New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Rule 19 question
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Rule 19 question

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123>
Author
jeffers View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3048
Post Options Post Options   Quote jeffers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Rule 19 question
    Posted: 06 Oct 15 at 2:54pm
Originally posted by PeterG

My take on this is that if Yellow chooses to pass astern of red she is required to allow blue enough room to also pass astern of red. If she cannot do this then she must also pass astern of Green. Remember that Blue does not have to anticipate that Yellow is not going to give her room (and is not required to hail as she is not needing to tack to avoid). 

That seems like the correct course. However, that blighter Blue is then free to nip through the gap between Red and Green, causing all sorts of ill feeling! Nothing really to stop it happening is there? Yellow has to leave Blue room to pass behind Green, nothing says they have to use it, does it? And what if Yellow has to duck a string after Green, while Blue nips the gap and ends up in the distance. Yellow presumably just have to live with that? 

As Yellow has the choice which side they pass of the obstruction then the correct tactical choice would be to pass ahead as long as they can do so without impinging red. The rules say if they choose to pass astern an inside overlapped boat is then entitled to room. We come back to 19.2b..... 

I certainly wouldn't fancy sitting on a PC trying to sort that out! Case 11 in the casebook may provide some guidance though. I guess it may hinge on whether a line of Stv tackers would be considered a continuing obstruction in this case. As the OP pointed out there was sufficient space behind the second Stb boat for both boats to pass. 

I would say that Blue going through the gap between red and green is a risk that Yellow has to take. If blue didnt pull it off then they failed to keep clear.

On congested 'round the cans' dinghy courses this happens quite a lot. I usually make a call as to whatever will lose me the least time (or gain me the most time). Usually this is the option where there is less messing around with other boats.
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74
Back to Top
GML View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 24 Jul 11
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 94
Post Options Post Options   Quote GML Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Oct 15 at 3:05pm
Originally posted by jeffers

I guess it may hinge on whether a line of Stv tackers would be considered a continuing obstruction in this case.

From definition of "Obstruction" in the RRS: "A vessel under way, including a boat racing, is never a continuing obstruction."
Back to Top
jeffers View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3048
Post Options Post Options   Quote jeffers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Oct 15 at 3:11pm
Originally posted by GML

Originally posted by jeffers

I guess it may hinge on whether a line of Stv tackers would be considered a continuing obstruction in this case.

From definition of "Obstruction" in the RRS: "A vessel under way, including a boat racing, is never a continuing obstruction."

D'oh schoolboy error there from me, should have checked that particular definition.  

So the follow up question is do both boats get classed as 1 obstruction (as there is not room between them for both boats to pass) or 2 separate obstructions?

Either way, subject to 19.2b and the timing of the tack of Green I still think Yellow is required to give blue room. I do think 19.2b is unlikely to feature as well given that we are talking about 40foot boats under spinnaker so unless they had just rounded a mark this is unlikely to come in to play.
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74
Back to Top
flaming View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 04 Oct 11
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 41
Post Options Post Options   Quote flaming Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Oct 15 at 3:22pm
Ok, so the consensus seems to be that in the event of a valid protest from blue yellow is in trouble.  

However, what I can't see is, by the rules, why Blue's right to room as inside boat on red is trumping Yellow's right to room as inside boat on green?
Back to Top
jeffers View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3048
Post Options Post Options   Quote jeffers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Oct 15 at 4:30pm
Originally posted by flaming

Ok, so the consensus seems to be that in the event of a valid protest from blue yellow is in trouble.  

However, what I can't see is, by the rules, why Blue's right to room as inside boat on red is trumping Yellow's right to room as inside boat on green?

It is because Yellow has the choice which side of the obstruction to pass. As she chose to pass astern of Red she must also allow room for Blue to pass astern (Case 11). 

As she cannot now go through the gap because it was not big enough for both boats she effectively has no choice other than to pass astern of Green as well. 

She cannot choose to pass ahead of Green as Blue in taking the room she is entitled to in order to pass astern of Red. So she either needs to pass astern of Green as well or take herself and Blue across the bow of Red (a risky proposition).

In theory both boats would pass astern of Green but Blue could elect to go through the gap as long as she keeps clear Green.

I think that sounds about right.

The thinking man would have seen this developing and Yellow might have gone a bit lower a bit sooner to pass astern of Green and thus minimise the loss or perhaps make a gain as thy come back up to their correct course after the duck.


Edited by jeffers - 06 Oct 15 at 4:52pm
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74
Back to Top
Presuming Ed View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 26 Feb 05
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 641
Post Options Post Options   Quote Presuming Ed Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Oct 15 at 4:34pm
Originally posted by jeffers

 
So the follow up question is do both boats get classed as 1 obstruction (as there is not room between them for both boats to pass) or 2 separate obstructions?

An obstruction is "_AN_ object" i.e. a single object. 2 boats, 2 obstructions. 

Obstruction An object that a boat could not pass without changing course substantially, if she were sailing directly towards it and one of her hull lengths from it. An object that can be safely passed on only one side and an area so designated by the sailing instructions are also obstructions. However, a boat racing is not an obstruction to other boats unless they are required to keep clear of her or, if rule 23 applies, avoid her. A vessel under way, including a boat racing, is never a continuing obstruction.
Back to Top
Presuming Ed View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 26 Feb 05
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 641
Post Options Post Options   Quote Presuming Ed Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Oct 15 at 4:37pm
Originally posted by flaming

Ok, so the consensus seems to be that in the event of a valid protest from blue yellow is in trouble.  

However, what I can't see is, by the rules, why Blue's right to room as inside boat on red is trumping Yellow's right to room as inside boat on green?

That's the problem. 

Personally, whatever I decided, I'd send it upstairs to the RRC under 70.2 for confirmation. 
Back to Top
jeffers View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3048
Post Options Post Options   Quote jeffers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Oct 15 at 4:48pm
Originally posted by Presuming Ed

Originally posted by jeffers

 
So the follow up question is do both boats get classed as 1 obstruction (as there is not room between them for both boats to pass) or 2 separate obstructions?

An obstruction is "_AN_ object" i.e. a single object. 2 boats, 2 obstructions. 

Obstruction An object that a boat could not pass without changing course substantially, if she were sailing directly towards it and one of her hull lengths from it. An object that can be safely passed on only one side and an area so designated by the sailing instructions are also obstructions. However, a boat racing is not an obstruction to other boats unless they are required to keep clear of her or, if rule 23 applies, avoid her. A vessel under way, including a boat racing, is never a continuing obstruction.

Correct. but say the boat on starboard were overlapped or much closer tigether still 2 boats but then I am sure they would only count as 1 obstruction as there is no way to safely pass between them.
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74
Back to Top
jeffers View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3048
Post Options Post Options   Quote jeffers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Oct 15 at 4:53pm
Originally posted by Presuming Ed

Originally posted by flaming

Ok, so the consensus seems to be that in the event of a valid protest from blue yellow is in trouble.  

However, what I can't see is, by the rules, why Blue's right to room as inside boat on red is trumping Yellow's right to room as inside boat on green?

That's the problem. 

Personally, whatever I decided, I'd send it upstairs to the RRC under 70.2 for confirmation. 

Agreed
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74
Back to Top
Presuming Ed View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 26 Feb 05
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 641
Post Options Post Options   Quote Presuming Ed Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Oct 15 at 5:14pm
Originally posted by jeffers

 Correct. but say the boat on starboard were overlapped or much closer tigether still 2 boats but then I am sure they would only count as 1 obstruction as there is no way to safely pass between them.

Disagree. Still 2, but just treat them in the order the boats get to them. No problem. 
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy