Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
windshifts and luffing rights |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 12> |
Author | ||
gordon ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 29 Jun 13 at 2:03pm |
|
This thread once again illustrates that in any discussion about the rules the first essental is to establish facts. In most cases once facts have been established reaching a conclusion is relatively easy.
Gordon |
||
Gordon
|
||
![]() |
||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
|
||
![]() |
||
sargesail ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 14 Jan 06 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 1459 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
With you right up until the end there Brass!
|
||
![]() |
||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
The discussion of this scenario was four or five times as long as it might have been because:
This led to the discussion extending over several 'what-if' situations, instead of a simple 'who broke what rule' analysis. The 'two persons' different views' problem, while it underlies probably most protests, only really comes to light in the protest room, or the bar afterwards: on the water, each sailor 'calls it as he or she sees it', so in their mind, they 'know' the facts (or else completely overlook some relevant fact), and apply the limited number of rules they think are in play. I thought working through the rule 17 issue was interesting: bear in mind the non-breach of rule 17 was caused by the wind-shift moving the boats' proper course around: it's a fairly restricted scenario. Oh and by the way Go the Wallabies.
|
||
![]() |
||
Rupert ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 11 Aug 04 Location: Whitefriars sc Online Status: Offline Posts: 8956 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Don't get me wrong Reuben - I love the complexity of sailing, and am nearly as happy debating rule oddities as I am picking the right shift, but I can see that it is somewhat offputting to many people. |
||
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
|
||
![]() |
||
Reuben T ![]() Groupie ![]() ![]() Joined: 22 Mar 13 Location: Lyme Regis Online Status: Offline Posts: 74 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
thanks Brass that makes sense
Thats what makes sailing beautifully complex at times
|
||
![]() |
||
Rupert ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 11 Aug 04 Location: Whitefriars sc Online Status: Offline Posts: 8956 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
You know, I have been sailing and using the rules all my life, but it still took several reads through that to figure out who would have been in the right or wrong depending exactly what happened when.
Given that 2 people's view of what happened will be different - "you were past head to wind" compared to "I bore off before I was head to wind" in the protest room, with neither lying, is it any wonder that at club level all but the most basic rule breaks are dealt with with a shrug? And that is before you have to worry about how you got into the position in the 1st place. |
||
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
|
||
![]() |
||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
First, I assume that you are actually looking at a copy of the rules? If not, here they are:
Rule 17 On the Same Tack; Proper Course applies if you became overlapped on the same tack within two of your hull lengths, and from clear astern of the other boat. If it applies it requires that you shall not sail above your proper course.
I discussed the situation when rule 17 did NOT apply in previous posts.
Let's suppose that rule 17 DID apply, and there you were, pinching hard to fetch the mark.
The wind then shifted suddenly so that you could no longer fetch the mark on the tack you were on.
I'm quite happy that your new proper course is to tack and that up until you pass head to wind you are not sailing above your proper course.
The instant that you pass head to wind, you are no longer 'on the same tack' as you were when rule 17 began to apply and rule 17 no longer applies, and you no longer have any proper course limitation.
So if the wind shifts as you described, you never break rule 17, and the rule 16/13 analysis I posted before applies.
Bottom line is, in the original situation as you described, on analysis, it is irrelevant whether rule 17 appleis or not.
You then asked 'if he had borne away faster when the wind-shift occurred in order not to almost tack and had made contact' would either of us have broken a rule?
If W had borne away faster and not passed head to wind, and made contact:
Edited by Brass - 28 Jun 13 at 1:41am |
||
![]() |
||
andymck ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() Joined: 15 Dec 06 Location: Stamford Online Status: Offline Posts: 397 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
I totally agree with Brass.
Rule 17 prevents you from going above close hauled until it cannot be argued that going higher is your proper course. This would be to shoot the mark if you are fetching it, or past the lay line if you need to tack. Before that you are restricted. In each case you have to give windward boat opportunity to keep clear.
|
||
Andy Mck
|
||
![]() |
||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
Rules usually depend on the positions and points of sailing of boats, not why or how they got there.
It doesn't matter whether the wind shifts to put you past head to wind or you steered there in a steady wind: when you pass head to wind rule 13 applies. If you both started out on starboard tack, with you to leeward, and both came up and pass head to wind, you would be on the other boat's port side and would be required to keep clear. If you had started out on port tack, with you to leeward, and both came up and passed head to wind, then you would be 'on the right and in the right' and the other boat would be required to keep clear. Question then is, did the give way boat fail to keep clear, that is, did the right of way boat need to change course to avoid the other boat? Whether rule 17 is in effect is also relevant. Did you originally become overlapped within two of your hull lengths, and from clear astern of the other boat?
|
||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page 12> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |