New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Rule 17
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Rule 17

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Henmch View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 26 Dec 15
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 18
Post Options Post Options   Quote Henmch Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Rule 17
    Posted: 02 Mar 17 at 12:12pm
rule 17 mentions a clear astern boat being overlapped within 2 hull lengths. Does this imply that if the overlap occurred initially more than 2 lengths to leward then sailing proper course rules only come into action between the boats when they come into the 2 length zone or is there another implication that I've overlooked!!!!!

Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Mar 17 at 1:01pm
Originally posted by Henmch

rule 17 mentions a clear astern boat being overlapped within 2 hull lengths. Does this imply that if the overlap occurred initially more than 2 lengths to leward then sailing proper course rules only come into action between the boats when they come into the 2 length zone or is there another implication that I've overlooked!!!!!
If a boat becomes overlapped to leeward from clear astern but NOT withing two of her hull lengths, then rule 17 does not apply at all, and will not apply even if she then comes within two hull lengths. 
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6661
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Mar 17 at 1:49pm
Proper course is greatly exaggerated for some reason. Most of the time there is no requirement to sail a proper course at all and a right of way boat can sail where she likes, and a give way boat must keep clear of her. If the ROW boat is sailing in completely the wrong direction that's tough.

The only rules that require a boat to sail a proper course are 17 and certain clauses in 18, and even then its only in specified circumstances.
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Mar 17 at 1:58pm
Originally posted by JimC

Proper course is greatly exaggerated for some reason. Most of the time there is no requirement to sail a proper course at all and a right of way boat can sail where she likes, and a give way boat must keep clear of her. If the ROW boat is sailing in completely the wrong direction that's tough.

The only rules that require a boat to sail a proper course are 17 and certain clauses in 18, and even then its only in specified circumstances.

In fact, no rules require a boat to sail her proper course.

Rule 17, if it applies, obliges a boat not to sail above her proper course.

Rule 18.4, if it applies, more or less obliges a boat to gybe onto her proper course, but does not oblige her to sail her proper course either before or after the gybe.
Back to Top
Henmch View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 26 Dec 15
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 18
Post Options Post Options   Quote Henmch Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Mar 17 at 2:04pm
Thanks,
Just to clarify the situation with an example. 
I'm sailing a downwind leg in my single handed dinghy. An asymmetric dinghy gains an overlap on me to leward at more than two boat lengths. Their proper course is much higher than mine and they are moving faster. A collision would occur if we carried on in our existing courses.
During the existence of the overlap who is the right of way boat 
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6661
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Mar 17 at 2:52pm
The leeward boat is ROW (Rule 11).

Its important to note this is always the case. Even if RRS 17 does apply the leeward boat is still the ROW boat and the only limitation is that she may not sail *above* her proper course. Brass is of course correct: ROW does't have to sail a proper course, she may sail below proper course if she chooses, she just can't sail above it.

Section B and C rules (14 to 20) do not change which boat has ROW, they just provide limitations on what the ROW boat can do.

In your example this means that the spinnaker boat may sail *her* proper course **even if RRS17 does apply**, and the windward boat must keep clear even though she would like to sail much lower.

Edited by JimC - 02 Mar 17 at 2:53pm
Back to Top
Rupert View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 11 Aug 04
Location: Whitefriars sc
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 8956
Post Options Post Options   Quote Rupert Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Mar 17 at 4:03pm
It would apply to 2 boats with the same sailing characteristics, too. One Laser decides to run DDW, another to reach, gybe, reach. If the reaching boat overlaps the DDW one and forces her off course, tough. What you can't do is overlap DDW from behind, and then decide your best course is reaching, without a damn fine reason to convince a protest committee.
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy