New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: When is a start mark not a start mark?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

When is a start mark not a start mark?

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
Stefan Lloyd View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 03 Aug 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1599
Post Options Post Options   Quote Stefan Lloyd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: When is a start mark not a start mark?
    Posted: 03 Jun 05 at 5:29pm

Originally posted by Garry

Although you don't have to give room at a starting mark you may have to observe a 'proper course' depending on how any overlap was established

All that stuff goes out of the window inside the 2BL circle and rule 18 takes over. See RRS 18.1.  

Back to Top
Stefan Lloyd View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 03 Aug 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1599
Post Options Post Options   Quote Stefan Lloyd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jun 05 at 5:34pm

Originally posted by ChrisJ

Is there still a rule about "not sailing above your proper course once the start gun has gone"?.

No. The only limitation I can think of stopping you sailing above you proper course is 17.1 which stops a boat overtaking from astern and then luffing above proper course. However inside the 2BL circle, rule 18 takes over anyway.

Back to Top
Garry View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 18 Apr 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 536
Post Options Post Options   Quote Garry Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jun 05 at 7:29pm
Originally posted by Stefan Lloyd

Originally posted by ChrisJ

Is there still a rule about "not sailing above your proper course once the start gun has gone"?.


No. The only limitation I can think of stopping you sailing above you proper course is 17.1 which stops a boat overtaking from astern and then luffing above proper course. However inside the 2BL circle, rule 18 takes over anyway.



Rule 18 does not apply at a starting mark surrounded by navigable water see 18.1(a). Is this misconception about 2BL at starting marks what causes all the problem on the water?

Edited by Garry
Garry

Lark 2252, Contender 298

www.cuckoos.eclipse.co.uk
Back to Top
Stefan Lloyd View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 03 Aug 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1599
Post Options Post Options   Quote Stefan Lloyd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Jun 05 at 7:12am
You are quite right and that is what I said in the first place. However last night I seemed to have a blond moment about it. Or a senior moment. I just about qualify to have both.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy