New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Oppostie Gybes, leeward Mark
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Oppostie Gybes, leeward Mark

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 678
Author
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Oppostie Gybes, leeward Mark
    Posted: 01 Jul 10 at 3:37pm
1 Brass - mea culpa - I should have said Case 63. Comes of writing too early in the morning

2 Damp Freddie still appears confused about the fundamental difference between a boat entitled to mark room and a ROW boat, and that a boat can be both as they enter the zone then lose right of way whilst in the zone.

3 A late port tack boat will often find room available, any boat entitled to mark room may try to close the door at the mark (subject to rule 14), but is often unable to do so.

4 A boat may still have an entitlement to mark room when she has passed the mark, however this entitlement has little practical value as mark room by definition does not have any existence once a boat ceases to be "at the mark".

Gordon
Gordon
Back to Top
damp_freddie View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work
Avatar

Joined: 20 Oct 05
Location: Aruba
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 339
Post Options Post Options   Quote damp_freddie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Jul 10 at 8:14pm
Originally posted by Peaky

I have huge difficulty picturing the scenarios you are discussing, so can't contribute on the 'legal' front, but Damp Freddie's argument seems to be based upon boats like the 400 sailing hot angles for their proper course.  This seems fraught with danger becasue who determines what 'hot angle' is proper and quickest?   It seems simpler to me to say that if a boat is entitled to room (but is not ROW boat) they must sail directly towards the mark irrespective of whether that is the fastest mode of sailing.


No it is based upon coming in as a sole starboard boat to an LM, while all other boats affected are on port. Case 25 illustrates it well, while the angles of brasses lone boat are more exact to my meaning on the stb boat.

It is an interplay between rules 10,11,12 the principle rules, and 18 and that is what I was interested in stimulating debate which has been interesting.

While you are right of way boat you can expect that Port boats avoid you by going wider and they must allow you to gybe before you round (or at rounding)

My final summary of this rant is

1) as long as you stay in the three boat zone, upwind of the LM, on STB you can push port boats wide who you are inside overlapped to or clear ahead of.

2) after you gybe you must, as gordon repeats and the rules state, sail to the mark, and not sail farther than needed ie downwind of an LM in brass's diag.

3) you have to obey rule 16.1 in hearding port boats wide and in gybing: remember your stern will swing, you have to give them room to keep clear

4) if as JimC points out, you leave a big door for port boats behind the one(s) you were hearding out the way, then expect rule 14 to apply. If they take the space while you are wide then if they can get away with it so be it. Done it a couple of times under older rules, but more often sailed round "car parks" wide.


Next...bring back "mast a-beam" anyone?

WOOF!
Back to Top
asterix View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 01 Aug 09
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 621
Post Options Post Options   Quote asterix Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Jul 10 at 8:39pm

Originally posted by Lukepiewalker

That's what it does say.

No it doesn't.  Maybe you haven't been following the thread.  That is the common interpretation, but it does not seem to be accepted by everyone here. 

And there are still various undefined terms - as yet another example when in the diagram above does the boat pass the mark?  how is past the mark defined?



Edited by asterix
Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Jul 10 at 9:14pm
damp freddie said: as long as you stay in the three boat zone, upwind of the LM, on STB you can push port boats wide who you are inside overlapped to or clear ahead of.

No - 18.4 clearly states that an inside overlapped ROW boat shall sail no further than her proper course lgybing. Nothing abou staying in the zone... If STB boat leaves the zone she is no longer entitled to mark room (but may still be ROW). NB 18.4 does not apply to a boat that is clear ahead - if you go wide clear astern boat will probably gybe inside you, and ( if you are still ROW, you won't be able to close the door without breaking rule 16.

The important thing to realise is that 18.2b only gives a limited entitlement, and ROW can be lost during the mark rounding.

Gordon
PS The moment when a boat is passed the mark is nnot defined in the rules because it depends entirely on the conditions. A boat is past the mark when the course she is steering is no longer influenced by the need to pass the mark. In many cases this is when the mark is behind a line abeam from the aftermost point of the boat. However, in certain conditions of tide and wind this may be a long way after this point.




Gordon
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jul 10 at 12:40am

Originally posted by JimC

Originally posted by Brass

Why do you say that a boat loses an entitlement to mark-room to sail to the mark when she has passed the mark

'cos the definition says room to sail [directly] to the mark, room to sail proper course at the mark, but nothing once the boat is past the mark. Once you are past the mark its back to normal RRS. After all, why would you need mark room past the mark? The point of it is to enable you to get there... .
No, the definition of mark-room does not say anything about when a boat is entitled to it.

See Gordon's further explanation in his post of 2 Jul 2010 02:37am

'4 A boat may still have an entitlement to mark room when she has passed the mark, however this entitlement has little practical value as mark room by definition does not have any existence once a boat ceases to be "at the mark".'

Originally posted by JimC


Originally posted by Brass

Won't a late arriving port tacker have been Outside boat when Y first reached the zone and thus owe Y mark-room

For sure, but if Y doesn't need the room as late arriver passes the mark then they can cut the corner. But as the case says its at their own risk: if they obstruct Y in any way whatsoever they have to take the appropriate penalty.

I still have happy memories of nipping inside a huge raft of virtually stationary boats at Weston one time with no rights whatsoever, happilly agreeing with the complaints that yes, we have no rights at all, but as we're not impeding you in any way we haven't broken any rules.

Yup, got that thanks.

Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jul 10 at 12:45am

Originally posted by gordon

3 A late port tack boat will often find room available, any boat entitled to mark room may try to close the door at the mark (subject to rule 14), but is often unable to do so.

4 A boat may still have an entitlement to mark room when she has passed the mark, however this entitlement has little practical value as mark room by definition does not have any existence once a boat ceases to be "at the mark".

Gordon

3.  Still early morning there I see:  ITYM rule 16?

4.  Thanks, that's the way I see it too, but, of course, once the boat begins to sail _to_ the mark, or arrives _at_ the mark again, then her mark-room once again becomes meaningful.

Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jul 10 at 6:10pm
re 3 At the mark - as long as boat is sailing her proper course rule the boat entitled to mark room will be exonerated if she breaks a rule of section A or rule 15 or 16. However, rule 14 will, as always, apply.

One cannot be exonerated for breaking rule 14, however, sometimes, there is no penalty for breaking the rule.

re 4 I think the point was that the entitlement to mark room has no practical value once a boat has rounded the mark. The entitlment does not continue from when she has passed the mark until she leaves the zone.

Gordon
Gordon
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 678

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy