Please select your home edition
Fernhurst - Sept2017 - 728x90

Solo Open at Chelmarsh Sailing Club

by Tracey Hanan on 28 Jun 25 June 2017

After weather forecasts ranging from thunder storms to no wind and back again, the weather was reasonably kind, not to give us the forecast rain and to give us plenty of wind with a nice F2 in the morning and a f2-f4 wind in the afternoon! 23 boats with 12 visitors all managed to arrive at the lake despite most SatNavs trying to send you down a gravel road.

The OOD held his nerve as the wind shifted after carefully setting his start line and it shifted back seconds before the gun. Chris Brown was over the start but shot round the end, went hard right and got off to his now usual first race win, but in the afternoon slipped to a 3rd and a black flag for straying course side under the U flag. Ian Ingram was Mr consistent gaining three 2nds which was very impressive as the first ten places where very mixed.

Race two was won by Bob Suggitt who disappeared like a scalded cat and race three was won by the hard working Midland Area rep, Nigel Davies. In the end the top three all had the same points but Nigel came out on top by winning the last race.

Congratulations also to Gareth Wilkinson who was first Chelmarsh boat, also winning the Fernhurst Books Vintage Boat Prize coming 5th.

All competitors enjoyed fabulous fare from the galley prior to racing and during the break, returning to scrumptious home made cakes after sailing. Racing was run by Richard Coates and his efficient team, the safety boat crews being tested by one or two, including me!

Overall Results:

PosSail NoHelmClubR1R2R3Pts
1st5707Nigel DaviesDraycote3‑714
2nd5712Chris BrownDraycote13(BFD)4
3rd5695Ian IngramEarlswood‑2224
4th5318Bob SuggitBarnt Green51‑66
5th4851Gareth WilkinsonChelmarsh4‑537
6th5312Stuart NorrisShropshire‑7459
7th5640Tony HananChelmarsh66(RET)12
8th5603Ian HarridgeNantwich‑99413
9th5728Robert Fiske‑MooreChelmarsh810(BFD)18
10th4767Richard BluntBarnt Green‑1912820
11th5358Rob DayRedditch128(BFD)20
12th5307David ThursfieldChelmarsh‑1714721
13th5098Richard HoltChelmarsh1011(BFD)21
14th4503Mark CuxsonEarlswood14‑15923
15th5061Nick ThorntonBartley13‑161023
16th4958Paul BartelsChelmarsh11‑191324
17th5003Paul BottomleySouth Staffs15‑231126
18th4882Brian FisherNotts County(DNC)131427
19th5646Chris BraznellChelmarsh‑18171229
20th5660Richard ReadChelmarsh16‑211632
21st4674Dave AllenChelmarsh‑20181533
22nd4329Andy VaughanChelmarsh‑22221739
23rd5349Tracey HananChelmarsh2120(RET)41

Related Articles

P&B Race Team Boats For Sale
505, Solo, Streaker, Mirror, Flying Fifteen & Fireball deals! As the summer sailing season ends, it's time for P&B to offer superb deals on their P&B race team boats. The P&B race team boats are fitted out to a championship winning standard and are available with a brand new set of P&B sails. Posted on 22 Sep
Solos at King George
Eastern and Thames Valley Series events Clear sunny skies and 10 knots of wind greeted the Solo fleet to King George Sailing Club for the combined Eastern / Thames Valley event. Posted on 21 Sep
Salcombe YC Autumn Series Race 3
Autumn sunshine for Sunday's Cruiser Regatta Two separate weddings, both daughters of stalwart Salcombe sailors, meant that many regular club sailors were otherwise engaged on Saturday afternoon. Posted on 19 Sep
Salcombe YC Autumn Series Race 2
And Salcombe Yawl September Open A small but select fleet of Salcombe Yawls gathered for the Sabre Insurance Services sponsored September Open Meeting; many of the regulars were put off by the gales forecast to arrive on Sunday. Posted on 12 Sep
Scottish Solos at Helensburgh
Racing for the Ben Ledi Trophy The JPWatersports Scottish Solo Circuit moved on to Helensburgh Sailing Club on Saturday 9th September. The weather looked promising with wall-to-wall sunshine and a gentle force two blowing from the west. Posted on 11 Sep
Harken Solo Inlands at Rutland overall
A great non-sailor's view of the racing Awoken today to the shout of "come on breeze" by Hopwood, who was hoping for a much improved start to the racing, being of a slightly challenging weight for this dinghy, the light breezes don't suit. Posted on 10 Sep
Harken Solo Inlands at Rutland day 1
An entertaining view of the racing I've been asked to step in and write a Solo report for the Inland Championship, sponsored by Harken. Being new to this and not a sailor please accept my apologies now if the report is not quite as expected! Posted on 10 Sep
Harken Solo Inlands at Rutland preview
Favourable forecast for the fleet This weekend, National Solos from across the UK will make the annual pilgrimage to Rutland Water Sailing Club to contest the Harken Inland Championship. Posted on 6 Sep
Salcombe YC Autumn Series Race 1
A harbour unencumbered by hordes of visiting boats The beginning of meteorological Autumn saw the frivolity of the Bucket and Spade Series supplanted by the serious business of race one of the Salcombe Yacht Club's Autumn Series. Posted on 5 Sep
Minima Regatta 2017
Full range of sailing conditions at Kingston Crews at the Minima regatta, which is sponsored by TWM solicitors, faced pretty well the full range of sailing conditions at Kingston at the weekend. Posted on 5 Sep