Please select your home edition
Marine Resources 2017 728x90

Sprint 15 Winter TT at Thorpe Bay Yacht Club

by Chris Tillyer on 14 Feb 12 February 2017

A somewhat fresh, grey Sunday greeted sailors at the first ever Winter TT at Thorpe Bay Yacht Club.

Rupert Snow our RO for the day made the very best of an offshore North Easterly setting a leeward mark in the perfect position to give the fleet a true beat on their leg back up towards the club line.

3 races were held back to back with a very quick turnaround between races so we kept as warm as was humanly possible.

Notable absence from the IOW clan, maybe they couldn't a visa for the day.

Race 1 - All off to a clear start with a two tack beat to the first mark, Jenny Ball rounded first followed by Garry Burrows, Chris Tillyer, Steve Sawford and Darren Fitchew. Jenny extended throughout enjoying the medium fresh winds. Garry and Steve were next followed by Darren.

Race 2 - All clear again except for David Ball who was not having his normal day although he was in a borrowed boat all organised by sister Jenny.

Chris Tillyer led (temporarily) until Jenny passed on the first reach, followed closely by Gary, Steve and Jim Bowie. By the end of the race Jenny had it all sewn up with another first, followed by the usual suspects.

Race 3 - The wind had swung slightly more to the North enabling boats starting close to the shore to lay the mark in one. David Hopper using a borrowed boat nailed the first beat and led down the first reach, closely followed by Chris, Gary, Jenny and Steve. At the end of the first lap Chris had taken a good lead which he held to the finish, followed by the ever-present Jenny Ball, Gary Burrows, Steve Sawford and David Hopper.

All in all, a decent day's racing. Paul Morgan presented the generous prizes and Jenny thanked the TBYC team for all their efforts, particularly as it was a very cold day to be sitting in the race hut or in a rib.

Hopefully there will be another TT next Winter. Looking forward to the warmer nationals at Thorpe Bay Yacht Club in July.

Overall Results:

PosSail NoHelmClubR1R2R3Pts
11917Jenny BallMarconi SC11‑22
22011Gary BurrowsThorpe Bay22‑34
31953Chris TillyerThorpe Bay‑6516
41989Steve SawfordRutland3‑447
51642Daren FitchewThorpe Bay4‑859
62021Jim BowieThorpe Bay83‑1111
71923David BallMarconi SC5‑10813
81977David HopperThorpe Bay‑117613
91940Ed Tuite‑DaltonDraycote Water7‑12714
102017Gerald SverdloffThorpe Bay‑1461016
111776Jon PearseMarconi SC‑1511920
121913Jan ElfringDraycote Water‑1291221
131551Keith PersinThorpe Bay913‑ 17/RET22
142002Graham DareThorpe Bay1014‑ 17/RET24
151825Alan GrantThorpe Bay13‑151326
161525Stephan SmithThorpe Bay16‑ 17/RET1430

Related Articles

Sprint 15 Winter TT at Stewartby Water
Torrential rain eases ahead of the first race On 4th November, eleven visitors from as far away as the Isle of Wight and Cheshire joined seven Stewartby helms for the first round of the Sprint 15 Winter TT Series. Posted on 9 Nov
Sprint 15 Summer Series 2017
Final event held at Grafham Water on Sunday 22 October The Sprint 15 Summer Traveller series ended at Grafham Water on Sunday 22 October with all 5 events being completed but it was a near thing. Posted on 2 Nov
Grafham Cat Open rescheduled
Storm Brian pushes event back to March The Grafham Cat Open that had to be postponed due to Storm Brian has been rescheduled to 17/18 March 2018. Posted on 29 Oct
Sprint 15 Inlands at Grafham
Many regulars put off by Storm Brian Storm Brian caused the Grafham Cat Open to be cancelled but the Sprint 15 Inland Championship went ahead on Sunday 22 October by special arrangement with the Club. Posted on 25 Oct
Sprint 15 TT at Draycote Water
Fabulous turnout of 19 boats There was a fabulous turnout of 19 boats for the Draycote TT on Saturday 9th September. Nine Draycote SC boats were joined by 10 boats that travelled from as far and wide as Shanklin and Marconi SC to attend the event. Posted on 13 Sep
Shanklin Regatta 2017
26 boats race with the prospect of silverware The prospect of some silverware usually entices a decent number of boats onto the water at Shanklin and the regatta day was no exception with twenty-six boats lining up on the start in a sunny force 3. Posted on 22 Aug
Sandown Regatta 2017
Returning to its traditional start line off Sandown Pier Sandown Regatta returned to its traditional start line off Sandown Pier in 2017. 9 Sprint 15s, a Dart 16 and a Challenger trimaran ignored the forecast for no wind and were rewarded with a steady 7 knots of breeze from the North East. Posted on 16 Aug
Sprint 15 National Championships
60 cat sailors aged between 13 and 73 at Thorpe Bay Thorpe Bay, Essex, hosted 60 entrants for the Sprint 15 National Championships sponsored by GJW Direct Insurance and Windsport. Entrants came from far and wide including Isle of Wight, Wales, Devon, the North and the Essex area. Posted on 25 Jul
Sprint 15 Southern Championship
TT at Seasalter Sailing Club Under lightly overcast skies, and with F4/5 W/SW winds gusting F6, sixteen Sprint 15 travellers joined seven local boats for the 2017 Sprint 15 Southern Championship TT at Seasalter Sailing Club in north Kent. Posted on 27 Jun
From Thai boxer to Moth sailor
We speak to Kyle Stoneham Kyle Stoneham is one of the real characters on the International Moth circuit. Having recently sold his business, Kyle is able to spend more time on his foiling sailing, so we caught up with him to find out more... Posted on 21 Jun