New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Mark rounding/windward boat
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Mark rounding/windward boat

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Mark rounding/windward boat
    Posted: 03 Oct 13 at 12:09pm
Rupert - you are correct in stating that the room to be given is the room needed by the entitled boat. A Flying Dutchman on the inside will need more room than an Optimist

In the same way the zone is defined as 3 hull lengths of the boat nearer to the mark.

On the other hand when rule 17 is in operation the proper course in question is the proper course of the leeward boat.

These precisions should be enough to ensure that the rules work for mixed fleets.

In your unsuccessgul protest did you argue that the leeward, right of way boat, had an obligation, under rule 16, to give you room to keep ckear when she changed course.




Gordon
Back to Top
Rupert View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 11 Aug 04
Location: Whitefriars sc
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 8956
Post Options Post Options   Quote Rupert Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Oct 13 at 12:20pm
She had given me room, there was no collision, so that side of things was fine. I guess the question was, at what point did the rights of the leeward boat kick back in again after mark room was given. The answer, logically, was as soon as the inside boat was clear of the mark. As there was no tide, I would have been able to get clear (I think I tacked off, but too late) as soon as my transom was clear. In adverse tide, I would think that if being forced to tack off then pushes you back down onto the mark, you would still need mark room?
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
Back to Top
Presuming Ed View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 26 Feb 05
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 641
Post Options Post Options   Quote Presuming Ed Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Oct 13 at 10:18am
Leeward never lost her rights, nor obligations under 14/16.1. 

If leeward luffs in such a way that the only way you, as windward, can comply with 11 is by tacking and hitting the mark, then she has broken 16.1. 

If her luff complies with 16.1 and you have the option of luffing, sailing high and slow, but decide not to do that and tack off instead, and as a result hit the mark then you are in breach of 31. 
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy