Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Laser 140101 Tynemouth |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Sailing rules - part 2 |
Post Reply ![]() |
Author | |
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 02 Mar 06 at 6:24pm |
The rules section is only read by "rules nerds" like me. At least by posting question in this section dics is reminding those who have little interest that the rules are a mjor part of the sport. As for the question - if we acceptt he facts as presented : rule 18 does not apply as boats are on opposite tacks on a beat to windward Starboard has passed head to wind and is not yet on a close-hauled course. Rule 13 applies. Starboard cannot invoke rule 10 as this does not apply when rule 13 applies Starboard has infringed rule 13 and should take a penalty. Port, as right of way boatis exonerated for not avoiding contact under rule 14a. Gordon |
|
Gordon
|
|
![]() |
|
Bumble ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() ![]() Joined: 12 Nov 05 Location: Taiwan Online Status: Offline Posts: 302 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
There is a section for rules which isn't 'dinghy development' ...... what is wrong with you guys?
|
|
![]() |
|
jeffers ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 29 Mar 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 3048 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Exactly, had this in a Laser fleet race at my club, guy tacked right in my water then proceeded to hurl abuse at me when I said protest. We got off the water, had a beer and I explained the situation to him, he now knows how to stuff me over if the situation happens again (and he bought the beer too bonus!) |
|
Paul
---------------------- D-Zero GBR 74 |
|
![]() |
|
tack'ho ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 08 Feb 06 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 1100 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Opps
![]() |
|
I might be sailing it, but it's still sh**e!
|
|
![]() |
|
tack'ho ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 08 Feb 06 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 1100 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
And as soon as he has gone through head to wind if the port boat has to luff above close hauled the tacking boat has infringed and if the port boat establishes an overlap to leeward then he has the right to water at the mark. Best thing for the starboard tack boat to do is to slow down so the port tack boat has to avoid him then when thats happened either by him bearing away or tacking, complete the tack for the mark. Simple...in theory!! Tried it on a guy at my old sailing club when i was visiting my folks and despite shouting starboard repeatedly at him I ended up having to cpasize onto the mark to avoid him. He still didn't understand what he had done wrong in the hearing |
|
I might be sailing it, but it's still sh**e!
|
|
![]() |
|
Guest ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 21 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 0 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Agreed
|
|
![]() |
|
Blobby ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 07 May 04 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 779 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Simple port starboard incident - the presence of the windward mark is actually irrelevant as boats cannot be overlapped on opposite tacks. Starboard tacker did not give port tacker room and opportunity to keep clear - he is in the wrong. |
|
![]() |
|
dics ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 05 Oct 05 Online Status: Offline Posts: 317 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Another one for the rule buffs and those that have read the article Top Mark in Y&Y . A windward mark being left to starboard. A port tack boat on the lay line. A starboard tack boat is approaching the mark traveling faster and near the mark than the port tack boat. The port tack boat sees this and decides to stand on as there is no fear of contact as he will go behind the transom of the starboard boat. The starboard boat gets to the 2 length boat zone and sails to the lay line – still within the 2 length zone. The port tack boat reaches the 2 length zone and the starboard boat tacks right in front. The port tack boat ends up luffing into the wind to try to avoid contact but contact is made. The starboard boat still tacking hails that he is on starboard and that the port tack boat should have given way.
Who is right and why? Who is wrong and why? |
|
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |