New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Luffing rights - Proper Course - 2013 rule???
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Luffing rights - Proper Course - 2013 rule???

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 234
Author
jeffers View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3048
Post Options Post Options   Quote jeffers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Luffing rights - Proper Course - 2013 rule???
    Posted: 19 Jun 13 at 6:54am
Originally posted by ds797

So there seems to have been major thread creep!!  All good discussion.... but....

If I'm on a reach between two marks and want to overtake (yes I know the term is not used) a slightly slower boat, if I sail to windward of him does he have a right to luff me, or should he maintain his proper course to the next mark?  If I pass him to leeward can I luff him to help me pass and clear his dirty wind?

That was my original question, although I may have phrased it badly!

Thanks.

Simple...already explained but here it is:

If YOU pass to windward the leeward boat can luff you up to head to wind provided they give you time to respond and drop sails (if required).

If YOU pass to Leeward you may not sail above YOUR proper course until you are clear ahead.

Tactically the best way to overtake (depending on the length of the leg) is to try and get to be inside boat at the next mark unless you can go low enough or high enough to minimise the effects of the dirty air from the slower boat.
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74
Back to Top
alstorer View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 02 Aug 07
Location: Cambridge
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2899
Post Options Post Options   Quote alstorer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Jun 13 at 8:38am

(assuming no tide) if the other boats (boat A) is a one or two sail boat that can easily sail a straight reach, and you (boat B) are a three sail boat that needs to go deep for hoists and drops but can hold the kite on quite a tight angle, then boat B's proper course may look to boat A as if B is luffing them (go deep to hoist, reach across at a hot angle, go deep to drop)- so there's are intricacies.

-_
Al
Back to Top
Rupert View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 11 Aug 04
Location: Whitefriars sc
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 8956
Post Options Post Options   Quote Rupert Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Jun 13 at 8:45am
One important tactic is knowing the point at which (if the next mark is a gybe) you'll no longer be able to overtake to windward and break the overlap of the boat you are overtaking, and to go below instead and try and hang on in dirty wind to get the overlap.

It is also a good tactic if at all possible to go far enough to windward of another boat that to luff you would cause a serious change of course for the leeward boat, for limited gain, as you aren't directly affecting their wind. Some people will try and get you anyway, of course, but helms aware of the bigger picture may well leave you alone.

Same applies to going to leeward - if you can, leave a large separation - go low. What it can mean is that you get a tighter reach into the gybe mark, so com in at speed, your transom angle meaning you have water on loads of boats who have gone high and are now slowly running down to the mark.

Both these tactics mean avoiding all that tedious luffing/dirty wind stuff - in an ideal world! 
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
Back to Top
ds797 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 28 Mar 05
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 11
Post Options Post Options   Quote ds797 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Jun 13 at 4:36pm
Originally posted by Brass

And you were given answers to your question in the second and fourth posts in the thread.
 
Rule 17 is a simple enough rule.  Read it and apply it.


1.... obviously I didn't understand as I asked for clarification.....

2..... from RRS 2013-16:

17 ON THE SAME TACK; PROPER COURSE
Rule 17 is deleted.


Back to Top
ds797 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 28 Mar 05
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 11
Post Options Post Options   Quote ds797 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Jun 13 at 4:42pm
So next question then.... I'm now the boat being overtaken (yes I know there is no such term but bear with me!)....

If a boat tries to pass to windward of me, I can luff them to head to wind (if I want to.... give them time... realise it will slow me down etc).

Question:  If the boat is passing me to leeward, can I adjust course downwards (i.e. bear away), assuming giving time to respond etc....   (for example, from close hauled bear away 10 degrees to get more speed) etc.

Thanks :)
Back to Top
themeaningoflife View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work
Avatar

Joined: 06 May 11
Location: Essex/ Kent
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 212
Post Options Post Options   Quote themeaningoflife Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Jun 13 at 8:37pm
No you cannot, as they then gain leeward rights over you, you have to maintain the proper upwind course, which is closed hauled for best vmg.
Cambridge University Lightweight Rowing Club
RS800 1128

kindly sponsored by RWO Marine
Back to Top
alstorer View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 02 Aug 07
Location: Cambridge
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2899
Post Options Post Options   Quote alstorer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Jun 13 at 9:12pm
 
Originally posted by Rupert



Same applies to going to leeward - if you can, leave a large separation - go low. What it can mean is that you get a tighter reach into the gybe mark, so com in at speed, your transom angle meaning you have water on loads of boats who have gone high and are now slowly running down to the mark.
 

um, more like they'll all be overlapped inside you (if you're going for a drop and harden up). If you're going for a gybe drop inside them, it is their transom that's important- and that's at (or near) 90° to the leg...

We did have to pull out of a gybe drop approach a few weeks ago- though in this case we did have water, as the other boa was coming in at a similar angle. We'd established overlap sometime around the point that both boats had gybed onto final approach, well outside the zone. But that's a different matter entirely.

-_
Al
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Jun 13 at 11:26pm
Originally posted by ds797

Originally posted by Brass

And you were given answers to your question in the second and fourth posts in the thread.
 
Rule 17 is a simple enough rule.  Read it and apply it.


1.... obviously I didn't understand as I asked for clarification.....

2..... from RRS 2013-16:

17 ON THE SAME TACK; PROPER COURSE
Rule 17 is deleted.
I apologise for my terse answer.
 
What you have quoted is from either the Windsurfing Competition Rules or the Kiteboarding Competition Rules (Appendixes B or F to the RRS).  Maybe you accidentally stumbled into the Appendices instead of the rules themselves.
 
If that's what you were trying to apply I can understand why you had difficulty <g>.
 
ARE you racing windsurfers or kiteboards?
 
If so, maybe one of the others here who is better at explaining tactics can talk about passing with no rule 17.
 
Otherwise, here's rule 17 (although I suspect you've already found it and read it by now).
17 ON THE SAME TACK; PROPER COURSE
If a boat clear astern becomes overlapped within two of her hull lengths to leeward of a boat on the same tack, she shall not sail above her proper course while they remain on the same tack and overlapped within that distance, unless in doing so she promptly sails astern of the other boat. This rule does not apply if the overlap begins while the windward boat is required by rule 13 to keep clear.
I think the explanations above pretty much cover the ground.
 
Do you still have any specific questions?
.
 
 
 
 


Edited by Brass - 19 Jun 13 at 11:28pm
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Jun 13 at 11:33pm
Originally posted by ds797

Question:  If the boat is passing me to leeward, can I adjust course downwards (i.e. bear away), assuming giving time to respond etc....   (for example, from close hauled bear away 10 degrees to get more speed) etc.
Originally posted by themeaningoflife

No you cannot, as they then gain leeward rights over you, you have to maintain the proper upwind course, which is closed hauled for best vmg.
Not exactly.
 
You must keep clear of a leeward boat on the same tack (rule 11), so you can't come down on her if it means you will not keep clear.
 
You, however, have no proper course limitations.  Rule 17 applies only to a boat that becomes overlapped to leeward within two of her hull lengths of a boat on the same tack.


Edited by Brass - 20 Jun 13 at 12:47am
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 234

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy