Laser Start? |
Post Reply
|
Page <12345> |
| Author | |
Lukepiewalker
Really should get out more
Joined: 24 May 06 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 1341 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Topic: Laser Start?Posted: 16 May 11 at 9:07am |
|
DSQ for the windward boat I would expect.
|
|
|
Ex-Finn GBR533 "Pie Hard"
Ex-National 12 3253 "Seawitch" Ex-National 12 2961 "Curved Air" Ex-Mirror 59096 "Voodoo Chile" |
|
![]() |
|
gordon
Really should get out more
Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 16 May 11 at 10:24am |
|
Depending on the facts found I may well disagree with Brass on this. The situation as I read it is that L luffed followed by a luff by W to keep clear.
L then luffs again and W luffs in response. This is repeated several times. In this case every time L luffs she is bound by rule 16.1 to give room to W to keep clear. There will reach a point where, in reply any further luff by L, W is unable to keep clear. At this point L must cease luffing. If, in reply to a luff by L, the only way for W to keep clear is to tack then L must give her room to do so. A further consideration on a crowded start line. W must have somewhere to go. If W has another boat to windward then when L gives W room to windward that includes the space needed for W to give room to the keep clear boat to windward. Furthermore, you cannot luff a windward boat into the committee boat. So - the question a jury would have to ask would be - did L give room to W to keep clear every time L luffed? Did W react promptly and adequately? If L had not been giving room to W before L bears away then not only do the last luffs break rule 16.1 but so does the bear away. On the other hand, if L had given room and W was not keeping clear then W has broken rule 11. If W was keeping clear but the bear away was so hard that W did not have room to keep clear then L breaks 16.1. It would be worth reading the Team Racing Call Book - calls B1, B2, C1 and C2 Gordon |
|
|
Gordon
|
|
![]() |
|
blueboy
Really should get out more
Joined: 27 Aug 10 Online Status: Offline Posts: 512 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 16 May 11 at 10:39am |
50 boats sitting head to wind on the startline, each luffing the next. You think anyone's got time to see what's going on between two other boats? Edited by blueboy - 16 May 11 at 10:58am |
|
![]() |
|
gordon
Really should get out more
Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 16 May 11 at 10:48am |
|
The source of a protest should make no difference to the outcome; It is the PC's job to establish facts and then decide, on the basis of the established facts, if a rule has been broken.
Protests from Race Committee or judges on the water, for instance, do occur. Gordon |
|
|
Gordon
|
|
![]() |
|
SalsaPirates
Newbie
Joined: 19 Jan 10 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 37 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 16 May 11 at 4:04pm |
|
apologies but slightly off theme but related ..... As a member of a race team, if you see an infringment on the water, should you take any action? e.g.:
1. you witness an infringment and no-one does penalty turns or protests?
2. a competitor sails the worng course .... sails to wrong mark or rounds a mark in wrong direction or hits a mark and no other competitors witness or take action?
|
|
![]() |
|
RS400atC
Really should get out more
Joined: 04 Dec 08 Online Status: Offline Posts: 3011 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 16 May 11 at 4:34pm |
In the event of an infringement, if it was blatant enough to warrant it, protest the wrong doers. Alternatively ask a competent rules person to talk it over with the participants.
Depends a little on the level of competition and whether you think it's blatant disregard for the rules or just a one-off error of judgement.
I would suggest only going to protest if you have sufficient witnesses, and the situation is clear enough, to be reasonably sure of a 'conviction', you have nothing to gain personally and a the worst case is the protest not upheld meaning the guilty party thinks he can get away with x,y and z in the future.
Just a pragmatic approach at club level.
|
|
![]() |
|
asterix
Really should get out more
Joined: 01 Aug 09 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 621 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 16 May 11 at 4:41pm |
|
"I would suggest only going to protest if you have sufficient witnesses"
isn't this a bit of a general problem -particularly for single handers?
|
|
![]() |
|
gordon
Really should get out more
Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 16 May 11 at 5:06pm |
|
The race committee not recording a boat as a finisher when she has finished wouold be grounds for redress, as it is contraryto rule A5. By the time that you have "had a word" with competitor time limit might well have been reached and the RC protest might well be found invalid.
There are ISAF guidelines on what a RC and judges would protest - somewhere in the manuals. Roughly speaking anything that smacks of unfair sailing should be protested (including hitting a mark and sailing on. Increasingly judges are being asked to more pro-active - commonly by signalling that they believe that they have seen an infringement. Any such request from a class association or organising club would be studied. I would advocate informing competitors. Gordon |
|
|
Gordon
|
|
![]() |
|
gordon
Really should get out more
Joined: 07 Sep 04 Online Status: Offline Posts: 1037 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 16 May 11 at 5:10pm |
|
When there are no witnesses, judges form their own idea of what happened from each competitors statements, based on their own experience as sailors. This can lead to interesting debates:
at one hearing at a one design keelboat regatta evidence was given that an incident occurred just as one boat was starting to take their spinnaker down - for the cruiser-racing judges this was clear evidence that the boats had not reached the zone, whilst for the keelboat sailors on the panel this was clear evidence that boats had already entered the zone... Gordon |
|
|
Gordon
|
|
![]() |
|
RS400atC
Really should get out more
Joined: 04 Dec 08 Online Status: Offline Posts: 3011 |
Post Options
Quote Reply
Posted: 16 May 11 at 5:21pm |
Done it myself, it was the crew's fault!
|
|
![]() |
|
Post Reply
|
Page <12345> |
| Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |