New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Flying Fifteen Worlds
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Flying Fifteen Worlds

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
rich96 View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 20 Jan 05
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 596
Post Options Post Options   Quote rich96 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Flying Fifteen Worlds
    Posted: 03 Mar 17 at 12:18pm
Sounds like an eventful last race

Dow e know exactly what happened between the top two ?
Back to Top
jeffers View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3048
Post Options Post Options   Quote jeffers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Mar 17 at 1:09pm
Luffing incident on the first run it seems.

However it was not decided in the protest room as even with a 4th in the final race they would still be 2 points behind the winners.
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74
Back to Top
rich96 View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 20 Jan 05
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 596
Post Options Post Options   Quote rich96 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Mar 17 at 1:36pm
Yes - I read that report too. More interested in exactly what happened (if anyone knows ?)

Also I think the scoring would have given the Jerwoods the title very comfortably without the DSQ - so it was totally critical
Back to Top
Sam.Spoons View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Mar 12
Location: Manchester UK
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3401
Post Options Post Options   Quote Sam.Spoons Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Mar 17 at 2:00pm
I don't know what happened but does anybody think the current rules make deciding who was at fault much more complicated? Old (pre '96?) rule, hail "windward boat keep clear" until responding hail "mast abeam" the leeward boat is clearly in the right, after the second hail the windward boat is probably in the right if contact occurs (okay, I've sat on the odd protest committee back in the day and I know it's never quite that simple). Now it's anybodies guess whether the ROW leeward boat has luffed too quickly and failed to give the windward boat 'room to keep clear' ore some such.....
Back to Top
sargesail View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 14 Jan 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1459
Post Options Post Options   Quote sargesail Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Mar 17 at 4:13pm
No.  Absolutely not.
Back to Top
jeffers View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3048
Post Options Post Options   Quote jeffers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Mar 17 at 4:57pm
Originally posted by rich96

Yes - I read that report too. More interested in exactly what happened (if anyone knows ?)

Also I think the scoring would have given the Jerwoods the title very comfortably without the DSQ - so it was totally critical

Not sure why the DSQ was counted, must have been less than 20...so yes they would have taken the title sorry (Friday afternioon)



Edited by jeffers - 03 Mar 17 at 4:59pm
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74
Back to Top
Sam.Spoons View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Mar 12
Location: Manchester UK
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3401
Post Options Post Options   Quote Sam.Spoons Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Mar 17 at 5:23pm
The DSQ must have been the discard even though it wasn't bracketed in the results (the 20th was instead) but the total came to 38 (exactly the sum of races 1-6) while the DSQ was shown as 58, correct as there were 57 entries (DSQ=last+1).

As you say, if the 4th in the last race had counted they would have been on 22 points for a comfortable victory. Unless, of course the incident hadn't happened in the first place and then who knows, Goacher and Harper did turns as a consequence of the incident so finished well down the fleet in that race but to beat the Jerwoods' 22 points they would have had to finish 8th or better (which looks quite likely if they hadn't done turns).


Edited by Sam.Spoons - 03 Mar 17 at 5:32pm
Back to Top
NickM View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 27 May 09
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 328
Post Options Post Options   Quote NickM Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Mar 17 at 6:47pm
Pure guess: the Jerwoods luffed Goacher who collided with them and duly did turns but protested the Jerwoods under 14A?

Edited by NickM - 03 Mar 17 at 6:58pm
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6662
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Mar 17 at 7:48pm
Originally posted by NickM

Pure guess: the Jerwoods luffed Goacher who collided with them and duly did turns but protested the Jerwoods under 14A?


According to the report there was a hole in one boat so it seems likely that 44.1b would apply and doing turns wouldn't have been enough: any boat that was found to have broken a rule would be looking at a DSQ even if they had done a 720.
Back to Top
Sam.Spoons View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Mar 12
Location: Manchester UK
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3401
Post Options Post Options   Quote Sam.Spoons Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Mar 17 at 9:09pm
The hole was in the Jerwoods' boat so, if that's the case surely they must have been protested under rule 14? Either way the PC decided that Goacher's actions did not warrant a DSQ.

Just re-read that last post, so what you're saying JimC is that Goacher was wasting his time doing turns?....... Maybe he wasn't aware that there was damage?




Edited by Sam.Spoons - 03 Mar 17 at 9:12pm
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy