Please select your home edition
Hyde Sails 2017 Dinghy Show

Ullswater Yacht Club Regatta and Lakeland Laser Open

by Sue Giles on 14 Aug 12-13 August 2017
Lasers in action on Ullswater © Sue Giles

Ullswater Yacht Club's annual August Regatta attracted an entry of more than 40 boats on August 12 & 13, including 21 Lasers taking part in a Lakeland and Far North one-day travellers event.

The Lasers, who raced only on Saturday, turned out to have the best of the weekend's wind but still the conditions were challenging with 60 degree shifts and very variable light winds. Race officer Rick Boyce managed to get in three races on small courses in front of the clubhouse and with two firsts and one second, Tim Keighley of West Riding Sailing Club, was the overall winner.

The race for second place was much closer and in the unpredictable shifts went down to the last race. Andrew Hewett of St Mary's Loch SC came third in the final race but had done enough to clinch second place and despite winning race three, Greg Liggins of Derwent Reservoir SC, ended up in third place. There was a good turnout of club racers and John Lyons came fourth and was first home boat, Harry Myers of DRSC was first youth and Karen Smith of UYC first lady.

In the Regatta, overnight leaders of the Fast Handicap fleet (below 1000PY), were Jono and Ben Shelly of UYC in a VX One and in the Slow Handicap fleet Andy Cutting of UYC in a RS Vareo took 1,2,3 putting him just in front.

Then Sunday dawned with beautiful sunshine but very little wind and the forecast of a westerley, across the width of the lake was unpromising. After a postponement, the racing got under way on a windward/leeward course and those who decided to sail were rewarded with a slightly freshening breeze and three short but difficult races.

Overall winners of the Fast fleet, counting four races out of six, were Matty and James Lyons of UYC in a 49er. Chris and Guy Scott of Leigh and Lowton SC were second in a Merlin Rocket and despite not racing on the Saturday, John Robinson and Lindsay Whitehead of UYC in a Tempest were third overall after winning two of Sunday's races.

In the Slow fleet, UYC sailor Sean Brooks in a Lightning was first overall with two firsts on Sunday. Brian and Charlotte White of Wilsonian SC were second in a Wayfarer and Tom Adams of Whitefriars SC was third in a Topper. Charlotte received a special prize as first junior crew and Tom as first junior helm.

The UYC Lasers also raced on Sunday and the overall two-day Regatta Laser winner was Tim Whitehead, who won all three races on Sunday, with Phil Noak second and Emily-Lofthouse-Hill third.

Overall Results:

Ullswater Regatta Fast Handicap
1. Matty & James Lyons, 49er (UYC)
2. Chris & Guy Scott, Merlin Rocket (Leigh and Lowton SC)
3. John Robinson & Lindsay Whitehead, Tempest (UYC)

Ullswater Regatta Slow Handicap
1. Sean Brooks, Lightning (UYC)
2. Brian & Charlotte White, Wayfarer (Wilsonian SC)
3. Tom Adams, Topper (Wilsonian SC)

Ullswater Regatta Laser
1. Tim Whitehead (UYC)
2. Phil Noak (UYC)
3. Emily-Lofthouse-Hill (UYC)

Laser Lakeland and Far North Traveller
1. Tim Keighley (West Riding SC)
2. Andrew Hewett (St Mary's Loch SC)
3. Greg Liggins (DRSC)

Related Articles

Lasers at Shustoke
Midland Grand Prix Series event The day started warm with a gentle West to South-Westerly breeze gusting 2 at times, and of course accompanied by lovely bacon butties! The signing in (thanks to Betty & Geoff) revealed 13 Lasers would be on the water. Posted today at 10:55 am
Horning SC Open Dinghy Weekend
Perfect weather conditions on Hoveton Little Broad Horning Sailing Club held their Open Dinghy Weekend over 23/24th September on Hoveton Little Broad. In perfect weather conditions, competitors enjoyed good racing with gentle winds on Saturday, these picking up on Sunday along with brilliant sunshine. Posted on 25 Sep
Laser Masters Worlds in Croatia day 2
Complete calm in Split The Monday weather forecast included a storm early in the morning, which passed directly over Split and gave an early wake up call for the Laser Master sailors with a lightning show that illuminated the city skyline. Posted on 25 Sep
Laser Masters Worlds in Croatia day 1
No wind, no racing The 2017 Laser Masters World Championships kicked off today with a slow start. 350 Laser Master sailors spent the day ashore under sunny blue skies, hoping the weather forecast of light winds would prove to be incorrect. Posted on 24 Sep
Laser Standard Men's Worlds overall
Pavlos Kontides is the new champion The second electrical storm of the week at the Laser Standard Men's World Championships passed by Split today while the fleet were held on shore. Although it was not directly overhead, it was strong enough to destroy the gradient wind. Posted on 19 Sep
Laser Standard Men's Worlds day 5
Pavlos Kontides takes the lead Fears of wind coming from all directions on the second day of 'Finals' at the Laser Standard Men's World Championships were unfounded when a westerly breeze developed just after noon. Posted on 19 Sep
Laser Standard Men's Worlds day 4
High scores on the leaderboard in Croatia The weather changed again for the first day of Final Series racing in the Laser Standard Men's World Championship in Split, Croatia. The start of racing was delayed to wait for an impressive electric storm with golf ball sized hail to pass over the city. Posted on 18 Sep
Laser Standard Men's Worlds day 3
Gusting up to 27 knots on the final day of qualifiers The final day of qualifiers in Split, Croatia delivered the promised 20-knot southeasterly wind, gusting up to 27 knots and giving great surfing conditions downwind with a tough workout upwind. Posted on 17 Sep
Laser Standard Men's Worlds day 2
Nice places change in the top ten The single race held at the end of the second day, after a delayed start, was worth waiting for. The race committee expected light wind today and last night postponed the scheduled start by 2 hours. Posted on 15 Sep
Laser Standard Men's Worlds day 1
Pavlos Kontides in the lead in Croatia At the opening press conference, in Split, Croatia, the 2016 Olympic Gold and Silver medal winners predicted a tough championship with any one of 30 sailors capable of scoring a top five place in the 147 strong fleet from 52 countries. Posted on 14 Sep