Please select your home edition
Suntouched 2018 RYA Dinghy Show

Suntouched D-Zero National Championship at Highcliffe SC - Overall

by Sarah Desjonqueres 27 Jun 2016 19:05 BST 24-26 June 2016

Morgan crowned as new champion

Highcliffe SC were treated this weekend to the fantastic spectacle of 41 D-Zeros sponsored by Suntouched Sailboats and their co-sponsor Harken, assembled in Christchurch Bay tuned, prepped and poised to compete in their National Championship.

Raced over 3 days, day 1 caused the most excitement with 2 races sailed back to back in blustery conditions and a fairly sizeable swell. For the greater part of competitors, more used to inland water racing, this brought with it its own set of challenges and come race 2 there was a fair collection of polished white hulls glistening upside down in the waves.

But on day 1, both races belonged to Hill Head's Morgan and Shotwick's Hensall who relished the opportunity to surf down the waves, bagging a 1,1 and 2,2 in both races respectively. Not so much fun was had by some however, race 2 ended with a broken mast, a broken rudder and 11 DNFs, which paints quite a picture of the race conditions. Epic was the word bandied about in the clubhouse after.

Day 2 brought a mixed bag of weather conditions but far less mountainous seas. By request, a trapezoid course was laid on, with 3 races back to back, all raced under the watchful eye of the VRsportTV media cameras. Lighter winds saw championship leader Morgan slip down the field to 7th in the first race of the day which was taken easily by Restronguet's Scullion. As the wind filled in and the waves began to return for race 4, the lead pack of competitors changed position slightly, with Morgan back in the top 3 and chasing down a flying Scullion. As the fleet materialized from the haze of a squall to shoot around the windward mark and scream off out to the wing mark, it was still Scullion ahead handing him, at the end of the chase, his second win of the championship.

Race 5 and the wind ramped up a little more, playing straight into the hands of Morgan, who finally managed to squeak past Scullion and swap race positions giving him his 3rd first place win with Scullion close behind and Barnt Green's Lennox coming in 3rd. Post race chat noted the kinder sailing conditions compared with day 1 had delivered a significantly reduced upturned hull count and no DNFs recorded!

The last day saw the final 3 races return to the familiar triangular course with a beat long enough to try even the fittest of legs. Race 6 produced a new winner in the form of ex contender sailor Datchet's Jones who never relinquished the lead he had earned after the first beat, leaving Grafham's Wigmore to take 2nd and Morgan 3rd.

The wind, in a changeable mood on Sunday, demanded a quick shunt round of the racing triangle by 30 degrees for race 7, but the race team gave no leeway on the lengthy but perfect beat which this time split the fleet right down the middle. Like the race before, a new face took the top spot as Exe's Horlock took line honours ahead of Scullion with Morgan again placing 3rd.

The last race of the championship, as the sailors began to tire after 3 hard days hiking, surfing and for some, uprighting their dinghies, the sun came out and race 8 finished where race 1 had started, Morgan making his presence felt from the beginning and ending his campaign with a win, Henshall crossing the line second with Scullion close behind.

With 8 races completed and 2 discards, the full Championship race honours went to Ian Morgan who proudly received the fabulous new David Summerville Trophy and the title of D-Zero National Champion 2016.

For further information please see, find us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter.

Overall Results:

1stIan MorganHill Head SC11‑721‑3319
2ndPaul ScullionRestronguet SC4‑5114‑72315
3rdGareth HensallShotwick Lake SC22‑12‑7554220
4thIain HorlockExe SC36‑1463‑91423
5thRob LennoxBarnt Green SC84‑1832‑126730
6thStuart JonesDatchet SC‑19(DNF)24619931
7thDavid SummervilleGrafham Water SC689‑14‑1247539
8thSteve BollandBristol Corinthian YC73‑16‑339115641
9thJohn AstonGrafham Water SC573‑3410‑18111450
10thGordon BennellShotwick Lake SC101085‑11108‑1851
11thTim WeedenEmsworth Slipper SC‑23(DNF)10817813864
12thRuss HopkinsTewkesbury SC12(DNF)4158‑20141366
13thDan WigmoreGrafham Water SC(DNF)(DNF)619232121173
14thTom SouthwellHill Head SC9915101616‑18‑2375
15thMike CorneyQueen Mary SC1113‑24121514‑191277
16thNeil WashingtonGrafham Water SC1314‑231114‑17171079
17thMike PridhamIsle of Man SC16(DNF)‑2291819151693
18thEdward DyerRoyal Southern YC‑33(OCS)2716721101798
19thDave WoodsRossendale Valley SC1412‑3023‑306251999
20thDavid ValentineEmsworth Slipper SC2119517‑29‑242324109
21stRichard ArgallRestronguet SC351113251326(DNF)(DNS)123
22ndPaul JefferiesHunts SC24(DNF)2021191327(DNS)124
23rdJames EdmundQueen Mary SC25161922‑26‑282225129
24thBen StevensGrafham Water SC‑302211‑3221252827134
25thJon CowperHunts SC22(DNF)‑353028152615136
26thDavid BartlettStarcross YC151525(DNC)203132(DNS)138
27thGraham CooperSouth Cerney SC(DNF)202813‑32292428142
28thToby PeacockChew Valley SC17(DNF)3318‑37362020144
29thGordon StewartN. Herts/E Beds SC2021312022‑3230(DNS)144
30thSimon HindleyRestronguet SC(DNF)(DNS)342427231621145
31stNigel AustinCransley SC1817‑382731‑332926148
32ndJeremy CooperShotwick Lake SC272317‑36‑36223129149
33rdPaul MurphyGrafham Water SC(DNF)(DNF)263124272122151
34thRobert CampbellCransley SC34242126‑35‑353330168
35thSeb ProwseQueen Mary SC2618‑37283334‑3532171
36thMick GreenRossendale Valley SC312536‑37‑38303431187
37thScott DerhamEmsworth Slipper SC29(DNF)292934(RET)DNSDNS205
38thKevin MollHunts SC32(DNF)403525(DNS)DNSDNS216
39thAlistair HillGrafham Water SC28(DNF)323839(DNS)DNSDNF221
40thStewart HolfordCransley SC(DNF)(DNS)39394037DNSDNS239