Please select your home edition
Edition app (top)

RYA Womens Winter Challenge Match Racing Championship

by Karenza Morton, RYA on 25 Feb 2008 22-24 February 2008

Leroy seals third Women’s Winter Challenge crown

World number one Claire Leroy lived up to her billing as the clear event favourite as she produced a faultless display to regain the RYA Women’s Winter Challenge Match Racing Championship crown this weekend (22-24 February).

Leroy, who was named the ISAF World Sailor of the Year in November following her World and European match racing titles in 2007, made light work of a world class field at Queen Mary Sailing Club to tie up her third Championship victory without losing a race over the three days.

The Frenchwoman won her first Women’s Winter Challenge Championship in 2005 and successfully defended her crown the following year before relinquishing the title last year as Finland’s Silja Lehtinen pulled off a superb Finals win.

But this time it was Lehtinen, one of six of the top 10 ranked females in world match racing battling it out at Queen Mary, who was forced to settle for second spot as Leroy’s immaculate series left the rest of the field in her wake.

A tough opening day saw several of the sailors finding themselves swimming in the icy waters of Queen Mary as huge gusts from a range of directions made conditions difficult.

But the quality of the field shone through in the end as World number nine Linda Rahm (SWE) secured third spot.

Meanwhile, fourth place for Skandia Team GBR’s Lucy Macgregor ensured she finished the top placed Brit at Queen Mary qualifying her to represent Great Britain in the ISAF Nations Cup later this year.

Leroy’s victory has now qualified her for the RYA Winter Challenge Match Racing Series Grand Final at Queen Mary from Friday 7 – Sunday 9 March where the winners and runners-up from all the Series qualifiers over this winter are scheduled to battle it out for the overall title.

RYA Women’s Winter Challenge Match Racing Championship final results:

  1. Claire Leroy (FRA), Morgane Gautier, Claire Peuvot, Elodie Bertrand, Marcie Riou
  2. Silja Lehtinen (FIN), Erica Backstrom, Maria Kiemetz, Vivi Fleming-Lehtinen, Livia Varesmaa
  3. Linda Rahm (SWE), Helena Barne, Marie O’berg, Lotta Harrysson, Annika Olsson
  4. Lucy Macgregor (GBR), Annie Lush, Mary Rook, Sue Monson, Sophie Esson
  5. Jenny Axhede (SWE), Nina Bake, Johanna Sarnia, Malin Svedmyr, Annika Carlunger
  6. Camilla Ulrikkeholm (DEN), Christel Jappe Teglers, Nathalia Nyeland, Signe Fabricius Eggenksen, Joan Vestergaard Hansen
  7. Silke Hahlbrock (GER), Maren Hahlbrock, Marian Rammed, Kerstin Schult, Jody Slater
  8. Gemma Farrell (GBR), Lucy Burn, Imogen Wellington, Charlotte Laurence, Lauren Martel
  9. Josie Gibson (GBR), Jo Ryley, Bex Marriot, Barbara Watson, Rachel Larman
  10. Lotte Meldgaard Pederson (DEN), Christina Refu, Inge Ebbensgoard, Kristina Stenstrom, Mia Nielson

Related Articles

New Caledonia Match Race overall
Home team win for the first time The New Caledonian Team of Cyril Fortin, Kim Goetz and Félipé Minier have won the Aircalin Match Racing Cup. The Cercle Nautique Calédonien have run this event since 2012 and until now Australian or New Zealand teams have always won. Not this year! Posted on 15 Aug
New Caledonia Match Race day 3
Semi final line-up almost complete Three Caledonians have qualified for the semi finals; Cyril Fortin, Tugdual Piriou and Tom Picot, the name of the fourth will be known tomorrow morning but it will be a New Zealander. Posted on 14 Aug
New Caledonia Match Race day 1
Local team takes the lead after 39 matches 39 Matches were raced today in an oscillating wind of 10/12 kts sliding at the end of the day. At the end of the first round Robin the local Cyril Fortin is first! Posted on 13 Aug
Chicago to host American Stopover
In the World Match Racing Tour The fifth championship level stop on the 2017 World Match Racing Tour will take place September 26th-October 1st on the Chicago lakeshore in front of Navy Pier. Posted on 13 Aug
Lysekil Women's Match overall
Dutch Olympian Renée Groeneveld and her crew win Dutch Olympian Renée Groeneveld and her crew won Lysekil Women's Match, the 2nd stop on the 2017 WIM Series, by beating Pauline Courtois, FRA, 3 – 1 in Saturday's final: "My crew did a very good job today, to keep the boat going." Posted on 12 Aug
Lysekil Women's Match day 4
6 repechage matches work well for Anna Östling World #1 Anna Östling won the Swedish battle against Caroline Sylvan in their Lysekil Women's Match Quarter-Final. Trine Palludan (DEN), Pauline Courtois (FRA) and Renée Groeneveld (NED) follow Östling to Saturday's Semi-Final. Posted on 11 Aug
Lysekil Women's Match day 3
Four teams punch tickets for quarters In bright sunshine and shifty westerly winds, the round-robin stage of the Lysekil Women's Match concluded Thursday afternoon. Trine Palludan of the Royal Danish Yacht Club took nine matches to win Posted on 10 Aug
Lysekil Women's Match day 2
Palludan keeps on winning in windy Lysekil The wind, the spectators and finally also the sunshine, came to Lysekil Women's Match, the 2nd event on the 2017 WIM Series, on Wednesday. Trine Palludan from the Royal Danish Yacht Club picked up another couple of matches, and is still undefeated. Posted on 9 Aug
Lysekil Women's Match day 1
A slow start to racing in Sweden The second stop of the 2017 WIM Series saw a dramatically different day from the blustery practice day on Monday. Very light and shifty winds led to postponements, long waiting and fewer matches than scheduled. Posted on 9 Aug
WMRT Match Cup Russia overall
Robertson finds more gold at the end of his rollercoaster  After a week of ups and downs, a couple of bad hooks and a few close shaves, it was business as usual for super smooth Phil Robertson and his CHINAone Ningbo team as they beat Sam Gilmour's Neptune Racing team 3-0 in the final of WMRT Match Cup Russia. Posted on 6 Aug