Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Extreme 40 crash decision |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1 789 |
Author | |
ASok ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 26 Sep 07 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 739 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 10 Aug 11 at 12:22pm |
More importantly, two crew members hanging upside down in the water and the tactician is just hell bent on waving the protest flag! Surely helping your buddies on first would have been the decent thing to do!
|
|
![]() |
|
Andymac ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 04 Apr 07 Location: Derbyshire Online Status: Offline Posts: 852 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
As Quangers says,
Roth was under no obligation to 'anticipate ' that Art would tack. Art did not assume any rights until it was on a Starbord tack close hauled course (it had lost its same tack, clear ahead status when it passed head to wind. Despite starting to avoid Art before it had assumed rights, Roth still didn't manage to avoid the collision. Art has failed to provide time and opportunity for Roth to keep clear. Q.E.D. |
|
![]() |
|
Quagers ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() ![]() Joined: 24 Oct 06 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 279 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
A better question is what more would you expect Rothschilds to do to avoid them? Make their boat disappear? As far as the rules are concerned the mark has absolutely nothing to do with this and it boils down to Dont tack in front of someone!
A more official explanation is that Roth doesn't need to start avoiding until Art is on a close hauled course on the new tack, they then have to have 'time and opportunity' to take avoiding action. If you watch the video you will see they start taking avoiding action while Art is still tacking, so Art has already fouled before the crash occurs. Edited to add how I see it: 10sec Art starts to tack 14sec Art passes head to wind and becomes 'tacking boat' and has no rights 16sec Roth starts to try to bear away 18sec Art gets to close hauled 21sec Collision
Edited by Quagers - 09 Aug 11 at 9:52pm |
|
![]() |
|
rb_stretch ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 23 Aug 10 Online Status: Offline Posts: 742 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
There was an incident with the Extreme 40s captured in this video
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bJpFueH1wvQ Rothschilds protested and won. What I can't figure out is what was Artemis supposed to do. They were clear ahead on the same tack. They needed to tack for the mark as Rothschild would need to as well. They looked like the had completed the tack, before the collision. What could Artemis have done in the situation?? |
|
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1 789 |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |