Please select your home edition
Plas Menai 2015

Laser Open at London Corinthian Sailing Club

by Simon Hills on 3 Oct 2012 30 September 2012
Lasers at London Corinthian © Penny Evans

Following the open at Island Barn on Saturday September 29, 21 sailors competed at London Corinthian Sailing Club in Hammersmith the next day in the only tidal open meeting on the Thames Valley Laser circuit.

The tide got to most of the fleet for the first of three races as they pressed for a good start in a brisk south westerly and there was little surprise when the general recall flag was raised. The second attempt was relatively clear, with only an individual recall for a couple of offenders, the reservoir boys had no problems with the tide carrying up the windward leg, or deciding when to cross the river against the tide to make for the gybe marks. Daniel Francis from Papercourt – winner of last year's LCSC Open – led the first lap, with John Peck, from Silverwing, second. Jim Fifield from Queen Mary was third but eventually overhauled John to finish second. In fourth place was Phil Robin from LCSC.

These four continued to dominate in the subsequent two races, although in the second race local sailor Clive Kitson came second, behind Daniel Francis, forcing John Peck into third and Jim Fifield behind Phil Robin in fifth in what was a quick one-lap dash.

The Queen Mary sailor dominated the third race, though, leading all the way with John Peck second, Phil Robin third and Daniel Francis fourth. With his two bullets Daniel had done enough for a deserved win, with Jim Fifield in second place and John Peck third overall.

The Radials too enjoyed close racing, but again it was a visitor who took the honours. Simon Hamment from Papercourt came first, with LCSC Rear Commodore Dinghies Andre Gareh second and Richard Thomas from Papercourt third.

Overall Results:

Standard Fleet
1. Daniel Francis, Papercourt
2. Jim Fifield, Queen Mary
3. John Peck, Silverwing
4. Phil Robin, London Corinthian
5. Clive Kitson, London Corinthian

Radial Fleet
1. Simon Hamment, Papercourt
2. Andre Gareh, London Corinthian
3. Richard Thomas, Papercourt

Related Articles

World Cup Series at Gamagori, Japan overall
Typhoon Lan approaches as five more champions crowned Five more World Cup Series Japan champions were decided in Gamagori as the inaugural World Sailing event in the land of the rising came to a close. Posted on 22 Oct
World Cup Series at Gamagori, Japan day 5
Typhoon approaches as first medals decided The first medallists at the inaugural World Cup Series event in Japan have been decided after a wet Saturday in Gamagori. Posted on 21 Oct
World Cup Series at Gamagori, Japan day 4
First set of sailors book Medal Race places The line-up for the first set of Live Medal Races, on Saturday 21 October, were confirmed today at the World Cup Series Japan in Gamagori. Posted on 20 Oct
Lasers at Hayling Island
Noble Marine Autumn Qualifier 2 The second of the Autumn Qualifiers returned to Hayling Island SC last weekend, with the Laser 4.7 ladder running alongside making for a crowded beach but lively atmosphere, even if the weather was mostly overcast. Posted on 19 Oct
World Cup Series at Gamagori, Japan day 3
Japanese sailing legacy born Another frustrating day at World Cup Series Japan, as the wind never really materialised meaning that no racing took place across any of the eight Olympic events present in Gamagori. Posted on 19 Oct
World Cup Series at Gamagori, Japan day 2
World Champions come to the forefront Current World Champions in five Olympic sailing events are coming to the forefront and shining after two challenging days of light breeze at Sailing's World Cup Series Japan in Gamagori. Posted on 18 Oct
World Cup Series at Gamagori, Japan day 1
Sailors battle on light wind, wet opening day Olympic medallists, World Champions and Continental titleholders were all battling at the front of the packs on a wet and light wind opening day of Sailing's 2017-18 World Cup Series in Gamagori, Japan. Posted on 17 Oct
Japanese racing fortnight
Kicks off with World Cup Gamagori Olympians, World and European Champions are among a streamlined British Sailing Team entry to this week's World Cup Series event in Gamagori, Japan (17-22 October). Posted on 16 Oct
Pressure on Japanese team
At first ever home World Cup Series event Japan's sailors racing at their first ever home World Cup Series event will not only have to deal with the weight of expectation from their nation, but also the pressure of selection trials for the 2018 Japanese Sailing Team. Posted on 16 Oct
2017-18 World Cup Series opener
290 sailors from 40 nations set in Gamagori, Japan Gamagori, Japan will play host to the opening event of Sailing's 2017-18 World Cup Series with more than 290 world class sailors from 40 nations ready to race across eight classes from 15-22 October. Posted on 13 Oct