Please select your home edition
Sunsail 2017 December

Miracle National Championship at Netley Sailing Club - Day 5

by Brian Jones 11 Aug 08:01 BST 6-11 August 2017

Another day of tricky conditions with an offshore gusty wind, bright sunshine and flat seas. Despite the flood tide the fleet was clean away on the first start but which side of the course was favoured was an open question.

There was considerable place changing as the top end of the fleet approached the windward mark followed by a tight reach out into the centre of the channel with the breeze improving as the shore receded.

Yvonne and Brian Mumford rounded first after the second beat and attempted to hold off the two boats vying for National Champion, Dave Butler & Ross Fleming and Andrew & Michaela Mifsud.

It went to the wire with The Butler boat just pipping them on he finish line, but they stayed ahead of the Mifsuds. Ian Brown decided to tangle with the committee boats anchor chain and ended up giving his daughter a swimming lesson instead.

Race 9 was more of the same but with a stronger tide and a lumpy sea, Paul & Nathan Robinson had to retire with an injured crew and Ian Brown redeemed himself with best place ever.

Meanwhile up front the Mifsuds took the bullet ahead of Butler & Fleming with Tracy Amos & Hannah Mumford consistently fourth.

The crews race (won by Peter Mifsud and crewed by Tracy Amos) provided some entertainment with a random Hovercraft entering the race course and disturbing the wind pattern somewhat.

All round great racing and a great venue, just one more day to go.

Results after Day 5:

PosBoatSail NoClubHelmCrewR1R2R3R4R5R6R7R8R9Pts
1stMayham4060Welton SCDavid ButlerRoss Fleming3‑51131‑41212
2nd 3825Birzebbuga SC MaltaAndrew MifsudMichaela Mifsud‑522224‑63116
3rdBounty3692Redoubt SCTracy AmosHannah Mumford‑61431‑524419
4thWattknot3813Staunton Harold SCGraham WattsHelen Jacks‑1035‑84216324
5thBad Medicine4099Redoubt SCYvonne MumfordBrian Mumford26‑855852‑933
6th 4007Delph SCSimon ReddicliffeMark Atherton1774‑129‑175538
7thCarbon Copy4021Maidenhead S.C.Brian JonesAbbey Mumford‑13‑163710337639
8thPlons2007Arzv SCMarcel NeuteboomGiulia Neuteboom4‑9‑1097778749
9th 4110Whitefriars SCPaul RobinsonNathan Robinson910‑116610911(DNC)61
10thBreeze662Port Dinuorwic SCCathy GoodwinLeah Murphy88911‑196‑1591061
11thFighting Lady4020Draycote Water SCJohn TippettKathy Boulton7461081314(DNF)(DNC)62
12thHot Dog124Aldenhan SCSteve FischerLaura/Pauline Fischer12‑1313‑1411121310879
13th 4108 Geoff WeirColin Lown(DNF)‑17141513118121285
14thMiss Adventure3101Whitefriars SCAndrew RobinsonJames Robinson1111‑1713‑151510151186
15thLilly Grace4100Delph S.C.Louis MouldenPeter Lifsud15‑1812129171116(DNC)92
16th 4063 Brian WorralSharon Worral1412‑1916‑1716161314101
17thThe Woolfox Rocket4052Girton SCDavid ReedJean Reed16‑19161814141214(DNC)104
18th 3770Shotwick SCDavid HerbtrittJosie Airns171518‑20‑2020191715121
19thLily Ann4098Delph SCIan BrownJames /Lily Brown‑20‑2220191818201813126
20thTaliesin II3838Broadwater S.c.Barry MellorJohn Finnemore1920‑21‑211619182016128
21stOzzymosis3840Port Dinuorwic SCRichard MurphyCerys Murphy18141517(DNC)(DNC)DNCDNCDNC133
22ndGreat Expectations3670Thornton Steward SCGillian GibsonKenneth Gibson(DNF)2122(RET)DNCDNCDNC1917148