New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Tacking on a lee bow
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Tacking on a lee bow

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
redback View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 16 Mar 04
Location: Tunbridge Wells
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1502
Post Options Post Options   Quote redback Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Tacking on a lee bow
    Posted: 22 Jan 05 at 6:40pm

Just a thought.  Under the new rules you are not allowed to tack under a starboard tackers lee bow and then luff if you are within 2 boat lengths of the mark.  This used to be a very powerful tactical move and a good way of getting into the starboard tack layline parade without suffering from having to join it early. 

These days you can tack into a lee bow position as long as the starboard tacker does not have to luff above "close hauled" - so if he has overstood you can still do it.  But what many don't realise is that you can still do the old tactic outside the 2 boats lengths.  Beware it's still a pretty devastating move at 3 boat lengths!

Am I right?

Back to Top
redback View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 16 Mar 04
Location: Tunbridge Wells
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1502
Post Options Post Options   Quote redback Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jan 05 at 10:01pm

I've just looked up the rule,

13 WHILE TACKING

After a boat passes head to wind, she shall keep clear of other boats until she is

on a close-hauled course. During that time rules 10, 11 and 12 do not apply. .......

My interpretation is that you have to get onto a close hauled course before you can luff.  It used to be that once the sail had filled the other boat had to keep clear.



Edited by redback
Back to Top
Garry View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 18 Apr 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 536
Post Options Post Options   Quote Garry Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jan 05 at 10:46pm
Don't forget the other boat also has to have the opportunity to keep clear. Also if you have tacked into a lee bow position the overlap wasn't established from astern and so you are only allowed to luff to your proper course!

I think?

Edited by Garry
Garry

Lark 2252, Contender 298

www.cuckoos.eclipse.co.uk
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy