Please select your home edition
Ovington 2017 VX One Gold Cup

Ovington Boats Inland Championships

by Ovington Boats on 20 Nov 2013 16-17 November 2013

The Ovington Inland Championships were held at Grafham Water on the 16th & 17th of November. While the forecast for the weekend didn't look exciting 128 boats competed across the Ovington fleets, 29er, 49er, FX, Solution, Musto skiff and Flying 15.

The fleets raced over three courses on Saturday in light airs. The race officers while challenged with tricky conditions managed to run 4 good races for each class enabling all to have a discard.

Saturday night was packed with entertainment. The bar in the club house was well stocked and kept everyone well fed and watered during the Musto Skiff Quiz, which was prepared and delivered by duet Ben Schooling and Jamie Hilton. The 29er Fleet also held their Harken sponsored Grand Prix prize giving, which saw the title going to Gillies Munro and Daniel Harris. All before the finale, the Ovington Boats fireworks display.

The 49er fleet combined their Inland Championship with the RYA National Ranker – extra competition added by America's cup skipper Chris Draper sailing with double Olympian Simon Hiscocks.

Sunday dawned damp, grey and with very light airs. Undeterred the fleets hit the water on time and managed two or even 3 races before the wind shut down.

The Ovington Inland Championships is renowned for great prizes with a huge array being donated by a number of sponsors. Ovington would like to thank all of the sponsors who helped, Harken, Orange Bikes, Zhik and Allen all of whom helped make the event very special. We would also like to thank Grafham Water SC, the Race officers, the rescue crews and their team for running another great event.

Congratulations to all the prize winners and the new Ovington Inland Champions:

29er: Mimi El-Kahzindar & Ben Batten
49er: Dylan Fletcher & Alain Sign
Solution: Sam Davy
Musto skiff: Sam Barker
FX: Charlotte Dobson & Sophie Ainsworth
Flying 15: Ben McGrane & Terry McGrane

We look forward to being back next year, 8th 9th of November 2014.

Full results are below, except for Musto skiff and 29er fleets (see links for report and results tables).

Overall Results:


PosSail NoHelmCrewClubR1R2R3R4R5R6R7Pts
1st96Dylan FletcherAlain SignSilverline‑411124110
2nd19John PinkStuart BithellHHSC/HLSC232231‑413
3rd77Dave EvansEd PowysPoole YC34‑5515220
4th999James PetersEd FitzgeraldHayling Island SC16464‑7627
5th114Nic AsherFynn SterrittWOBYC/LMSC5‑96472529
6th118Henry Lloyd WilliamsSam BattenLymington Town SC6‑87383734
7th333David ConlonFinbar AndersonBrightlingsea SC(DNS)237691138
8th5Chris DraperSimon HiscocksWPNSA9‑1410856341
9th1111Lester NobleJohn McAfee 115‑15121181360
10th1151Jack HawkinsChris ThomasRestronguet SC107810(OCS)121461
11th105Graeme WillcoxAndrew TarbotonVictoria Lake/Henley YC12119‑141010961
12th659Tom MethvenWill AllowayRutland SC/Plymouth8‑1514912111064
13th1322Matty LyonsJames LyonsUllswater YC71211111414(DNC)69
14th600Rory HunterNeil HunterArran Yacht Club141313‑16913870
15th1198Chris TaylorDom BurkeHayling Island SC1310121313‑151273
16th142Christopher TilbrookCarys RobertsPaignton SC15‑17161515171593
17th698David PapworthMike WallisGWSC16161717(DNC)161799
18th58Andrew WhapshottJake SmithPlymouth University Sailing Club(DNS)181818DNC1816107


PosSail NoHelmCrewClubR1R2R3R4R5R6R7Pts
1st808Charlotte DobsonSophie AinsworthRYA122111(DNC)8
2nd1Frances PetersNicola GrovesHayling Island SC‑311233212
3rd1306Katie MacGregorKatrina BestWPNSA2‑33322113


PosSail NoHelmClubR1R2R3R4R5R6Pts
1st415Sam OauyHykenham SC‑4111126
2nd419Dave HarrisSevern SC12‑43219
3rd435Kathryn HayfieldDelph SC(DNC)4223415
4th446Martin TubbLeigh & Lowton SC233‑54315
5th453Kevin ClarkDelph SC3554(DNC)DNC23

Flying Fifteen

PosSail NoHelmCrewClubR1R2R3R4R5R6Pts
1st3660Ben McGraneTerry McGraneChew Valley SC1‑3321310
2nd3947Nick TaylorGeoff LloydGWSC21‑612511
3rd3727Barry WyattKaty Wyatt/Katie DonaldsonGWSC‑82153415
4th3550Les RantSusie SontagGWSC4‑5245217
5th4012Jonathan KnightTrish KnightGWSC5‑6466122
6th3726Mark LongstaffGraham ThomasGWSC3453(DNC)DNC24
7th3613Colin MidgleyAdam McGovernDerwent Reservoir7‑8774631
8th3789Allen CaveAshley PainterGWSC6788(DNC)DNC38

Related Articles

Island SC Tuesday Evening Series Race 15
Floating bridge chains trap some boats in the river 44 boats came to the start line for the Island Sailing Club's Evening Race Series. The warm summer evening, with 15/18 knots of WSW breeze gave excellent sailing conditions. Posted on 26 Jul
Flying Fifteens at Cowes Classic Week
28 boats come to the line for the 70th Anniversary Race Following on immediately after the Southern Area Championship on Monday 17th July, 28 boats came to the line for the Flying Fifteens 70th Anniversary Race run by the Royal London Yacht Club in a light northerly breeze. Posted on 24 Jul
Nick Simes Trophy awarded for the first time
To top GBR boat in the 29er Eurocup series At the Hayling Island 29er Harken GP a new perpetual trophy was awarded in memory of Nick Simes. Nick was one of those extraordinary people who touched many people with his kindness and personality. Posted on 22 Jul
Charles Stanley Direct Cowes Classics Week overall
Vintage boats and young winners Winner of the 10th Charles Stanley Direct Cowes Classics Week put his success down to a bit of practice and a tightly competitive fleet which keeps him on his toes year round. Posted on 21 Jul
Title sponsors return for 2018 Poole Regatta
Shaping up to be one of the UK's key yacht racing events Poole Regatta 2018 is now less than a year away and is shaping up to be one of the UK's key yacht racing events once again. International Paint has confirmed that they will retain their title sponsorship for the 8th regatta in a row. Posted on 21 Jul
Harken 29er GP at Hayling Island
A masterclass in race management Forty-nine 29ers arrived at Hayling Island Sailing Club over the weekend with the usual collection of top boats supplemented with some guest sailors like Youth Worlds medallist Tom Darling, RYA squad sailor Owen Bowerman and old hand John Mather. Posted on 20 Jul
Charles Stanley Direct Cowes Classics Week day 3
Tight racing for vintage classes The Victory class sailed across the Solent today from their very own Portsmouth-based Victory Class Sailing Club which was established in 1934, the same year that the first yachts were built, to make a first ever one-day guest appearance. Posted on 19 Jul
Island SC Tuesday Evening Series Race 14
Cowes Classics Week reduces turnout Race 14 of the Evening Race Series took place on Tuesday and with a number of boats entered into Cowes Classics Week the turnout was down. Posted on 19 Jul
Charles Stanley Direct Cowes Classics Week day 2
Black flags versus clean starts on Henri Lloyd Race Day Perfect conditions provided a recipe for spectacular racing. 12 to 14 knots of breeze blowing steadily from the east were the ingredients for the starts of today's Henri Lloyd Race Day, on the four committee boat courses in the mid-Solent. Posted on 18 Jul
Charles Stanley Direct Cowes Classics Week day 1
Mixed fortunes on the opening day The opening Winkworth Race Day of the 10th Charles Stanley Direct Cowes Classics Week witnessed a huge mixture of fortunes in today's (Monday) light airs which saw winds constantly shifting, presenting a mixture of fortunes across the competing fleets. Posted on 17 Jul