Tunbridge Wells Online Status: Offline Posts: 1502 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 24 Feb 08 at 9:41pm |
Here's one to ponder. Gybe mark, two asymmetrics one behind the other. The second boat delays his gybe by half a boat length so that he ends up to leeward but behind the front one who then bears away to hoist his kite resulting in a collision with the rear one who has by this time already got his pole deployed and overlapping the front one. The boat at the front claims he needs room, the boat behind claims the leader has sailed low causing the collision. The leading boat says he would be able to sail that low if the rear boat had not put his pole out into his path. The rear boat says he is sailing his proper course because being 2 man he doesn't have to bear away as much to hoist. Needless to say the rear boat was a 4000 which has a very long pole. It was all solved in good humour as the contact was merely the pole of the rear boat and the legs of the leading boat's helm, and the rear boat did a quick 720 in lightish winds. But thinking about it, was that necessary? |
|
![]() |
|
Lukepiewalker ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 24 May 06 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 1341 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Depends on many things, were they still within the mark rounding zone? If the boat was behind and to leeward then they had rights (as long as there wasn't still a water situation applying). Beyond that it's a question of whether the the overlap was gained from clear astern or not. It sounds like the front boat bore down on the rear boat, which sounds like the wrong boats did turns to me. I don't think there is any obligation to give someone room to bear away and hoist their kite....
|
|
Ex-Finn GBR533 "Pie Hard"
Ex-National 12 3253 "Seawitch" Ex-National 12 2961 "Curved Air" Ex-Mirror 59096 "Voodoo Chile" |
|
![]() |
|
redback ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 16 Mar 04 Location: Tunbridge Wells Online Status: Offline Posts: 1502 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Yes but on the other hand the overlap was established by pushing the pole out. As for boat lengths the rear boat may well have still been in the 2 boat lengths circle (but he was the outside boat) and anyway we were sailing away from the mark.
|
|
![]() |
|
jeffers ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 29 Mar 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 3048 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Personally I would say it is TS to the boat that was to windward, this would be a simple winward leeward situation if it came to protest. The fact that the windward boat wanted to hoist his kite to bear away is pretty much irreleavnt, he bore away in to the right of way boat. As long as the pole on the 4000 was in the appropriate position for the leg being sailed (ie it the pole was out the kite was up or being hoisted) then it does nt matter how the over was eastablished.
I am not sure of the rule that covers this but it does say something like the boat that is too leeward 'shall not sail above their proper course'. There is also another rile that says a boat ahead shall not sail below their proper course unless they immediately gybe. i appreciate the other boat say that their proper course was to bear away but they could not because the leeward boat had established an overlap... As I said at the begiunning it sounds like a simple winward leeward to me. The 'leading boat' should have gone high and then bourne away to hoist. Just my 2p, if it is wrong I am sure the other rules 'gurus' here will correct me. |
|
Paul
---------------------- D-Zero GBR 74 |
|
![]() |
|
Stefan Lloyd ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 03 Aug 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1599 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
I agree with jeffers.The leading boat was given room to round the mark, so I don't think the presence of the mark comes into it. It's a W/L question. L, having established an overlap from behind, is entitled to sail their proper course, and W doesn't appear to be claiming they were doing otherwise. L's pole was in its "normal position". So W has to keep clear. If there's a pole stopping them bearing away to set, that's tough.
|
|
![]() |
|
iansmithofotley ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 16 Mar 04 Location: Otley, West Yorkshire Online Status: Offline Posts: 209 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Hi everyone, These are some of the rules that cover this scenario: SECTION C AT MARKS AND OBSTRUCTIONS To the extent that a Section C rule conflicts with a rule in Section A or B, the Section C rule takes precedence. 18 ROUNDING AND PASSING MARKS AND OBSTRUCTIONS In rule 18, room is room for an inside boat to round or pass between an outside boat and a mark or obstruction, including room to tack or gybe when either is a normal part of the manoeuvre. 18.1 When This Rule Applies Rule 18 applies when boats are about to round or pass a mark they are required to leave on the same side, or an obstruction on the same side, until they have passed it. However, it does not apply (a) at a starting mark surrounded by navigable water or at its anchor line from the time the boats are approaching them to start until they have passed them, or (b) while the boats are on opposite tacks, either on a beat to windward or when the proper course for one of them, but not both, to round or pass the mark or obstruction is to tack. 18.2 Giving Room; Keeping Clear (a) OVERLAPPED – BASIC RULE When boats are overlapped the outside boat shall give the inside boat room to round or pass the mark or obstruction, and if the inside boat has right of way the outside boat shall also keep clear. Other parts of rule 18 contain exceptions to this rule. (b) OVERLAPPED AT THE ZONE If boats were overlapped before either of them reached the twolength zone and the overlap is broken after one of them has reached it, the boat that was on the outside shall continue to give the other boat room. If the outside boat becomes clear astern or overlapped inside the other boat, she is not entitled to room and shall keep clear. (c) NOT OVERLAPPED AT THE ZONE If a boat was clear ahead at the time she reached the two-length zone, the boat clear astern shall thereafter keep clear. If the boat clear astern becomes overlapped outside the other boat, she shall also give the inside boat room. If the boat clear astern becomes overlapped inside the other boat, she is not entitled to room. If the boat that was clear ahead passes head to wind, rule 18.2(c) no longer applies and remains inapplicable. (d) CHANGING COURSE TO ROUND OR PASS When after the starting signal rule 18 applies between two boats and the right-of-way boat is changing course to round or pass a mark, rule 16 does not apply between her and the other boat. (e) OVERLAP RIGHTS If there is reasonable doubt that a boat obtained or broke an overlap in time, it shall be presumed that she did not. If the outside boat is unable to give room when an overlap begins, rules 18.2(a) and 18.2(b) do not apply. 18.4 Gybing When an inside overlapped right-of-way boat must gybe at a mark or obstruction to sail her proper course, until she gybes she shall sail no farther from the mark or obstruction than needed to sail that course.
