Please select your home edition
P&B 2016 April - Leadeboard

Laser Open at Papercourt Sailing Club

by James Dickinson on 25 Mar 2012 24 March 2012
Lasers at Papercourt © Mike Dickinson

Stunning sunshine and just enough breeze provided unexpectedly Mediterranean like conditions for the 25 boats contesting the Papercourt Sailing Club Laser Open Meeting held on 24 March 2012, generously sponsored by Guildford Marine.

The fleet got away cleanly for the first start of the day with 2010 winner, Rob Hardwick, leading at the windward mark from James Dickinson. Hardwick went on to win from Daniel Francis who had come through the field well to just edge out Jadok Gerber from Tamesis. In the combined Radial/4.7 fleet, Sue Michelmore won from Anne Robinson in second and Peter Howe close in third.

Race 2 saw a major wind shift on the start line but Principal Race Office, Martin Smith, held his nerve and rightly so as the wind duly swung back for the gun and increased slightly to make for a great race. At the front, the leading boats were close throughout with Gerber coming out on top to win from Sam Tozer second and Julia Beck third with Hardwick close behind. Michelmore again took the Radial/4.7 win with Robinson in second.

After a break ashore for some much needed refreshment, the fleet headed back out for the final two races. In race 3, Tozer went one better than his second before lunch to take the bullet from Francis who learnt the lesson of his OCS in race 2 to not be one of a number of boats at the pin end over at the start. Hardwick came home third, which meant any of Hardwick, Francis, Gerber or Tozer could win overall going into the final race. Meanwhile, in the Radials/4.7s, Michelmore took her third win of the day to mean she was unbeatable overall with a race to spare.

Race 4 saw Richard Guy first around the windward mark closely pursued by Hardwick and Paul Robinson from Datchet. Guy and Hardwick battled throughout with Guy eventually coming out on top for a well deserved win. Behind them, Robinson chased hard and took third from Dickinson. Francis could only manage fifth and Tozer sixth meaning that Hardwick had done enough to secure overall victory with Tozer beating Francis on a tie-break to finish second overall. Gerber was first visitor in fourth overall with Julia Beck pipping Dickinson for fifth.

Many thanks go to Guildford Marine for donating terrific prizes and helping make the event a great success.

The Papercourt Open was the second event of the 2012 Thames Valley Traveller Series sponsored by Rooster Sailing. The next event is Wembley S.C. (Welsh Harp) on 17 June so plenty of time to practice.

Overall Results:

PositionNameSail NoClassClubR1R2R3R4Pts
Standard Fleet
1Rob Hardwick190613StdPapercourt14337
2Sam Tozer1StdPapercourt92169
3Daniel Francis186042StdPapercourt2OCS259
4Jadok Gerber39245StdTamesis3110711
5Julia Beck178206StdPapercourt434811
6James Dickinson175757StdPapercourt565414
7Paul Robinson186034StdDatchet85OCS215
8Richard Guy163086StdPapercourt15713121
9Graham Howlett193251StdFrensham6814923
10Waldek Mickiewicz189134StdSilverwing711121129
Radial/4.7s Fleet
1Sue Michelmore182221RadialPapercourt11113
2Matthew Walmsley1982964.7Datchet43227
3Anne Robinson173517RadialPapercourt22DNCDNC9

Related Articles

Corozal Bay Regatta
And world-class Technical Training Course The pleasant breeze within the protected bay of Corozal Town was ideal for youth sailing as the Corozal Bay Regatta got underway on last Saturday. Posted on 21 Jul
Still time to take part
In the tenth RYA Sailbility Multiclass Regatta With just over two weeks to go until RYA Sailability Multiclass Regatta returns to Rutland Sailing Club (5-6 August), organisers are reminding disabled sailors that it's not too late to sign up to compete. Posted on 20 Jul
Lasers at Fishers Green
Parents join their kids on the water Saturday the 15th of July saw a combined Laser and Cadet open at Fishers Green Sailing Club. A number of parents who brought their children to the Cadet open decided to either bring their own Laser or charter a club one. Posted on 18 Jul
Whitstable Yacht Club LaserFest '17
Racing, an amazing BBQ and some amusing banter LaserFest was conceived as a weekend of tight Laser racing and great socials with the objective of getting as many WYC Lasers on the water as possible. Posted on 18 Jul
Laser Masters National Championships
Sponsored by Wildwind and LaserPerformance The Radial Masters completed their Nationals with a host of boats in great form. The fleet has now become the global dominant force with World & European Champions across all of the age categories however a new force has been threatening to emerge. Posted on 12 Jul
Flying Fifteens and Lasers at Bassenthwaite
An adequate supply of shifty wind on both days Due to National Park restrictions, Open Meetings on Bassenthwaite Lake often need to be combined - albeit with separate fleet starts and with individual Notices of Race to suit a specific class. Posted on 9 Jul
Craftinsure Laser Connaught Championship
Two days of great sailing in Wexford Harbour Two days of great sailing took place in Wexford Harbour on 1st and 2nd July with full rig, Radial and 4.7 fleets competing in the Craftinsure Laser Connaughts. Posted on 8 Jul
Alan and Nicholas claim next two spots
On the 2018 ilovesailing calendar Alan Jenkins from West Kirby, Wirral and Nick Wake from Hartley Wintney, Hampshire, have secured the next two spots on the 2018 ilovesailing calendar, leaving just four more places up for grabs. Posted on 8 Jul
'Big Monday' at Parkstone
48 Lasers answer the call It has become a tradition amongst Laser sailors at Parkstone that one of the regular Monday night sailing sessions be deemed, 'Big Monday'. The idea behind the title is to encourage as many people as possible onto the water. Posted on 7 Jul
The World Sailing Show - July 2017
How the America's Cup was won and more This month's World Sailing Show comes from the heart of the 35th America's Cup, Bermuda where this beautiful mid Atlantic island put on a show like no other. Flying Cup boats, Superyachts, the J-Class and the Youth America's Cup pulled the crowds. Posted on 6 Jul