Please select your home edition
Marine Resources 2017 728x90

Lymington River Scow Nationals at Royal Lymington Yacht Club

by Ann Brunskill 11 Jul 2011 17:01 BST 2-3 July 2011
Lymington River Scow nationals © Ann Brunskill

Twenty-eight boats participated in the 15th LR Scow Class Association National Championships at the RLymYC on the weekend of 2nd and 3rd July. The competitors were blessed with wall to wall sunshine and gentle breezes on both days and, due to the skill of the race officer Toffer Blachford ,did not have to hang around too long for the sea breeze on Sunday. Racing was keen in all five races and the single handed class was hotly contested with the final result being decided on who had the lower discard, both Robbie Claridge and Mike Urwin having won two races and come second in two!

The double handed and the juniors started at together, this format having proved successful in previous years, as it gives the juniors something to work for and keeps the adults on their mettle. All the races were won by the same juniors so a separate prize for the adults was much appreciated.

There were only two incidents; one protest and one capsize. On finding he was heading straight to another boat due to gear failure the competitor decided to capsize rather than hit it. He then righted the boat and completed the race and should be complemented on his seamanship.

The single handed class was won by Robbie Claridge in ‘Scrumpy II’, second was Mike Urwin sailing ‘Nutshell’, and third Cathy Ashe-Vie sailing ‘Black Magic’. The double handed class was won by Dubbie Robinson with crew Ann Blacoe sailing ‘Clarissa’, Christine Hughes crewed by her husband David in ‘The Saucy Mrs Flobster’ was second with Jayne and Peter Burchell third sailing ‘Sky’. The junior fleet was won by Henry Marsh crewed by Freddy Collings in ‘Stormy Haven’, with Henry’s brother James crewed by Beth Milledge in ‘Challenger II’ second and Will Davies and Charlie Dodd in ‘Haven Sent’ third.

Annie Littlejohn presented the prizes and Mike Urwin gave a vote of thanks to the Royal Lymington Yacht Club for hosting the event.

Overall Results:

Single Handed Fleet

PosBoat NameSail NoHelmClubR1R2R3R4R5Pts
1stScrumpy II439Robert ClaridgeRLymYC212-316
2ndNutshell424Mike UrwinRLymYC12-5126
3rdBlack Magic393Cathy Ash-vieRLymYC-4332311
4thSmartie505Chris Cecil-WrightKeyhaven YC-8414413
5thLucy382Angus RabyRLymYC3-745618
6thCharisma485Neil McGrigorRLymYC6566-823
7thBoo324Jermey AustinRLymYC7-1379528
8thZacyntha473Sebastian ChamberlainRLymYC5118-14731
9thJester379Melissa CarrellRLymYC-136981033
10thNorthern Dipper344Zissa DavidsonRLymYC-129107935
11thBobbin292Richard TromansKeyhaven YC108-12101139
12thPiccinin367Andrew PearsonRLymYC9101313-1445
13thGoshawk315Chris KnoxRLymYC-141214121351
14thSkedaddle408Chris HarrisRLymYC11(DSQ)11DNCDNC58
15thScorchin489John EvansRLymYC(DNC)DNCDNC111259
16thTubby493Charles NicholsonRLymYC(DNC)DNCDNCDNCDNC72
16thFlying Turtle321Chris WillardRLymYC(DNC)DNCDNCDNCDNC72

Double Handed Fleet

PosBoat NameSail NoHelmCrewClubR1R2R3R4R5Pts
1stStormy Haven427Henry MarshFreddy CollingsRLymYC1-21114
2ndChallenger II455James MarshBeth MilledgeRLymYC313-529
3rdClarissa300Dubbie RobbinsonAnn BlacoeRLymYC25-62312
4thHaven Sent467Will DaviesCharlie DoddRLymYC4626-718
5thThe Saucy Mrs Flobster275Christine HughesDavid HughesKeyhaven YC834-9621
6thSky420Jayne BurchellPeter BurchellRLymYC64-97421
7thAnnie432John TurnerMarigold DeJonghKeyhaven YC7774-825
8thSpindrift339Stephen BoydHarry BLTSC910-133527
9thThank Havens484Will SmithAlex KermishRLymYC595-11928
10thSelkie495Dunlop StewartDiana StewartRLymYC-108881034
11thCoracle353Alan HillMegan HillRLymYC-111110101142
12thSnoopy282Meriel McCarthyDavid LinesHCSC12-1311131248
13thScott Bailer (Valmai)287Sue SutherlandSarah UnsworthRLymYC-131212121349