16 CHANGING COURSE 16.1 When a right-of-way boat changes course, she shall give the other boat room to keep clear.
I think that the inside boat is under an obligation to gybe at the first opportunity. There is no indication that it did not do so. As I understand it, the inside boat is also supposed to complete the manoeuvre in a 'seamanlike way', I suspect that this will vary according to the wind, waves and other conditions (which have not been described).
I suppose that the 'proper course' saga comes into play again and who is to say what the 'proper course' is for a single handed asymmetric boat which has just gybed his main and is in the process of hoisting a kite in the prevailing conditions, until the kite is set. (Maybe it would have been alot simpler for us all if the racing rules defined 'proper course' as the shortest distance between two marks of the course but making allowances for manoeuvres being completed and sails being set).
17 ON THE SAME TACK; PROPER COURSE 17.1 If a boat clear astern becomes overlapped within two of her hull lengths to leeward of a boat on the same tack, she shall not sail above her proper course while they remain overlapped within that distance, unless in doing so she promptly sails astern of the other boat. This rule does not apply if the overlap begins while the windward boat is required by rule 13 to keep clear. 17.2 Except on a beat to windward, while a boat is less than two of her hull lengths from a leeward boat or a boat clear astern steering a course to leeward of her, she shall not sail below her proper course unless she gybes.
From the description given, it would appear that whilst rounding the mark the boats were clear ahead/clear astern and within the two length zone, both of each other and the mark.
I suppose that it could be said that the outside boat should have anticipated the manoeuvres of the inside single handed assymetric boat and kept clear or gone behind. It could also be said that the providing the inside boat completed his manoeuvres as soon as possible and in a 'seamanlike way' then he had done nothing wrong as he was merely completing the gybing of his mainsail and hoisting his kite at the first opportunity. There is no evidence to suggest that he did not gybe straight away or overstood the mark in order to do so.
Ian (Yorkshire Dales S.C.)
Edited by iansmithofotley |
|
![]() |
|
Stefan Lloyd ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 03 Aug 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1599 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
In rule 18, room is room for an inside boat to round or pass between an outside boat and a mark or obstruction, including room to tack or gybe when either is a normal part of the manoeuvre.
It doesn't say "tack, gybe or set your kite". Rule 18 is a red herring.
"I suppose that the 'proper course' saga comes into play again and who is to say what the 'proper course' is for a single handed asymmetric boat which has just gybed his main and is in the process of hoisting a kite in the prevailing conditions, until the kite is set"
It is indeed about proper course but it's about L's proper course (17.1). 17.2 is irrelevant since W is required to keep clear of L anyway unless the latter is contravening 17.1. It doesn't appear that W is asserting that to be the case. |
|
![]() |
|
Garry ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 18 Apr 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 536 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
To add some extra confusion - you do not have to anticipate and you must give the keep clear boat the opportunity and time to respond. So in this case was the pole put out so close to the other boat as she bore away that it wasn't possible to avoid it? Otherwise IMHO it would be W in the wrong all other things being equal.
|
|
Garry
Lark 2252, Contender 298 www.cuckoos.eclipse.co.uk |
|
![]() |
|
English Dave ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 10 Aug 06 Location: Northern Ireland Online Status: Offline Posts: 682 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Everyone seems to be in agreement on this and I'll add my endorsement of it being a simple windward/leeward issue. IMO the windward boat is NOT sailing her proper course when going deep to raise kite. It's just convenient as the kite goes up faster and the crew doesn't have to work so hard. Proper course is only resumed when the kite is up and set.
As an aside and linking in with the other thread - when I sail my assymetric Hurricane downwind against Lasers sailing by the lee we are both sailing proper course but going in vastly different directions. The windward boat keeps clear. End of |
|
![]() |
|
redback ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 16 Mar 04 Location: Tunbridge Wells Online Status: Offline Posts: 1502 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Well thanks for the contributions. I feel pretty good now, as leeward boat I was probably in the right and doubly so since I had also did my turns. During the turns a couple of 400s and a B14 got past but we went on to beat them all. I guess the incident wouldn't have happened if I'd kept a better lookout but I imagine it was the distraction of having to look down into the boat to grab the wing-wang that did it. |
|
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 123 4> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |