Please select your home edition
Trident-UK 2012 May

2018 Australian Yachting Championship heads to Sandringham

by Jane Gordon, Australian Sailing on 16 Jul 19-21 January 2018
Sandringham Yacht Club © Sandringham Yacht Club

Australia's premier keelboat event, the Australian Yachting Championship returns to Victoria next year and will be hosted by Sandringham Yacht Club from Friday 19 to Sunday 21 January 2018.

Racing will be held across four keelboat divisions and one Multihull division with up to eight races for keelboats and four races for Multihulls across the three days. Held in the waters of Port Phillip adjacent to Sandringham Yacht Club, the Australian Yachting Championship will be a combination of windward / leeward and passage racing.

The Australian Yachting Championship is one of the sailing calendar's most prestigious events and since inception in 2000, the winners list has included such yachting icons as Marcus Blackmore, Rod Jones, Stephen Ainsworth, Peter Sorensen, Bob Steel and Matt Allen.

At the 2017 hosting of the Championship, Karl Kwok's Team Beau Geste took out the title for the fourth consecutive time, following success at Newcastle in 2014, back-to-back wins at Hamilton Island in 2015 and 2016, and again at CYCA in 2017. It is a record that will remain unbeaten for many years to come in this Championship and is an outstanding achievement.

Australian Sailing President Matt Allen, winner of the 2004 edition of the regatta (previously known as the IRC Australian Championship) and runner-up to Karl Kwok in 2015 and 2016 said, "I've always enjoyed the competition in the Australian Yachting Championship and to have it return to Victoria next January will provide great conditions for crews across all divisions.

"Sandringham Yacht Club always roll out the welcome mat and ensures everyone is well looked after, they'll provide the best in racing courses, plenty of variety and off-the-water there will be lots of opportunities to catch up with friends, old and new", Matt said.

Berthing for interstate competing boats can be made available by Sandringham Yacht Club from Thursday 18 January to Monday 22 January at no charge, with prior arrangement.

Rob Davis, Commodore of Sandringham Yacht Club said planning is well underway, "We are always keen to host national titles and we are very excited to have the Australian Yachting Championship at the Club next year.

"January is always a great time for racing in Victoria and we encourage owners and crews to make plans to join us. With the Festival of Sails returning to the Australia Day weekend, the timing of the Australian Yachting Championship allows crews plenty of time on the water at these two prestigious events", Rob added.

North Sails has been confirmed as the Official Sailmaker of the 2018 Australian Yachting Championship.

The Australian Yachting Championship will also be held in conjunction with the 2018 Sandringham Yacht Club Regatta, which will include various other handicap series.

See event website:

Land Rover BAR Cap
REPORT OF THE MONTH SPONSORED BY Report of the Month sponsored by Henri Lloyd Nominate this article for report of the month for your chance to WIN a Land Rover BAR Cap for yourself and the author of the report that receives the most votes. Just fill in the form below!
Your name

Your email address

Why do you like this report?

Related Articles

No Aussie boat in the America's Cup?
No worries mate, as Aussies instrumental to other teams There may not be a boat from the 'land down under' in the 35th America's Cup, but the Aussie spirit is alive and well in sailing's ultimate event. Australian sailors feature in a number of teams contesting the 35th America's Cup. Posted on 26 Jun
The Tasman Project launched
Strengthening Australian and New Zealand Olympic class sailing Australian Sailing and Yachting New Zealand have signed a joint commitment to attend major regattas on both sides of the Tasman for the next three years, strengthening existing events by generating international quality racing. Posted on 17 Jun
2017 Queen's Birthday Honours
Australian Sailing congratulates recipients Australian Sailing congratulates members of our sailing community who have been recognised in the 2017 Queen's Birthday Honours List, for their contribution to our sport. Posted on 13 Jun
Australian Sailing establishes Training Centre
With Southport Yacht Club Australian Sailing has opened their Gold Coast Training Centre, in partnership with Southport Yacht Club at Hollywell. This is the first time the Australian Sailing Team has established a facility outside the National Training Centre in Sydney. Posted on 27 May
Australia 470 teams firing up
For challenges ahead Mat Belcher, London 2012 470 Olympic Gold medal skipper, and training partner crew Will Ryan teamed up in early 2013 and dominated the 470 Men's scene into 2015, winning a record 18 regattas in a row. Posted on 16 May
Matt Allen elected to AOC Executive
Joining the Australian Olympic Committee Australian Sailing President Matt Allen has been elected to the Australian Olympic Committee (AOC) Executive Board at the AOC AGM held in Sydney today. Posted on 6 May
John Lee appointed CEO
Of Australian Sailing Australian Sailing is pleased to announce the appointment of John Lee as Chief Executive Officer. John is an experienced and well-regarded sports administrator and has held senior roles in transport, tourism and Government. Posted on 1 May
Nominations now open
For Australian Sailing Hall of Fame Nominations are now open for the Australian Sailing Hall of Fame. The Hall of Fame initiative, which was announced late last year by Australian Sailing, is being established in collaboration with the Australian National Maritime Museum. Posted on 29 Apr
Australian Yachting Championship overall
Fourth win in a row for Team Beau Geste Team Beau Geste have secured their fourth IRC win in as many years at the 2017 Australian Yachting Championship that concluded today, Sunday 26 March. Posted on 26 Mar
Australian Yachting Championship day 3
Short course races impact leaderboard Conditions lightened off for day three of the 2017 Australian Yachting Championships when the near 200 sailors ventured out of the Heads for the second last day of racing for the regatta. Posted on 25 Mar