Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Rule 19 question |
Post Reply ![]() |
Author | |
NickM99 ![]() Posting king ![]() Joined: 26 Apr 14 Online Status: Offline Posts: 145 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 09 Sep 17 at 4:00pm |
This incident was on the start line at an Open Meeting. Wind from the SW; slight tide running E to W. RO has unusually set start line running EW so in line with the tide, presumably to reduce risk of tide carrying early starters over the line. Thus the Committee Boat (a 20 foot yacht) is at the clearly favoured end of the line.
As the fleet lines up seconds before the gun, L is on the front row, nearest to the Committee Boat. W is immediately on his stern. inevitably the front row are slightly early and start bearing away, including L. This enables W to slip into the space next to the Committee Boat, overlapping L to windward. All are depowered as much as possible and well off close hauled. As the gun goes, L hardens up and pushes W into the Committee boat. At the moment the overlap began there was ample room for W to pass between L and the Committee Boat as L was almost stopped and bearing away. (19.2.c) W has an inside overlap. To all intents and purposes the large Committee Boat is a substantial obstruction for small, almost immobile dinghies. So does Rule 19 or 18.2.b apply at this point? Edited by NickM99 - 09 Sep 17 at 5:33pm |
|
![]() |
|
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6661 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
So neither apply. |
|
![]() |
|
NickM99 ![]() Posting king ![]() Joined: 26 Apr 14 Online Status: Offline Posts: 145 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Good point Jim, missed that.
So if section C does not apply, then Rule 11 presumably does. However in this case W cannot keep clear of L as the Committee Boat is in the way. So has L failed to observe 16.1 and give W the opportunity to keep clear which would have required him not to harden up until W had cleared the committee boat and mooring line? |
|
![]() |
|
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
L, a right of way boat changing course does not give W room to keep clear. L breaks rule 16.1. Room includes the space a boat needs ... manoeuvering in a seamanlike way (Defniitions: Room). It is not seamanlike to hit things.
|
|
![]() |
|
sargesail ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 14 Jan 06 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 1459 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Presumably though if there were an option (ie the overlap was small enough) for W to slow and bear away behind L then she must take it?
|
|
![]() |
|
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
I don't think so. Initially, as L begins to luff, W is required to keep clear, it is reasonable for to do this by, herself luffing, she is not required to anticipate that L will keep luffing and break rule 16.1 (Case 27). Bear in mind that as L comes up, the overlap will increase and any 'window' that W had to bear away behind L will close very rapidly. Might depend on exact facts found.
Edited by Brass - 10 Sep 17 at 10:21am |
|
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |