New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Windward boat
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Windward boat

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 456
Author
Hector View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 10 May 04
Location: Otley, Yorkshire
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 750
Post Options Post Options   Quote Hector Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Windward boat
    Posted: 19 Jun 07 at 12:38pm

Does L also have to give room and opportunity for W to keep clear as in a luff?

Also does L only gain rights once the overlap commences or more relevant, W only have to start taking avoiding action once that overlap commences? In this example, that action would probably mean tacking away - but if in doing so Ws stern swings to leeward and snags L, isn't that Ls fault for not giving room?

Guess it depends on whether L just puts her bow past Ws stern and demands immediate action or comes from further to leeward and is more fully overlapped for some time. Interesting, but if I was in the faster higher pointing boat I'd look to avoid the situation in the first place.

Back to Top
Stefan Lloyd View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 03 Aug 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1599
Post Options Post Options   Quote Stefan Lloyd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Jun 07 at 6:31am

Originally posted by WildWood

What about when the boats are sailing to windward and the leeward boat is sailing higher and faster.  Her proper course is then potentially going to cause a collision.  Example Class 1 yacht sailing to windward came up behind and to leeward of our boat (class 4 yacht).  We're not pointing as high or any where near as fast. 

Unlucky for the class 4 boat. L can sail her proper course, which may be higher than W's proper course.

Back to Top
WildWood View Drop Down
Posting king
Posting king
Avatar

Joined: 14 Nov 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 136
Post Options Post Options   Quote WildWood Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Jun 07 at 12:40am

Originally posted by JimC

17.1 If a boat clear astern becomes overlapped within two of her hull lengths to leeward of a boat on the same tack, she shall not sail above her proper course while they remain overlapped within that distance, unless in doing so she promptly sails astern of the other boat. This rule does not apply if the overlap begins while the windward boat is required by rule 13 to keep clear.

OK? To put it simply L can't luff, but if Leeward sails a hotter angle downwind than W then W has to come up to L's preferred angle and keep clear.

Ok, that makes sense on a reaching leg.  What about when the boats are sailing to windward and the leeward boat is sailing higher and faster.  Her proper course is then potentially going to cause a collision.  Example Class 1 yacht sailing to windward came up behind and to leeward of our boat (class 4 yacht).  We're not pointing as high or any where near as fast.  Should we give way, or him?

Calum, we're not going to be at Largo this weekend - damm weddings interfering with sailing !!! Have a good one.

Back to Top
Calum_Reid View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 09 Apr 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 59
Post Options Post Options   Quote Calum_Reid Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Jun 07 at 12:09am
what jim said, if you can give a little more detail then i can explain your situ better. Alternatively if I will be seeing u at largos regatta on sat i can chat to you then?
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6661
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Jun 07 at 11:58pm
17.1 If a boat clear astern becomes overlapped within two of her hull lengths to leeward of a boat on the same tack, she shall not sail above her proper course while they remain overlapped within that distance, unless in doing so she promptly sails astern of the other boat. This rule does not apply if the overlap begins while the windward boat is required by rule 13 to keep clear.

OK? To put it simply L can't luff, but if Leeward sails a hotter angle downwind than W then W has to come up to L's preferred angle and keep clear.
Back to Top
Scooby_simon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 02 Apr 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2415
Post Options Post Options   Quote Scooby_simon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Jun 07 at 11:15pm
there is no such thing as the "overtaking boat rule"
Wanna learn to Ski - PM me..
Back to Top
WildWood View Drop Down
Posting king
Posting king
Avatar

Joined: 14 Nov 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 136
Post Options Post Options   Quote WildWood Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Jun 07 at 11:07pm

Situation with two boats sailing the same leg of a course, both on the same tack, the leeward boat is faster than the other, approaching from asterm and becomes overlapped with the windward boat.

Previously (several years ago) the leeward boat would have had to have been clear ahead and broken the overlap before aquiring luffing rights, however this no longer seems to be the case (at least I can't find anything about in the book anyway).  Is it correct then that there is no need to be clear ahead, and leeward boats can luff from the moment they become overlapped (assuming the overtaking boat rule doesn't apply)?

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 456

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy