Print Page | Close Window

Sailing rules - part 2

Printed From: Yachts and Yachting Online
Category: Dinghy classes
Forum Name: Dinghy development
Forum Discription: The latest moves in the dinghy market
URL: http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=1509
Printed Date: 15 Aug 25 at 6:46am
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com


Topic: Sailing rules - part 2
Posted By: dics
Subject: Sailing rules - part 2
Date Posted: 02 Mar 06 at 9:10am

Another one for the rule buffs and those that have read the article Top Mark in Y&Y .

 

A windward mark being left to starboard. A port tack boat on the lay line. A starboard tack boat is approaching the mark traveling faster and near the mark than the port tack boat. The port tack boat sees this and decides to stand on as there is no fear of contact as he will go behind the transom of the starboard boat. The starboard boat gets to the 2 length boat zone and sails to the lay line – still within the 2 length zone. The port tack boat reaches the 2 length zone and the starboard boat tacks right in front. The port tack boat ends up luffing into the wind to try to avoid contact but contact is made. The starboard boat still tacking hails that he is on starboard and that the port tack boat should have given way.

 

Who is right and why? Who is wrong and why?




Replies:
Posted By: Blobby
Date Posted: 02 Mar 06 at 10:45am

Simple port starboard incident - the presence of the windward mark is actually irrelevant as boats cannot be overlapped on opposite tacks. 

Starboard tacker did not give port tacker room and opportunity to keep clear - he is in the wrong.



Posted By: Guest
Date Posted: 02 Mar 06 at 11:00am
Agreed

-------------


Posted By: tack'ho
Date Posted: 02 Mar 06 at 11:11am

And as soon as he has gone through head to wind if the port boat has to luff above close hauled the tacking boat has infringed and if the port boat establishes an overlap to leeward then he has the right to water at the mark.

Best thing for the starboard tack boat to do is to slow down so the port tack boat has to avoid him then when thats happened  either by him bearing away or tacking, complete the tack for the mark.  Simple...in theory!!  Tried it on a guy at my old sailing club when i was visiting my folks and despite shouting starboard repeatedly at him I ended up having to cpasize onto the mark to avoid him.  He still didn't understand what he had done wrong in the hearing



-------------
I might be sailing it, but it's still sh**e!


Posted By: tack'ho
Date Posted: 02 Mar 06 at 11:13am
Opps imeant as soon as he is on his close hauled course.  While he is still tacking he is of course the give way boat!

-------------
I might be sailing it, but it's still sh**e!


Posted By: jeffers
Date Posted: 02 Mar 06 at 11:39am
Originally posted by Blobby

Simple port starboard incident - the presence of the windward mark is actually irrelevant as boats cannot be overlapped on opposite tacks. 

Starboard tacker did not give port tacker room and opportunity to keep clear - he is in the wrong.



Exactly, had this in a Laser fleet race at my club, guy tacked right in my water then proceeded to hurl abuse at me when I said protest.

We got off the water, had a beer and I explained the situation to him, he now knows how to stuff me over if the situation happens again (and he bought the beer too bonus!)


-------------
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74


Posted By: Bumble
Date Posted: 02 Mar 06 at 4:42pm
There is a section for rules which isn't 'dinghy development' ...... what is wrong with you guys?


Posted By: gordon
Date Posted: 02 Mar 06 at 6:24pm

The rules section is only read by "rules nerds" like me. At least by posting question in this section dics is reminding those who have little interest that the rules are a mjor part of the sport.

As for the question - if we acceptt he facts as presented :

rule 18 does not apply as boats are on opposite tacks on a beat to windward

Starboard  has passed head to wind and is not yet on a close-hauled course. Rule 13 applies. Starboard cannot invoke rule 10 as this does not apply when rule 13 applies

Starboard has infringed rule 13 and should take a penalty. Port, as right of way boatis exonerated for not avoiding contact under rule 14a.

Gordon



-------------
Gordon



Print Page | Close Window

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz - http://www.webwizguide.com