Please select your home edition
Edition app (top)

GP14 Southern Travellers Victor Trophy at Welsh Harp Sailing Club

by Steve Cooper on 11 Nov 2016 5 November 2016
GP14 Victor Trophy at Welsh Harp © Luke Howard

Twenty boats contested the 2016 Victor trophy, 16 locals and 4 travellers. After a season of racing on ponds, rivers, tidal estuaries, and the gentle tidal waters of Poole harbour, the Travellers series would be settled with some inland sailing at the Welsh Harp. The stagnant atmospheric conditions of recent weeks had been pushed away by a chill, gentle Northerly breeze.

Difficult conditions for the OOD, Brian Jeffries. With the breeze across the length of the lake the fleet were set 3 short beats, two short reaches and a long reach back up the water to complete the course.

First to the windward mark in race one were Steve Cooper and Chris Lomax, their lead was maintained across the first reach and onto the short beat towards the North shore and mark no 3. In the lea of the trees a seagull perched on top of the orange buoy, considering its refection in the still water. The successful strategy! Go wide, and keep well away from the lead boat now marooned just shy of the three-boat length zone. The series contenders all sailed past. Richard Ham and Steve Browne continued to make good choices recovering from a poor start to win race one.

The short beats provided overtaking opportunities throughout the afternoon. Gains could also be made on the long reach up to the clubhouse. Attempts to protect one's wind took boats towards the trees and, for the leaders, into the oncoming fleet. Again, pursuing boats would benefit taking the opportunity to sail a lower course in clearer wind.

Richard Lord and Hannah Rose took the second race passing Cooper and Lomax on one of the tight reaches, when trimming two sails well was faster than struggling with the spinnaker.

The close competition in race three was for 2nd and 3rd. Winners Frank Pearce and Sophie Blanchard found a nice gap on the start line and starting with speed sailed over the boats stacked up to leeward. Finding good wind on the left-hand side of the beat they rounded the windward mark in first place with a lead they extended throughout the race.

Significantly for the overall result R.Ham and Steve Browne overhauled R.Lord and Hannah Rose on the final beat to grab a third which would give them the Victor trophy and the Travellers series.

The final beat of the final race! We look forward to next year!

Congratulations to all the prize winners and a big thankyou to all the volunteers at the Welsh Harp Sailing club for an excellent event.

Overall Results:

PosSail NoHelmCrewClubR1R2R3Pts
1st14166Richard HamSteve BrowneTollesbury SC1‑332
2nd14200Richard LordHannah RoseWelsh Harp SC31‑42
3rd14151Steve CooperChris LomaxWelsh Harp SC‑2222
4th13532Frank PearceSophie BlanchardWelsh Harp SC‑5412.5
5th13679Martin HimeMahmood ShamsuddinWelsh Harp SC4‑975.5
6th13980Roger WaltonLucy BarrieWelsh Harp SC66‑86
7th13316James WardRichard WhitehillPapercourt SC‑14856.5
8th13170Norman BrownHannah LiptrotWelsh Harp SC‑9597
9th13603Alistair LambertCaro MitchellWelsh Harp SC11‑1468.5
10th14038James StaffordPatrick ErwinPoole YC7‑13119
11th13787Edward CoyneSzymon MatyjaszczukNorth Herts East811‑159.5
12th10591Craig SandersonPeter KayWelsh Harp SC‑1671310
13th13870Maciek MatyjaszczukLydia EvansWelsh Harp SC10‑161010
14th14020David InnesAndrew ToddFrensham Ponds SC‑12101211
15th13269Peter LawSeamus O'ConnellWelsh Harp SC1312‑1712.5
16th13853Lesley KayeNick MastersWelsh Harp SC15(DNF)1414.5
17th1Yossi ShaharRichard GillianWelsh Harp SC‑20151615.5
18th2Moh AliKen GaleWelsh Harp SC17‑181817.5
19th13620Louise HinselwoodJenny IrwinWelsh Harp SC1917(DNS)18
20th12289Maurice FutermanMicha MeyersWelsh Harp SC18‑191918.5

Related Articles

Lennon GP14 Masters and Youth Championships
35 boats race at Budworth over the weekend Twenty visitors joined 15 home boats for the 2017 GP14 Masters and Youth championships at Budworth Sailing Club. The conditions could not have been more different across the two days! Posted on 31 Oct
GP14 Hot Toddy at Mullingar
Held on the beautiful Lough Owel The annual GP14 Hot Toddy event took place over the weekend of the 14th / 15th October 2017 on beautiful Lough Owel hosted by Mullingar Sailing Club. Posted on 19 Oct
GP14 Masters & Youths at Budworth preview
Lennon Racewear announced as the main sponsor Budworth Sailing Club is pleased to announce Lennon Racewear as the main sponsor for the prestigious GP14 Masters, Grand Masters and Youths competition to be held at Budworth SC on the 28th and 29th October. Posted on 18 Oct
2017 GP14 Craftinsure Super 8 Series
Bumper attendance with 218 sailors taking part The 2017 GP14 Craftinsure Super 8 Series proved one of the most successful in recent years with 218 sailors having taken part during the year and 29 boats qualified. Posted on 18 Oct
GP14s at Chelmarsh
12 boats for Midland Bell Open This event drew just 12 boats. The forecasts of little or no wind earlier in the week probably had something to do with the low turnout. Despite that we enjoyed a reasonable light breeze for most of the day and had a good sail. Posted on 10 Oct
All Ireland Sailing Championships
Baltimore's Fionn Lyden wins Fresh from winning bronze at the U23 Finn World Championships earlier this summer, Baltimore's Fionn Lyden has won the All Ireland Sailing Championships at Mullingar Sailing Club over the weekend. Posted on 9 Oct
GP14s at Bolton
Barbados to Bolton for Marsden and Hill Having last sailed a GP14 off the white sandy beaches and warm steady breezes of Barbados it seems only natural that Neil Marsden and Derek Hill should dust off their GP14 for the Bolton Open. Posted on 3 Oct
Over 60 boats signed up
For the 2018 Gul GP14 Worlds With ten months to go until the 2018 Gul World Championship in Mount's Bay there are already as many people signed up as there were at the Nationals a month ago with 64 boats confirmed. Posted on 10 Sep
Irish GP14 Nationals at Ballyholme
29 boats race over three days The 2017 Irish Nationals were held on 19th-21st August at Ballyholme Yacht Club. 29 boats competed which included one visiting team from the UK – John Hayes, an ex 470 campaigner from Southport who was sailing with Joel James. Posted on 24 Aug
GP14 Nationals at Looe overall
A tense final day for the leaders After the day that will gone down in the GP14 folk lore as 'Black Flag Monday' we were thankfully back to gate starts for Tuesday and races 4 and 5. Posted on 14 Aug