New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Start Line Collision
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Start Line Collision

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12345 6>
Author
andymck View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 15 Dec 06
Location: Stamford
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 397
Post Options Post Options   Quote andymck Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Start Line Collision
    Posted: 16 Apr 14 at 4:26pm
Spoke to L tonight. He says W was sat on the line ready to trigger pull. L approached from below and behind sailing a higher course and hailed him to keep clear. L says W could have pulled the trigger or even just sheeted his sail in and kept clear but instead continued to sit where he was. W's boom made contact with L's boat, then W bore away across L's bows to start, with the rather comical result that his transom became entangled with L's bowsprit and extracted it from its stowed position (RS400) resulting in him towing L along 6 feet behind!

We have to remember W does not have to start to respond until L has established an overlap. Only at that point does he have to respond. I would at least expect him to pull his sails in.

Reading between the lines I suspect L's intent all along was to squeeze W over the line, which is a legitimate manoeuvre, if a little match-racey perhaps.

This suggests that L was pushing very close to W and even expecting a response prior to the overlap being established.

So presuming that L's testimony is something along the lines of the above account, whilst W will no doubt testify that L gave him insufficient room to respond, how would one deal with the ensuing protest? Clear contact, no penalty turns by either party so I guess at least one boat has to be DSQ'd.

Or both, the description suggests there should have been at least a half boat length gap given the difference in speed suggested, and a slight bear away by L to at least match heading before a fair luff. The apparent lack of response gets W even if as seems the collision may have been inevitable, and therefore leading to his strong reaction.

Regarding the bad language, it was a fair bit of "effing and jeffing" and aggressive name calling by the helm of W directed at L, which went on for a fair while from the initial contact until after the boats were eventually disentangled. L's crew was a 13 year old girl, and other junior sailors were present, which to me pushes it over the boundaries of acceptability, especially on a start line where the entire fleet was clearly within earshot.

This part should be reported to the club. At the last school team race event I umpired, a very experienced umpire made a kid spin till he was dizzy for far less, swearing would have brought immediate DSQ for his team.

One thing that some of our teams have also fed back that the aggressiveness in pre start situations often leads to L spinning, and sometimes both. L rarely wins unless overlap has been established and time given, including a pause in the luff if W needs more space and time, as long as they are being seaman like in attempting to keep clear.

Andy

Sorry the formatting is not great, could not put quote in italics on iPhone.



Edited by andymck - 16 Apr 14 at 4:28pm
Andy Mck
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Apr 14 at 6:38am
Originally posted by andymck

Originally posted by ohFFsake

Thanks for all the thoughts folks. Jim the rule 69 reference was particularly useful. 

Spoke to L tonight. He says W was sat on the line ready to trigger pull. L approached from below and behind sailing a higher course and hailed him to keep clear. L says W could have pulled the trigger or even just sheeted his sail in and kept clear but instead continued to sit where he was. W's boom made contact with L's boat, then W bore away across L's bows to start, with the rather comical result that his transom became entangled with L's bowsprit and extracted it from its stowed position (RS400) resulting in him towing L along 6 feet behind!

We have to remember W does not have to start to respond until L has established an overlap. Only at that point does he have to respond. I would at least expect him to pull his sails in. 

Agreed.  W need not do anything until L actually becomes overlapped to leeward and gains right of way, but from that instant L needs to take necessary action to keep clear.

If the appropriate action to keep clear is to sheet in and draw clear ahead again, or gain steerage way and change course, then she must sheet in, and do it promptly once the boats become overlapped. 

Note that on OhFFsake's description, there may have been two incidents (RYA Appeal 2003/3):  an initial failure to keep clear/give room, then the bear away by W into L, which is pure rule 11.  They should probably be heard together (Case 49), but the protest committee may need to be careful about getting it's ducks in a row.

Originally posted by ohFFsake

Reading between the lines I suspect L's intent all along was to squeeze W over the line, which is a legitimate manoeuvre, if a little match-racey perhaps. 

This suggests that L was pushing very close to W and even expecting a response prior to the overlap being established. 

I can't easily make that inference merely from the proposition that L wished to push W over the line.

Originally posted by ohFFsake

So presuming that L's testimony is something along the lines of the above account, whilst W will no doubt testify that L gave him insufficient room to respond, how would one deal with the ensuing protest? Clear contact, no penalty turns by either party so I guess at least one boat has to be DSQ'd.

Or both, the description suggests there should have been at least a half boat length gap given the difference in speed suggested, and a slight bear away by L to at least match heading before a fair luff. The apparent lack of response gets W even if as seems the collision may have been inevitable, and therefore leading to his strong reaction. 

AndyMck, nowhere in OhFFsake's description does he say L changed course at all, and it will be crucial to whether this is only rule 15 or possibly both rules 15 and 16, whether W says L changed course (and if W doesn't say it in his primary testimony, then the protest committee needs to be very careful not to put the idea into W's mind by injudicious questions).

IMHO, half a boat length is a LOT of room, except maybe for big keelboats in strong winds and big seas. 
 
Parties and witnesses give evidence about facts and parties present argument about inferences and the application of the rules.

An assertion by a party that there was or was not 'room' is not evidence of any fact.  It is an expression of an opinion about how the Definition of 'room' applied in a certain set of fact-circumstances (to the protest committee that is a conclusion, not a fact found).

The facts that the protest committee needs to find to reach a conclusion about whether room was given include the following:

  • How long before the starting signal
  • How far apart were the boats when they became overlapped?
  • what were the relevant 'existing conditions' seastate, wind, tide/current?
  • How fast or how slow was each boat going?  How did this affect their ability to manoeuvre?
    • Were the boats sufficiently far apart initially, when the overlap began, for W, acting promptly, to have kept clear?
  • What were there courses relative to the starting linen and relative to one another?

(Diagram will help here:  watch how the parties show it with the toys, ask questions,  then the protest committee needs to decide what is most likely to be the correct version.

  • Did L change course
    • If L changed course, rule 16 may apply)
    • If L did not change course then rule 16 will not apply but rule 15 will.
  • Were there any obstructions to impede W from keeping clear?
The protest committee needs to decide which version of the facts is most likely to have happened, taking into account the evidence, and their own knowledge and experience, including that it is common tactics for:
  • a boat to hover on the starting line with easy sheets then 'pull the trigger';  and
  • a leeward boat to push a windward boat over the starting line early.


One thing that some of our teams have also fed back that the aggressiveness in pre start situations often leads to L spinning, and sometimes both. L rarely wins unless overlap has been established and time given, including a pause in the luff if W needs more space and time, as long as they are being seaman like in attempting to keep clear.

  I tried this with one of our local IUs:

If there is contact while the right of way boat is changing course, does she necessarily break rule 16.1?

Answer:  not necessarily:  if the right of way boat has delayed in responding (not responded promptly) or is not doing all she could (for example, strong helm down, but mainsail not sheeted in, resulting in a slow luff), the fact that the right of way boat is still changing course does not necessarily imply that she is not giving room to keep clear.

On the other hand, when boats are circling,umpires usually back off because they reckon that rule 16 is on while all the time.

But, if a leeward boat wants to draw a penalty under rule 11, it's better for her if she is holding a steady course when contact is made:  better still if she can say she bore away to avoid contact.



Edited by Brass - 17 Apr 14 at 7:01am
Back to Top
jeffers View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3048
Post Options Post Options   Quote jeffers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Apr 14 at 7:28am
Originally posted by Neal_g

the fact L came from clear astern and went to leeward of W after the start lead to a no right to luff, so in theory the rules apply from the prepartory flag as L came from clear astern she had the option to go to windward therefore no right to luff W

That is not correct (in my understanding of the rules, I am sure Brass or Gordon will tell me if I am in error Wink.)

As they were in the prep they are bound by the RRS. 

As they became overlapped we all agree that W is now the keep clear boat (rule 11)

As L established the overlap for astern they cannot luff higher than their proper course. (rule 17)

As L established the overlap due to her own actions she must give W the opportunity to respond (rule 15)

As there is no proper course prior to the start gun you can luff them to head to wind given the usual constraints about giving them room to keep clear. (Rule 16.1 and Proper Course definition in the preamble)
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74
Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Apr 14 at 10:02am
Jeffers is correct


Gordon
Back to Top
jeffers View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3048
Post Options Post Options   Quote jeffers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Apr 14 at 11:04am
Originally posted by gordon

Jeffers is correct



*does a little dance (I am easily pleased sometimes.....)
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74
Back to Top
catmandoo View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 16 Mar 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 545
Post Options Post Options   Quote catmandoo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Apr 14 at 1:24pm
This happens all the time ! , usually as a result of folks naivety as in w assuming he can go into a pole position on the line hold it and then sail off without dispute in fair winds ( wishfull thinking at best ) , when this scenario is interupted by a scallywag ( that knows the rules ) sailing in from behind before the gun and pushing them over the line before the gun w like peeps can get a tad defensive of their naive position , some grudgingly go up muttering , some dont . 

Those that are experienced and know the rules if in w situation are looking and defending their spot 
Expecting this to happen.


I did this last year to a w who i thought knew better , he grudgingly went up , no collisions , crossed line early and had to restart , muttered like hell ,didnt believe it , i bit my lip suggested he read rules ,  after race he asked anyone he could find if his interperation was right , to no avail , even days later .

Eventually he must have got a partial grasp of it as the next week he tried it himself but in the leeward position , not spotting the nuance of the situation and tried to luff after the gun !!!!! All this below a very experienced on the water judge enjoying an evening race , the ro who witnessed is still laughing to this day , air was a tad blue that night , but all big boys .
Back to Top
Time Lord View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 03 Dec 13
Location: Warwickshire
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 301
Post Options Post Options   Quote Time Lord Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Apr 14 at 4:46pm
OK. We've all had our say and most agree, based on the details given here, that W will lose his protest and should be dsq'd.

The 64 thousand dollar question is what did the protest committee decide?
Merlin Rocket 3609
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6661
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Apr 14 at 6:27pm
Don't forget we only heard one side. The PC gets to hear both... A lot more confusing that way!
Back to Top
Time Lord View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 03 Dec 13
Location: Warwickshire
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 301
Post Options Post Options   Quote Time Lord Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Apr 14 at 6:34pm
Agreed which is why I put in the qualifier 'based on what we heard here'.

It will be interesting to see what the protest committee actually decides on and the why.
Merlin Rocket 3609
Back to Top
ohFFsake View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 04 Sep 08
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 219
Post Options Post Options   Quote ohFFsake Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Apr 14 at 6:52pm
Yep, being very careful here to make it clear that I'm only properly aware of one side of the story myself, and that's the angle I'm presenting this from. Perhaps there will indeed be some decisive evidence presented by the other side that muddies the waters a bit. Will post the outcome after the protest is heard - not sure when that will be.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12345 6>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy