New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Drifting onto bouy whilst mast isin the w
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Drifting onto bouy whilst mast isin the w

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
Rupert View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 11 Aug 04
Location: Whitefriars sc
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 8956
Post Options Post Options   Quote Rupert Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Drifting onto bouy whilst mast isin the w
    Posted: 28 Sep 09 at 4:48pm

It also used to be in the rules that if you hit a mark you had to retire. Even at the Firefly Nationals as recently as 1985 that was the case. So be thankful the rules have changed.

Does seem harsh that if you hit a mark while capsized you have to do turns, though! Shame the turns you do while trying to right the boat and having it blow over again don't count...

Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
Back to Top
Andymac View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 04 Apr 07
Location: Derbyshire
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 852
Post Options Post Options   Quote Andymac Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Sep 09 at 8:12pm

Originally posted by craiggo

Gordon, your right the modifications to the rule for RS boats only applies at RS events.

I have to say that being able to hit the marks in practice makes no difference at all to the way you sail as hitting the mark with the boat is slow.

However it does reduce the number of protests and turns as nobody is concerned if your back brushes the mark as you sail by.

I would generally agree with that. However if you squeezed into a less than ample gap that you are not entitled to (but avoided infringing other boats), and gained substantial places because of it........

Could/has that happened in the RS fleet?

What recourse could there be?  Rule 2?

Back to Top
Andymac View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 04 Apr 07
Location: Derbyshire
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 852
Post Options Post Options   Quote Andymac Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Sep 09 at 8:15pm
Originally posted by Rupert

 Shame the turns you do while trying to right the boat and having it blow over again don't count...

You might at least be able to claim one tack!

Back to Top
tack'ho View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 08 Feb 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1100
Post Options Post Options   Quote tack'ho Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Oct 09 at 5:42pm
Just a note from the Interservice team racing.  If you are forced into a mark as a result of avoiding an infringing boat (naughty Navy) you are NOT required to turn.  I blew a winning combination as I wasn't sure
I might be sailing it, but it's still sh**e!
Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Oct 09 at 11:11am
Tack'ho - not exactly true...

A boat that touches a mark having been compelled to do so by a boat that broke a rule, may, under rule 64.1 c, be exonerated from having broken rule 31 BY THE PROTEST COMMITTEE. The exoneration is not automatic.

If you are compelled to touch a mark you must protest the other boat. If you do not, and it is not established that you were compelled to hit the mark, then the only fact is that YOU broke a rule.

This also applies to team racing - it is just that the protest are dealt with immediately by the umpires.

Gordon
Gordon
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy