Please select your home edition
Craftinsure 2012

Aspire 72nd Merlin Rocket Championship at Pwllheli - Day 1

by Chris Martin on 13 Aug 12-18 August 2017

Day one of the Aspire Merlin Rocket national championship got off to a quiet start in a breeze that barely exceeded 5 knots.

Despite the efforts of the pin boat team, the pin end was certainly favoured and most of the boats in the pound seats at the windward mark came from around that area as Nick Craig and Alan Roberts rounded first of a gaggle of "seeds" and one or two Silver fleet wild cards!

Nick and Alan may have led for the entire race, but the sausage-triangle course certainly kept the fleet together and no position could be taken for granted on this day of snakes and ladders.

So the results of Selden Sunday put Nick and Alan at the top of the leader board with Sam and Megan Pascoe in second and Caroline Coft and Matt Lulham-Robinson in third.

The Silver fleet was hotly contested with Chris Martin and Oliver Maclean winning the group posting a nosebleed inspiring 11th place.

Bronze fleet winners were Steve Harling and Eleanor Thomas in 24th place overall.

Looking to the future of the sport the first of the sponsored NSSA entries were April Whitley and Hazel Newport posting a 31st is this highly competitive fleet.

The Rooster Endeavour award was won by Karen Hiles and John Hodge.

The sun shone on us today, hopefully the wind will come to join us tomorrow.

Results after Day 1:

PosBoat NameSail NoGleetHelmCrewClubR1Pts
1stMessy Monty3776GoldNick CraigAlan RobertsFrensham Pond11
2ndRed Mistress3759GoldSam PascoeMegan PascoeCastle Cove22
3rdThe Oldie3673GoldCaroline CroftMatt Lullham‑RobinsonBartley33
4thKeyser Soze3684GoldAndy DaviesAlex WarrenBartley44
5thQuick Fix3691GoldMike CalvertJane CalvertAxe55
6thOakey Dokey3712GoldIan SharpsEllie SharpsBurghfield66
7thPanther3774GoldJon TurnerRichard ParslowLyme Regis77
8thWild At Heart3709GoldTom GillardTom LonsdaleSheffield Viking88
9thRobert3756GoldWill WarrenMark OakeyShoreham99
10thMockingjay3777GoldSimon PottsPippa TaylorBurghfield1010
11thQuicksilver3787SilverChris MartinOliver MacleanMidland1111
12th 3786GoldDave WadeRachel RhodesNorthampton1212
13thSylvia3711SilverSam ThompsonKeri HarrisRNSA1313
14thShiny3770GoldDavid HayesJonny RatcliffeHayling Island1414
15thPeer Pressure3778GoldChris GouldChris KilsbyMidland1515
16thWhy Ask3740SilverPatrick BlakeJilly BlakeCookham Reach1616
17thBazinga3758GoldTim SaxtonJodie GreenGrafham Water1717
18thFlaming Fast3339SilverTim MaleRebecca MaleBlithfield1818
19thThe Angels Share3779SilverDave LeeJuliet PealingStarcross1919
20thThe Force Awakens3781GoldDave WinderOliver WinderHollingworth2020
21stPoint N Squirt3746GoldDan WillettPete NicholsonBrightlingsea2121
22ndBernard3658GoldChris JenningsPete HornBurghfield2222
23rdArbuckle3760SilverMark ReddingtonColin StaiteBartley2323
24thDuck and Dive3713BronzeSteve HarlingEleanor ThomasStarcross2424
25thThe Black Boat3734BronzePhil AshworthAlison AshworthWeymouth2525
26thBack to the Future3583BronzeBen EavesSean AndersonRedditch2626
27thPoint Break3625BronzeRichard BramleyJohn DonoghueShoreham2727
28thThree Dee3765SilverRichard DeeJustin HealeyMidland2828
29thStrung Along3784SilverMark BarwellLouise JohnsonLymington Town2929
30thPointer3790SilverColin BrockbankMartin HughesWembley3030
31stOut of the Blue 23557BronzeApril WhiteleyHazel NewportNSSA3131
32ndWizard in Blue3449BronzeCarl WhitehillSamuel WhitehillRYA3232
33rdDark N Stormy3619BronzeGuy BrowneAndy HunterTrent Valley3333
34thNever Been to Salcombe3582BronzeGeorge ColcombAngus KirkNSSA3434
35thBorn to be Willd3783BronzeMiles JamesColin SimmondsPwllheli3535
36thLight Fantastic3555SilverJames CokayneWilliam GouldNSSA3636
37thLoosed Cannon3655BronzeKaren HilesJohn HodgeShoreham3737
38thSmoked Salmon3518BronzeJulian HarmsTimothy HarmsMidlandDNS [41]41

Further details at

Related Articles

Merlin Rockets at Lymington
Silver Tiller Series continues Arriving at Lymington on the Saturday morning, the Merlin and Scorpion sailors were blessed with superb sailing conditions once the sea breeze kicked in. Posted on 6 Sep
Minima Regatta 2017
Full range of sailing conditions at Kingston Crews at the Minima regatta, which is sponsored by TWM solicitors, faced pretty well the full range of sailing conditions at Kingston at the weekend. Posted on 5 Sep
adidas Poole Week 2017 overall
What a week that was! Poole Week 2017 was notable on a number of counts. Despite the generally light and perpetually shifty conditions that tested the skill and patience of the race officers to the limit, no racing was lost to the weather. Posted on 3 Sep
adidas Poole Week 2017 day 5
The full gamut of wind and weather Thursday saw Poole Harbour provide the full gamut of wind and weather to delight and occasionally confound the competitors and Race Officers - with a full 360 degree shift in the wind, a band of rain, lightning, rainbows and glorious sunshine. Posted on 1 Sep
adidas Poole Week 2017 day 4
Race Officer's rain dance does the trick The forecast for today did not look ideal with little wind and rain promised. However, the PROs had clearly done their rain dances as the weather improved ahead of the 1400hrs start and we managed to get some good racing in. Posted on 31 Aug
adidas Poole Week 2017 day 3
Wind fills in after a slow start After a slow start to the afternoon's racing while those in the Top Triangle looked on enviously from a flat calm at the 6 to 8 knots of breeze at the Race Platform, the wind eventually filled in from the west and racing got underway. Posted on 29 Aug
We lucky few...
Or Pwllheli reviewed, through a glass darkly To coin the popular phrase from that strange game men play with their balls (and now, even more successfully, ladies too) the 2017 season is shaping up to be a game of two halves. Posted on 23 Aug
Merlin Rocket Championship overall
Nick Craig & Alan Roberts confirmed as winners Dinghytec Friday or the Aspire Merlin Rocket national championships had been the subject of much debate for a number of days. Posted on 18 Aug
Merlin Rocket Championship day 5
Something of a revolution! Winder Thursday a.k.a. Ranelagh Thursday a.k.a Champagne Day of the Aspire Merlin Rocket Nationals saw something of a revolution in race format with three races scheduled in an attempt to get the full nine races in for the series. Posted on 18 Aug
Merlin Rocket Championship day 4
One race held before the wind became too strong HD Wednesday of the Aspire Merlin Rocket Nationals saw two races scheduled. Most in the dinghy park considered even one race to be optimistic given the forecast. Posted on 16 Aug