Please select your home edition
Rooster Sailing - Aquafleece Leaderboard

Budworth Scott Trophy Open Icebreaker Series - Round 4

by Roger Gardner on 27 Mar 2012 25 March 2012

Jack Banks and Penny Jeffcoate win in their Scorpion

Sunday saw the last 3 races in this year’s Scott Trophy Open Ice Breaker Series and whereas the first 3 races of the Series saw strong winds, hail storms and multiple capsizes yesterday was blessed with a modest zephyr and much slapping on of sun cream!

17 boats took to the water and it was a day of close racing. In the first race, coming out on top was the visiting Albacore of Paul Smith and Tom Williams, in second the Budworth RS200 of Tony Wilcox followed in third place by the visiting Streaker of Ray Woods.

In the second race first and second were the Budworth RS200s of Jon Chapman and Russell and Vicky Page respectively, with the Smith/Wiiliams Albacore in third, the other visiting Albacore of Matthew and Paul Metcalf Smith coming in 5th..

In the last race the Budworth Lasers of Ben Ditchburn and Harry Brown were first and third, with Tony Wilcox claiming another second place.

Mark Cleary again sailed all 3 races and is the only entrant who can say he sailed every race of the Series, finishing 12th overall!

Overall the winners of the Series were the visiting pairing of Jack Banks and Penny Jeffcoate in their Scorpion, sailing amazingly well to score 5 wins and a second in the first 6 races. As it was 4 races to count this gave them a pretty much unassailable lead, the only potential challenge coming from the Budworth Snipe of Eric Pallman.

All in all a successful series and a big thankyou to all our visitors, Budworth hopes you enjoyed your visits.

Overall 36 boats sailed at least one race with 18 sailing sufficient races to qualify.

Overall Results: (top ten)

  1. Jack Banks and Penny Jeffcoate, Scorpion
  2. Eric Paalman, Snipe
  3. Russell and Vicky Page, RS200
  4. Nick Deveraux, Topper
  5. Jon Chapman, RS200
  6. Tony Wilcox, RS200
  7. Ian Savell, Fireball
  8. Harry Brown, Laser
  9. Pauline Penny, Snipe
  10. Stephen Hayward, Firefly

The next Visitors Open is the Easter Monday Open Pursuits, 2 races open to all monohulls with a PY of 986 to 1200, first race 12 noon.

The entry fee for visitors is £5 for single handers, £8 for crewed boats payable on the day to the galley.

For details of the club's location etc. go to