New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Trapezing and Windward Boat
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Trapezing and Windward Boat

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234 5>
Author
ClubRacer View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 26 Sep 15
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 210
Post Options Post Options   Quote ClubRacer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Trapezing and Windward Boat
    Posted: 30 Mar 22 at 5:15pm
How about pre-start inside the prep and instead of using your body you use the boat to heal on top of you so that it becomes flat when you sheet in. You make contact with the tip of your mast (un-intentionally)? No change in course is made. 

Is that the same as after completing a tight lee-bow tack, then bringing the boat on top of you to generate more dirty air and contact is made at the tip of the mast (un-intentionally)?


Edited by ClubRacer - 30 Mar 22 at 6:55pm
Back to Top
sargesail View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 14 Jan 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1459
Post Options Post Options   Quote sargesail Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Mar 22 at 6:42pm
Originally posted by ClubRacer




How about pre-start inside the prep and instead of using your body you use the boat to heal on top of you so that it becomes flat when you sheet in and you make contact with the tip of your mast (un-intentionally)? No change in course is made. 
Is that the same as after completing a tight lee-bow tack, then bringing the boat on top of you to generate more dirty air and contact is made at the tip of the mast (un-intentionally)?





I think this really helps. Imagine in the pre-start your boat is heeled, as is the boat to windward, such that, hen as leeward you trigger pull the boat flat you hit the mast of windward which is actually above your hull.

Surely no one would argue that in this situation 16.1 applies…..but it’s the same thing as going out on the wire….leeward is simply adopting a seaman like way f sailing the boat!
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Mar 22 at 11:20pm
Originally posted by JimC

Originally posted by Brass

Originally posted by JimC

It seems to me that if the crew of Leeward cannot get on the trapeze without making contact then Windward has already broken RRS 11.

Referring to the definition of Keep Clear, exactly how do you make that out?

The crew is entitled to get out on the wire, yes? And if they get partially out on the wire so they are 1/4 inch short of touching windward then surely the condition "can change course in both directions without immediately making contact" is not met.

The alternative would seem to be that the leeward ROW boat is prevented from sailing her course in her desired manner by the windward give way boat, which seems perverse. It would require the ROW boat to change course to leeward in order to have enough space for the crew to get on the wire.

Its well established that Give Way does not need to anticipate gear being moved out of its normal position. But in this case the crew is moving into normal position. Does that have implications?


There's no doubt that W does not keep clear.

Contact almost always proves failure to keep clear.

It was the 'already' I was balking at.

In the 1/4 inch example, crew could possibly be in a different plane to the hull of W (and not in amongst her shrouds).

I don't think that the definition of keep clear necessarily works.

I just think that somewhere around the 1/4 inch mark, give or take an inch, L needs to take avoiding action. That gets you there.

Anyone want to argue that trapeze not going to full stretch is not an action?


Crew going out on trapeze may be a normal act of seamanship, not to be unexpected.

Otherwise Case 73
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Mar 22 at 2:09am
Originally posted by ClubRacer



How about pre-start inside the prep and instead of using your body you use the boat to heal on top of you so that it becomes flat when you sheet in. You make contact with the tip of your mast (un-intentionally)? No change in course is made. 


Yup

Originally posted by ClubRacer


Is that the same as after completing a tight lee-bow tack, then bringing the boat on top of you to generate more dirty air and contact is made at the tip of the mast (un-intentionally)?


Different.

When you reach your close hauled course, you get a rule 15 obligation to give W room to keep clear




Edited by Brass - 31 Mar 22 at 2:10am
Back to Top
sargesail View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 14 Jan 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1459
Post Options Post Options   Quote sargesail Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Mar 22 at 6:41am


Anyone want to argue that trapeze not going to full stretch is not an action?


Crew going out on trapeze may be a normal act of seamanship, not to be unexpected.

Otherwise Case 73[/QUOTE]

Brass - wondered why you raise going out on the trapeze as an action?

It doesn’t seem to come within the scope of the use of ‘action’ in the definition of Keep clear, nor rules 15 or 16?



Edited by sargesail - 31 Mar 22 at 6:42am
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Mar 22 at 7:27am
Quibbling around with words.

Going out on trapeze must certainly be an 'action', but obviously not an 'avoiding action'

Is 'not [stretching] out on the trapeze [to avoid touching W]' an 'action?

See rule 62.1(a).

Edited by Brass - 31 Mar 22 at 7:28am
Back to Top
sargesail View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 14 Jan 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1459
Post Options Post Options   Quote sargesail Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Mar 22 at 12:06pm
Are understood - so you are suggesting that leeward could be in breach of 14 if it doesn’t take the available option of not stretching out?

Which might be the case….but it would be my contention that in most cases 14. a would apply….a crew going out needn’t check that space to windward, and their first apprehension of contact would probably be head on jib r whatever.

And that there would be few cases where exoneration under 14 b wouldn’t apply…..in fact notwithstanding US case 65, I would say that damage or injury would not have been caused by soft flesh on windward boat.
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6661
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Mar 22 at 1:08pm
Originally posted by Brass


I just think that somewhere around the 1/4 inch mark, give or take an inch, L needs to take avoiding action. That gets you there.

I've always sailed fast and delicate boats, so I accept I am far less comfortable with very close quarters sailing than the majority.

There's danger of too much logic chopping here, which is always dangerous when dealing with the rules, but what precisely is avoiding action? If the Right of Way boat has to modify her actions (and does forced inaction count as that?) because of the presence of the Give Way boat then I find it very hard to accept that the Give Way boat is keeping clear.
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Mar 22 at 1:36pm
Originally posted by sargesail

Are understood - so you are suggesting that leeward could be in breach of 14 if it doesn’t take the available option of not stretching out?


SEE GMLs post second in the thread.

L breaks rule 14. No beg-you-pardons.

Originally posted by sargesail



Which might be the case….but it would be my contention that in most cases 14. a would apply….a crew going out needn’t check that space to windward, and their first apprehension of contact would probably be head on jib r whatever.


Nah, don't buy that. L, like everybody else is required to keep a good lookout.
Originally posted by sargesail



And that there would be few cases where exoneration under 14 b wouldn’t apply


That I do buy<g>.

Originally posted by sargesail



…..in fact notwithstanding US case 65,

Don't get your reference.


USA Appeal 65 is about one incident or two, which I don't think applies here, and the more relevant Appeal for you is RYA 2003/3.

Did you mean US Appeal 45? That's about anticipation, and I don't think that's relevant here either.

Originally posted by sargesail

would say that damage or injury would not have been caused by soft flesh on windward boat.


Yes, but there might be some injury caused by the windward boat on some soft flesh.

Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1151
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Mar 22 at 1:55pm
Originally posted by JimC

Originally posted by Brass


I just think that somewhere around the 1/4 inch mark, give or take an inch, L needs to take avoiding action. That gets you there.

I've always sailed fast and delicate boats, so I accept I am far less comfortable with very close quarters sailing than the majority.

There's danger of too much logic chopping here, which is always dangerous when dealing with the rules, but what precisely is avoiding action? If the Right of Way boat has to modify her actions (and does forced inaction count as that?) because of the presence of the Give Way boat then I find it very hard to accept that the Give Way boat is keeping clear.


I'm not for one moment suggesting that W isn't failing to keep clear.

What I'm saying, and I think you're saying above, is that that is because L needs to take avoiding action, the first part of Definition:Keep Clear, not the second part 'can't change course in either direction '.

There's no doubt that if the crew of L swings in, or bends, or moves theyr hand or head to avoid touching W, that's avoiding action.

What I'm playing around with is whether ceasing to extend, or, as you put it 'forced inaction' is 'action.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234 5>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy