Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Rounding a windward Mark to Starboard |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 123> |
Author | ||||
Nacnud_smada ![]() Groupie ![]() Joined: 06 Jun 19 Online Status: Offline Posts: 50 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 27 Sep 20 at 7:51am |
|||
Ok, struggling to see anything on this, was hoping for some help.
so rounding a windward mark to starboard... boat A is on Port, within 1 boat length of the mark, and it also 1 boat length above the mark layline so there is room for starboard boats to tack around the mark. boat b is on Starboard... coming into the the mark... If it was me id tack into the gap left by boat a and get on with my race... but let say that i did not tack and i carried on sailing to make boat a tack . once she tacks i then tack and go around the mark... can i do this? Or do i have to sail my proper course and tack around the mark.....??
|
||||
![]() |
||||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
Mate, have you opened your rulebook yet?
Take a look at rule 18.1 Does rule 18 apply in the situation you describe? Search for 'proper course' Do any of the rules that contain the phrase 'proper course' place an obligation on a boat on a beat to windward about to round a mark? |
||||
![]() |
||||
Nacnud_smada ![]() Groupie ![]() Joined: 06 Jun 19 Online Status: Offline Posts: 50 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
Lol thanks for that.
I dknt think rules 18 applies.. 18.1a Yer for me.. Boat B is not sailing her proper course... But in this situation I've been told "well my proper course is to sail past x to get into that gust.. Proper Course A course a boat would sail to finish as soon as possible in the absence of the other boats referred to in the rule using the term. A boat has no proper course before her starting signal. These are all things that have happened and casued great debate and arguments which I'm trying to get a better knowledge of so we can help educate the club |
||||
![]() |
||||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
OK, I'm not trying to make a dick of myself. I'm trying to help you get on top of the relevant rules and develop some methods for tackling rules problems. If you are going to discuss the rules, do it with the rules book open in front of you. Don't rely on what somebody thinks the rules say, or worse still what somebody thinks the rules mean: look at the words in the rules.
Good start. Actually it's rule 18.1(b), because P, above the layline is not on a beat to windward, but S needs to tack. People remember this as "On opposite tacks at a windward mark: take the mark away."
OK, you have found the definition of 'proper course' And you you have now found one rule that uses the phrase 'proper course' rule 18.1(b) which doesn't impose any obligations about proper course. Using the search function find and list the other rules that use the phrase 'proper course'. Look, and tell us if any of those rules apply to a boat sailing close hauled to a windward mark? |
||||
![]() |
||||
Nacnud_smada ![]() Groupie ![]() Joined: 06 Jun 19 Online Status: Offline Posts: 50 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
Thank you. I appreciate your hell thanks will give it a look. And report back 👍👍
|
||||
![]() |
||||
Sam.Spoons ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Mar 12 Location: Manchester UK Online Status: Offline Posts: 3400 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
Freudian slip there
![]() |
||||
Spice 346 "Flat Broke"
Blaze 671 "supersonic soap dish" |
||||
![]() |
||||
Nacnud_smada ![]() Groupie ![]() Joined: 06 Jun 19 Online Status: Offline Posts: 50 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
Ooops 🤦🏻♂️
Join in.. The more the merrier.. |
||||
![]() |
||||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
OK Duncan, four little rules still to find.
|
||||
![]() |
||||
Sam.Spoons ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Mar 12 Location: Manchester UK Online Status: Offline Posts: 3400 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
I'll leave you to it, I think I have it but I won't spoil your fun
![]() |
||||
Spice 346 "Flat Broke"
Blaze 671 "supersonic soap dish" |
||||
![]() |
||||
Nacnud_smada ![]() Groupie ![]() Joined: 06 Jun 19 Online Status: Offline Posts: 50 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
Yer, yer
OK. So rules 17..ON THE SAME TACK; PROPER COURSE 18.1b. between boats on opposite tacks when the proper course at the mark for one but not both of them is to tack, 18.2c (2) if she becomes overlapped inside the boat entitled to mark-room, she shall also give that boat room to sail her proper course while they remain overlapped. 18.4 Gybing When an inside overlapped right-of-way boat must gybe at a mark to sail her proper course, until she gybes she shall sail no farther from the mark than needed to sail that course. Rule 18.4 does not apply at a gate mark. 24.2 If reasonably possible, a boat shall not interfere with a boat that is taking a penalty, sailing on another leg or subject to rule 22.1. However, after the starting signal this rule does not apply when the boat is sailing her proper course. Think that's them?? |
||||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 123> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |