Please select your home edition
Spinlock - Adventure Proof - 728x90

Endeavour Trophy at Royal Corinthian Yacht Club, Burnham

by Gael Pawson on 13 Oct 2008 11-12 October 2008

Fourth Endeavour title for Craig

Nick Craig and Toby Lewis have won the Dinghy champion of champions event, the Endeavour Trophy, in Burnham over the weekend.

With Topper boosting the event with their sponsorship of the boats, and last minute prize sponsorship fund from Musto, a total of 30 boats (the maximum entry) contested the title, which was held in light wind conditions. For Craig the win is his fourth Endeavour title, making him undoubtedly one of the country's top dinghy sailors.

Musto provided a prize fund of £1000 for the event, £500 for the John Merricks Sailing Trust and £500 to the winner.

Meanwhile, staunch supporters of the Endeavour for many years now, Topper provided the Xenon dinghies for all the competitors, which helped the event to achieve its maximum entry for the first time for many years - showing how well the event has recovered, recapturing its rightful status as THE trophy to win.

Watch out for a full report in the December issue of Yachts and Yachting Magazine, which also includes our famous dinghy racing classes review.

Overall Results:

PosSail NoClassHelmCrewR1R2R3R4R5R6Pts
111B14Nick CraigToby Lewis5121116
222RS 200Roger GilbertJane Willan114145216
34National 12Graham CammZoe Ballantyne437373124
42EnterpriseTim SadlerRichard Sault7193122529
517GP14Ian DobsonAndy Tunnicliffe1552163138
62449erJohn PinkRick Peacock37121433139
720EuropeChris GillJon Gill28161911441
827FireballDavid WadeBen McGrane16942163147
93CometIan CoppenhallMark Coppenhall101598103152
106FireflyPaul KameenSteve Tylecote156131193154
1128StreakerSteve CockerillKeri Harris121782017660
1229RS 600Christian ReynoldsTim Miller91269243160
1325CherubPeter BartonOlivier Vidal142113143162
1419OspreyMartin CooneyJon Gorringe1811156143164
1526RS 700Paul BaylissJane Olive22141013123171
1612HornetMike HartDuncan West192117783172
1718PicoDan HendersonBruce Spratt8222010183178
187Laser 2000Rob BurridgeAmy Hulley1716195223179
1913RS FevaTim GrattonChris Taylor6261815153180
2023VortexIan EscrittBen Rayner13102217193181
211MirrorEmma BarryDave Gibbons20202116133190
2214Musto SkiffRichard StenhouseKit Stenhouse21181418213192
235SupernovaMike GibsonKeith Bond241324232031104
2421Laser 4.7Olly PorterBen Harden25242826293106
2515CadetArthur HendersonWill Henderson232323242331116
269OKTerry CurtisChris Downham272925222531128
2710ISONeil AshbyGraham Oliver302829252631138
2816LightningJonathan PakesRichard Pakes262727312731138
298LarkChristopher FishBeth Condie292526313031141
3030Laser EPSMatthew JonesAndrew Jones283031272831144

Related Articles

Be part of the 125th Anniversary Celebration
Of competitive sailing in Burnham Week Burnham Week, which runs from August Bank Holiday Saturday offers a challenging week of tidal racing set in complex waters supported by a plethora of special venues and social support which could provide your class with a fantastic end of year. Posted on 24 Feb
The RCYC Snow Globe
A very mild and still December day The final day of the Snow Globe series saw 14 entrants taking part on a very mild and still December day. With the top 3 places very close, it was all to play for. Posted on 13 Dec 2016
Burnham Brass Monkey End of Season Race
Weather apt for the occasion at Royal Corinthian YC Saturday 12th November saw 26 of our hardiest Otters take part in the traditional end of season Brass Monkey Race and the weather certainly proved apt for the occasion. Posted on 22 Nov 2016
Squib Last Chance Regatta at Burnham
A foul tide for Foulness The Squib Last Chance Regatta is traditionally held two weeks after the Inland Championships. The event was conceived with the aim of encouraging the travellers to re-launch for the last few weeks of the Autumn Series. Posted on 18 Oct 2016
Champion of Champions Endeavour Trophy overall
Olympians retain the trophy after some tough sailing Ben Saxton and Toby Lewis (Nacra 17) once again won the Endeavour Championship after some epic sailing hosted by the Royal Corinthian Yacht Club, Burnham-on-Crouch, thus successfully defending the title they lifted in 2015. Posted on 9 Oct 2016
Champion of Champions Endeavour Trophy day 1
Brilliant sailing in light conditions at Burnham Ben Saxton and Toby Lewis, the wild card Olympian entry representing the Nacra 17 class, fought hard to be the overnight leader after four races (two firsts, a second and a seventh place) of the planned eight races for the Endeavour Trophy. Posted on 8 Oct 2016
Endeavour Trophy gets underway in Burnham
Training day essentials ahead of the weekend The Endeavour Trophy started today with competitors attending the on-shore training briefing followed by multiple short training races throughout the afternoon. Posted on 7 Oct 2016
Allen supports Endeavour Trophy
'Champion of Champions' event starts on Friday Allen Brothers, the Essex based manufacturer of high performance sailing hardware is increasing its support for the 2016 Endeavour Trophy, the "Champion of Champions" event taking place at Royal Corinthian Yacht Club at Burnham on Crouch on 7-9 October. Posted on 4 Oct 2016
RS200 Great Eastern Tour at Burnham
Final event of Fox's Marine and Country series What a great weekend! A big thank you to Edwin and the race team for running the last leg of the Fox's Marine and Country RS200 Great Eastern Tour. The series started in Waldringfield back in April and this was the last of six events. Posted on 29 Sep 2016
Great Eastern RS200 Travellers Series Round Up
Sponsored by Fox's Marine and Country This year was the first year of an official RS200 Eastern Travellers series with sponsorship through National 12 star Tom Stewart's Fox's Marine and Country in Ipswich and a programme arranged rather at the last minute. Posted on 28 Sep 2016