Rossiter Pintail Mortagne sur Gironde, near Bordeaux |
![]() |
Laser 28 - Excellent example of this great design Hamble le rice |
![]() |
List classes of boat for sale |
Proper Course |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1234 6> |
Author | ||||||
Neal_g ![]() Far too distracted from work ![]() ![]() Joined: 07 Oct 07 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 323 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 02 Dec 13 at 1:00pm |
|||||
was my understanding if the boat comes from clear astern then she cant go to leeward then luff as she had the choice to go to windward, unless i'm reading it wrong of course.
|
||||||
(Redoubt Sc)
Miracle 4040 GP14 13407 Crewsaver phase 2 range now available to buy online on at http://www.gibsonsails.com |
||||||
![]() |
||||||
Rupert ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 11 Aug 04 Location: Whitefriars sc Online Status: Offline Posts: 8956 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
This happens a fair amount in handicap racing, where a boat with an assy has to make far bigger changes in course as the wind changes than one without. Generally it screws everyone up, and the clever assy sailors will go to windward where possible, and the clever non assy sailors won't luff them when they do, understanding that is is better to lose wind for a few seconds than to end up on the wrong side of the lake.
Good to have it confirmed that the wind has to change, not just becuase of the windward boat's wind shadow. |
||||||
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
|
||||||
![]() |
||||||
jeffers ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 29 Mar 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 3048 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
The way I understand it is that if you establish an overlap to Leeward you are not allowed to luff above your proper course.
We all understand the definition of proper course here I think? So to my rudimentary understanding, once L gets into the 'dirty' air from W they should not Luff unless they have evidence of a significant shift in the true wind (or unless L is sailing below what could be their proper course). Edit: As pointed out by Brass the below is no longer true as rule 17.2 have been removed from the rules. I must have been in a time warp! However we all know that once an overlap is established by L that W is not allowed to sail below their proper course unless they immediately gybe..... So the whole 'both boats below proper course' argument is a little bit of a red herring as W should have come up to their proper course once the overlap is established.
Edited by jeffers - 03 Dec 13 at 2:36pm |
||||||
Paul
---------------------- D-Zero GBR 74 |
||||||
![]() |
||||||
Rupert ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 11 Aug 04 Location: Whitefriars sc Online Status: Offline Posts: 8956 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
Doesn't have to be a shift in true wind. A lull (a real one, not boat induced) will do just as well. Proving things one way or another would probably take witnesses, wouldn't it?
|
||||||
Firefly 2324, Puffin 229, Minisail 3446 Mirror 70686
|
||||||
![]() |
||||||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
You seem to be relying on memory or slogans rather than reading the rules. Here's what the rules say:
It will be W protesting, so the starting point is that W will need to bring evidence about what L's proper course was, probably including that the wind did not change. As I said before
Note that a lull in the true wind will initially bring the apparent on L forward,, so her appropriate response may not be to come up.
Sorry, we know nothing of the kind. Rule 17.2, which used to say that was deleted in the 2009 rewrite of the RRS.
Edited by Brass - 02 Dec 13 at 10:00pm |
||||||
![]() |
||||||
deadrock ![]() Groupie ![]() Joined: 24 Jun 08 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 85 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
Does anyone know why 17.2 was deleted?
|
||||||
![]() |
||||||
Brass ![]() Really should get out more ![]() Joined: 24 Mar 08 Location: Australia Online Status: Offline Posts: 1151 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
Short discussion here
http://rrsstudy.blogspot.com.au/2011/02/rules-simplification-sometimes-it.html Submission REPORTING COMMITTEE – RACING RULES OTHER COMMITTEE - Page 206 of 331 Submission: 183-07 Racing Rules of Sailing Rule 17.2 A submission from the Norwegian Sailing Federation Proposal: Delete rule 17.2 and renumber rule 17.1 to rule 17. Current Position: 17 ON THE SAME TACK; PROPOER COURSE 17.1 If a boat clear astern becomes overlapped within two of her hull lengths to leeward of a boat on the same tack, she shall not sail above her proper course while they remain overlapped within that distance, unless in doing so she promptly sails astern of the other boat. This rule does not apply if the overlap begins while the windward boat is required by rule 13 to keep clear. 17.2 Except on a beat to windward, while a boat is less than two of her hull lengths from a leeward boat or a boat clear astern steering a course to leeward of her, she shall not sail below her proper course unless she gybes. Reason: Rule 17.2 is redundant. It is also a rule that sailors break when approaching a gybe mark clear ahead of a boat astern and to leeward. In such a situation, the clear ahead boat will bear away to ensure the other boat does not get an inside overlap at the mark. The reason for this bear away is the other boat – it follows that this is not a proper course and the boat breaks rule 17.2. A rule that makes traditional manoeuvring prohibited should be deleted from the rule book. The purpose of the rule was to ensure that there was at least one passing lane for a boat coming from astern. With the introduction of rule 16 some years ago, passing a boat to windward at some distance became less of a hazard, because when altering course the leeward boat had to give the windward boat room to keep clear, and if attempting to pass to leeward, the other boat would become windward and required to keep clear. The deletion of rule 17.2 would make the racing rules of sailing simpler. |
||||||
![]() |
||||||
deadrock ![]() Groupie ![]() Joined: 24 Jun 08 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 85 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
When the rule was changed I was of the same opinion as the comment-poster on
http://rrsstudy.blogspot.com.au/2011/02/rules-simplification-sometimes-it.html, in that deletion of 17.2 made it harder to go through a boat to leeward on a run. It used to be a valuable tactic, except that many boats less than 3 lengths ahead would still bear away on you, unaware that they were not supposed to. I see now that Rule 16 made the difference, at least making it possible to overtake to windward, and I guess on balance it makes for better racing.
|
||||||
![]() |
||||||
flaming ![]() Groupie ![]() Joined: 04 Oct 11 Online Status: Offline Posts: 41 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
I've always taken the proper course to allow me to come up when in the wind shadow of W to fill my spinnaker. I was involved in a protest on this rule last month that did nothing to dissuade me of that - since I mentioned that I had come up to fill my kite (which had collapsed due to the shadow) and the facts found clearly stated that I had not sailed above my proper course.
|
||||||
![]() |
||||||
JimC ![]() Really should get out more ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 May 04 Location: United Kingdom Online Status: Offline Posts: 6661 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||||
I'd say the decision should have been appealed... It seems then that this is a reasonably widely held misreading of the rule. I must say I'm rather staggered since I thought the wording "absence of other boats" was quite clear enough to exclude wind shadow. Edited by JimC - 03 Dec 13 at 12:18pm |
||||||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1234 6> |
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |