New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: When is a start mark not a start mark?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

When is a start mark not a start mark?

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Contender443 View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 01 Oct 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1211
Post Options Post Options   Quote Contender443 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: When is a start mark not a start mark?
    Posted: 01 Jun 05 at 10:53am

A question for the rules experts out there.

At a recent club race we had an onshore wind so it was not possible to set a true start. Therefore we started on a close reach and headed off for the first mark where we hardened up onto a beat.

At the start I was on a direct line for the first mark from the start mark travelling at speed in my Contender (admittedly a couple of seconds late), when a laser and a 4.7 reached in and hardened up inside of me. I informed them they had no rights to water as it was the start mark.

After the race I challenged them about this. I was told that you are entitled to water at the start mark immediately after the start gun has gone because the start mark becomes a normal mark of the course after the start. Is this correct? If so then it is a charter to barge at start marks.

I thought it remains a start mark until you as a competitor have started and you have not started until you cross the line. Is this also correct?

By the way I forgot to shout protest so I could not protest after the race.

Bonnie Lass Contender 1764
Back to Top
Stefan Lloyd View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 03 Aug 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1599
Post Options Post Options   Quote Stefan Lloyd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Jun 05 at 11:10am

Originally posted by Contender443

I was told that you are entitled to water at the start mark immediately after the start gun has gone because the start mark becomes a normal mark of the course after the start. Is this correct?

No, it is not correct. Rule 18 does not apply until the start mark has been passed. The timing vis-a-vis the start gun is irrelevant. Bargers don't get water until the start mark has been passed (after which, they wouldn't need it anyway). See RRS 18.1 a.

Back to Top
Scooby_simon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 02 Apr 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2415
Post Options Post Options   Quote Scooby_simon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Jun 05 at 11:18am
Originally posted by Stefan Lloyd

Originally posted by Contender443

I was told that you are entitled to water at the start mark immediately after the start gun has gone because the start mark becomes a normal mark of the course after the start. Is this correct?

No, it is not correct. Rule 18 does not apply until the start mark has been passed. The timing vis-a-vis the start gun is irrelevant. Bargers don't get water until the start mark has been passed (after which, they wouldn't need it anyway). See RRS 18.1 a.

Yep, I agree.  You should not have let him in.

Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..
Back to Top
maxim View Drop Down
Posting king
Posting king
Avatar

Joined: 25 Nov 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 127
Post Options Post Options   Quote maxim Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Jun 05 at 3:55pm
Yeah - otherwise it would defeat the object of some team racing tactics, where the time of you start dosn't matter so much as the order and positioning of the people - whatever the time (well- obviously after the gun...) Youv'e got to be able to 'close the gate' after the gun.
Back to Top
john.d.knight View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 09 Jul 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 42
Post Options Post Options   Quote john.d.knight Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Jun 05 at 4:17pm

Contender443

FYI

Rule 61.1 (a) (1)

if the other boat is beyond hailing distance, the protesting boat need not hail but she shall inform the other boat at the first reasonable opportunity;

Pain is just weakness leaving the body.
Back to Top
Contender443 View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 01 Oct 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1211
Post Options Post Options   Quote Contender443 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Jun 05 at 4:40pm

Couple of points.

Yes they were within hailing distance I asked them to do turns but I did not use the magic word protest - my fault.

I let them in to avoid a collision and minor contact was made.

Bonnie Lass Contender 1764
Back to Top
Stefan Lloyd View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 03 Aug 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1599
Post Options Post Options   Quote Stefan Lloyd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jun 05 at 7:37am

Originally posted by Contender443

I asked them to do turns but I did not use the magic word protest

Red flag is also a requirement, although some SIs waive both requirements if the incident was "obvious". RRS 61.1.

Back to Top
furtive View Drop Down
Posting king
Posting king


Joined: 30 Mar 05
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 188
Post Options Post Options   Quote furtive Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jun 05 at 10:30am
No red flag is required if you're boat is less than 6 metres long (as with this case).
Back to Top
Garry View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 18 Apr 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 536
Post Options Post Options   Quote Garry Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jun 05 at 4:51pm
Several points. Although you don't have to give room at a starting mark you may have to observe a 'proper course' depending on how any overlap was established (and remember the anchor chain on the committee boat is still an obstruction). The've got rid of the red flag requirement 'which is good' because I could never find it in the bottom of the boat and I'm going to start just calling protest rather than ask for turns or try and explain the rules - that then leaves me with the option of protesting once I'm ashore. Finally its not always worth protesting or insisting on your rights but deliberate bargers should always be protested otherwise the sport will just go downhill with everyone breaking the rules more and more blatently.
Garry

Lark 2252, Contender 298

www.cuckoos.eclipse.co.uk
Back to Top
ChrisJ View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 07 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 337
Post Options Post Options   Quote ChrisJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jun 05 at 5:01pm

Is there still a rule about "not sailing above your proper course once the start gun has gone"?

This doesn't really apply on a normal windward course - as pinching like mad is a good proper course to get clear wind from the boats ahead. But if you are close reaching to the first mark, there might be a case for not sailing too far above the next mark in order to stop people at the start mark.

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy