New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: penalty turns
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

penalty turns

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
fudheid View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work
Avatar

Joined: 21 Apr 11
Location: 51.53 N 01.28 E
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 241
Post Options Post Options   Quote fudheid Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: penalty turns
    Posted: 08 Feb 17 at 12:09pm
If two boats come together and it is a close call under the rules. Both shout protest and then one does turns to exonerate herself 'just in case' but intends to protest the other yacht is that allowable? At the protest meeting does the fact that one yacht did turns make any difference?
Cheers you

only me from over the sea......
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6661
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Feb 17 at 12:48pm
The primary job of a protest committee is to fairly establish whether any rules were broken. Any penalties that might or might not have been taken subsequently are irrelevant to that.
Only once they establish what rules were or were not broken does whether penalties were taken become important. An obvious possibility, for example, in a close situation, is that the PC finds that both boats broke rules and neither are exonerated. In that case the boat that took a penalty at the time would most likely face no further penalty, but the other one would be penalised, normally DSQ.
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Feb 17 at 1:08pm
Originally posted by fudheid

If two boats come together and it is a close call under the rules. Both shout protest and then one does turns to exonerate herself 'just in case' but intends to protest the other yacht is that allowable? At the protest meeting does the fact that one yacht did turns make any difference?
Whether a boat takes a penalty under rule 44 or not has no effect on a boat's entitlement to protest under rule 60.1.

If a protest committee concludes that a boat has broken a rule for which a penalty under rule 44 is applicable, and finds that the boat has taken a penalty in accordance with rule 44, the boat shall not be further penalised (rule 64.1( b )).

A rule 44 penalty is applicable for a breach of a rule of Part 2, When Boats Meet, or rule 31 Touching a Mark, when the boat did not cause injury or serious damage or, despite taking a penalty, gain a significant advantage, and there is no breach of sportsmanship or misconduct (rules 2 or 69).

Taking a penalty in accordance with rule 44 does not 'exonerate' a boat it just means that she shall not be further penalised.


Edited by Brass - 08 Feb 17 at 1:09pm
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy