Please select your home edition
Trident-UK 2012 May

Laser Open at Sutton Bingham Sailing Club

by Chris Jones on 3 Oct 30 September 2017
Rob Dyer in fine form to win the Laser Standard Rig at Sutton Bingham © Saffron Gallagher

On Saturday 30 September 5 visitors joined 8 club members for the annual Laser Open Meeting at Sutton Bingham Sailing Club, which this year was a qualifying event for the South Coast and SW regions Grand Prix Series.

A moderate to fresh south south-westerly breeze blowing straight down the Halstock leg of the lake provided great sailing conditions and a good long beat followed by a series of runs, reaches and gybes. The three rig sizes: Standard, Radial and 4.7 raced together with a single start.

In the Standards, Rob Dyer demonstrated why his name already appears a couple of times on the trophy by hitting the front of the fleet early on in the first two races and extending his lead to win the event without needing to sail the final race. The battle for second was more closely contested with Chris Jones and Dan Newall fighting neck and neck all the way round the course, changing places several times during the first two races. It was Jones that came out on top in these exchanges, with close covering towards the finishes. Dyer sitting out the last race meant that Jones could not afford be complacent as Newall could still beat him with a win in the final race. A capsize at the bottom of the run, however, gave Newall too much to do to get back on terms with Jones who secured the race win and 2nd place overall with Newall in 3rd.

Kelsey Green, in spite of several capsizes, had the speed to beat Hollie Coleman in the first two races to take the Radial title.

The main contest in the 4.7 rigs was between Arther Farley and Max Robertson. In the opening race Farley led, but missed out passing through the finish gate on the penultimate lap allowing Robertson to take the win. Race two was closer and Robertson believed Farley, who won the race, hit a rounding mark. A protest was placed, but was lodged out of time, so the result stood undisputed. In the final race Farley sailed superbly to win by a good margin, beating several of the Standard Rig Lasers on the water to win the 4.7 fleet.

Overall Results:

1st Rob Dyer, Sutton Bingham SC
2nd Chris Jones, Sutton Bingham SC
3rd Dan Newall, Starcross YC
4th Pete Barnstable, Sutton Bingham SC
5th David Thomson, Sutton Bingham SC

1st Kelsey Green, Sutton Bingham SC
2nd Hollie Coleman, Sutton Bingham SC

Arthur Farley, Royal Victoria SC
Max Robertson, Sutton Bingham SC

Land Rover BAR Cap
REPORT OF THE MONTH SPONSORED BY Report of the Month sponsored by Henri Lloyd Nominate this article for report of the month for your chance to WIN a Land Rover BAR Cap for yourself and the author of the report that receives the most votes. Just fill in the form below!
Your name

Your email address

Why do you like this report?

Related Articles

World Cup Series at Gamagori, Japan overall
Typhoon Lan approaches as five more champions crowned Five more World Cup Series Japan champions were decided in Gamagori as the inaugural World Sailing event in the land of the rising came to a close. Posted on 22 Oct
World Cup Series at Gamagori, Japan day 5
Typhoon approaches as first medals decided The first medallists at the inaugural World Cup Series event in Japan have been decided after a wet Saturday in Gamagori. Posted on 21 Oct
World Cup Series at Gamagori, Japan day 4
First set of sailors book Medal Race places The line-up for the first set of Live Medal Races, on Saturday 21 October, were confirmed today at the World Cup Series Japan in Gamagori. Posted on 20 Oct
Lasers at Hayling Island
Noble Marine Autumn Qualifier 2 The second of the Autumn Qualifiers returned to Hayling Island SC last weekend, with the Laser 4.7 ladder running alongside making for a crowded beach but lively atmosphere, even if the weather was mostly overcast. Posted on 19 Oct
World Cup Series at Gamagori, Japan day 3
Japanese sailing legacy born Another frustrating day at World Cup Series Japan, as the wind never really materialised meaning that no racing took place across any of the eight Olympic events present in Gamagori. Posted on 19 Oct
World Cup Series at Gamagori, Japan day 2
World Champions come to the forefront Current World Champions in five Olympic sailing events are coming to the forefront and shining after two challenging days of light breeze at Sailing's World Cup Series Japan in Gamagori. Posted on 18 Oct
World Cup Series at Gamagori, Japan day 1
Sailors battle on light wind, wet opening day Olympic medallists, World Champions and Continental titleholders were all battling at the front of the packs on a wet and light wind opening day of Sailing's 2017-18 World Cup Series in Gamagori, Japan. Posted on 17 Oct
Japanese racing fortnight
Kicks off with World Cup Gamagori Olympians, World and European Champions are among a streamlined British Sailing Team entry to this week's World Cup Series event in Gamagori, Japan (17-22 October). Posted on 16 Oct
Pressure on Japanese team
At first ever home World Cup Series event Japan's sailors racing at their first ever home World Cup Series event will not only have to deal with the weight of expectation from their nation, but also the pressure of selection trials for the 2018 Japanese Sailing Team. Posted on 16 Oct
2017-18 World Cup Series opener
290 sailors from 40 nations set in Gamagori, Japan Gamagori, Japan will play host to the opening event of Sailing's 2017-18 World Cup Series with more than 290 world class sailors from 40 nations ready to race across eight classes from 15-22 October. Posted on 13 Oct