New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Proper Course
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Proper Course

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 4>
Author
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Proper Course
    Posted: 28 Feb 08 at 10:29pm
No, actually. The direction of the next mark would only be important if rule 17.1 was an issue. In the Tss the infringement occurs when Blue (RoW, leeward) luffs without giving Yellow room to keep clear. Rule 16.1

Gordon
Gordon
Back to Top
alstorer View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 02 Aug 07
Location: Cambridge
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2899
Post Options Post Options   Quote alstorer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Feb 08 at 8:34pm
But where's the previous and next marks? Whilst the straight line is not the proper course, the direction of the mark does play a part in it.
Back to Top
Spyderman View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 27 Feb 08
Location: Netherlands
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 39
Post Options Post Options   Quote Spyderman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Feb 08 at 7:16pm
Originally posted by gordon

Judging from TSS (wish I could figure how to stop it moving), which I will take as the "facts found"
Gordon


Gordon:
Here's a static picture of the TSS-diagram.

Are you interested in the Racing Rules of Sailing? Go to: http://rrsstudy.blogspot.com
Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Feb 08 at 7:07pm
Which is why, Steffan, I was careful to point out that I was taking the diagram as the "facts found"

Fortunately, judges are not asked to rule on the motivation behind the peculiar things some competitors get up to! In this case one would surmise that Blue wanted Yellow to be in an uncomfortable situation not conducive to a well conducted spinnaker hoist.
Gordon
Gordon
Back to Top
Spyderman View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 27 Feb 08
Location: Netherlands
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 39
Post Options Post Options   Quote Spyderman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Feb 08 at 7:03pm
Originally posted by Stefan Lloyd

Originally posted by gordon

at 5 The mark rounding is complete. Rule 18 no longer applies. Blue  establishes an overlap from clear astern, partly, at least, because Yellow bears away to hoist her kite. Rule 15 does not apply. However Blue alters course, and, as right of way boat, is required to give room for Yellow to keep clear (rule 16.1). Contact is almost immediate. If Blue had not changed course, Yellow would have had an opportunity to keep clear.

In the verbal description at the top of this thread, my reading is that Blue does not alter course. The animation does seem to show Blue luffing following the rounding but I'm uncertain if that is accurate. Why would Blue want to luff at this point?

 


The TSS diagram is a representation of how I thought the facts were. However the only one who can accuratly draw this is Redback
I don't know where the next mark was situated, I don't know if Blue luffed.....or not
Are you interested in the Racing Rules of Sailing? Go to: http://rrsstudy.blogspot.com
Back to Top
Stefan Lloyd View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 03 Aug 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1599
Post Options Post Options   Quote Stefan Lloyd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Feb 08 at 6:51pm

Originally posted by gordon

at 5 The mark rounding is complete. Rule 18 no longer applies. Blue  establishes an overlap from clear astern, partly, at least, because Yellow bears away to hoist her kite. Rule 15 does not apply. However Blue alters course, and, as right of way boat, is required to give room for Yellow to keep clear (rule 16.1). Contact is almost immediate. If Blue had not changed course, Yellow would have had an opportunity to keep clear.

In the verbal description at the top of this thread, my reading is that Blue does not alter course. The animation does seem to show Blue luffing following the rounding but I'm uncertain if that is accurate. Why would Blue want to luff at this point?

 

Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Feb 08 at 5:07pm
Judging from TSS (wish I could figure how to stop it moving), which I will take as the "facts found"

at 1 Blue is clear astern. Rule 18.2c applies and Blue must keep clear.

at 4 : Blue has yet to finsh rounding the mark. 18.2c still applies and Blue must keep clear. At this point Blue is still clear astern

at 5 The mark rounding is complete. Rule 18 no longer applies. Blue  establishes an overlap from clear astern, partly, at least, because Yellow bears away to hoist her kite. Rule 15 does not apply. However Blue alters course, and, as right of way boat, is required to give room for Yellow to keep clear (rule 16.1). Contact is almost immediate. If Blue had not changed course, Yellow would have had an opportunity to keep clear.

Blue has infringed rule 16.1 and should take a penalty.

It would be interesting to know if the boats courses at 6 are in fact their proper course. If this is so then Blue would also have infringed rule 17.1 by sailing above her proper course at 5

Many competitors, especially in match racing, feel that rule 16.1 gives the keep clear boat an advantage as she effetively prevents the right of way boat from changing course. But that is the way the rules are written

Gordon
Gordon
Back to Top
Spyderman View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 27 Feb 08
Location: Netherlands
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 39
Post Options Post Options   Quote Spyderman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Feb 08 at 12:48am
Originally posted by gordon

Spyderman,

We are talking about a gybe mark. At such a mark the outside overlapped boat  before rounding is the windward keep clear boat. She must keep clear throughout the rounding. After both boats have gybed the outside boat is now the leeward right of way boat. She HAS acquired right of way. Rule 15 may apply

Gordon


My mistake. In this scenario you are right about the outside boat getting r-o-w and rule 15 is applicable. Specially since the overlap seems to be created by sticking out the kite-pole forward. However, if at that moment the windward boat was keeping clear and the contact only occurred because she bore off, rule 15 was not infringed. The windward boat could have kept clear. So, Leeward gave her room to do that...
Are you interested in the Racing Rules of Sailing? Go to: http://rrsstudy.blogspot.com
Back to Top
Spyderman View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 27 Feb 08
Location: Netherlands
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 39
Post Options Post Options   Quote Spyderman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Feb 08 at 12:23am
Originally posted by iansmithofotley

................

 

It does not state whether or not the boats were clear ahead/astern on approaching the two length zone of the mark.  It does not state whether or not the boats were within the two length zone of each other, or, if they were, at what stage in relation to the mark (before, alongside or past the mark). It does not state where the boats were in relation to the mark when the leading boat started to hoist a kite (before, alongside or after the mark).  It does not state whether or not both boats had completely rounded the mark and were then on the downwind leg.  My point is that unless these facts are known then it is difficult to assess which rules apply and when.

 



Perhaps a picture-diagram of the situation would help?



Edited by Spyderman
Are you interested in the Racing Rules of Sailing? Go to: http://rrsstudy.blogspot.com
Back to Top
redback View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 16 Mar 04
Location: Tunbridge Wells
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1502
Post Options Post Options   Quote redback Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Feb 08 at 12:12am
I've just seen these posts.  It's late but tommorrow I'll try and give you a sketch.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 4>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy