New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: After Finishing
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

After Finishing

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123>
Author
CurlyBen View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 Aug 05
Location: Southampton
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 539
Post Options Post Options   Quote CurlyBen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: After Finishing
    Posted: 18 Oct 05 at 9:00pm
I've left school now so it doesn't really make much difference to me! However I suspect that the rule 86.1 bit probably applies to things such as national or international events. I'm not sure but I don't think any regulations cover sailing on a lake on a national level, and pretty certain there are none for racing, so to a certain extent people can do as they please; the ISAF can't exactly tell people to stop racing just becuase they consider racing rules to apply from the 1 minute signal! To be honest I never really paid much attention to the sailing instruction I referred to, I think the idea was something to do with proper course, i.e. before 1 minute you had no proper course, after the 1 minute your proper course was towards the line - applicable if you're the leeward boat and established an overlap from astern. I tended to concentrate more on getting a good start!
Back to Top
Stefan Lloyd View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 03 Aug 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1599
Post Options Post Options   Quote Stefan Lloyd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Oct 05 at 8:41am

You are either racing to the ISAF rules or you are not. If you are, then SIs can't change part 2 ("when boats meet") rules and certain others defined in rule 86. That includes the aspects we have been discussing in this thread. It makes no difference if it is a World Championship or a Sunday club race.

Race organisers can run events to any rules they want but generally they don't. They use the ISAF rules. If you have any taken part in a sport where different organisers make up their own rules, you will know it is a complete nightmare and in particular makes international competition very difficult. We are lucky in sailing to have one internationally accepted set of rules. Not all sports are so well run.

Back to Top
RC311 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 07 Sep 05
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5
Post Options Post Options   Quote RC311 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Oct 05 at 9:11am
Seems like we still don't have a definitive answer to the initial question.
Stefan and Reddeck are quite correct that the offending boat could be
protested under rule 22.1 - but what's the penalty? Idon't think it could
be called 'unfair sailing' because the incident was unintentional, so he
could not be dsq under rule 2. And what of the poor boat who was fouled
and lost places - I can't see any grounds for redress!

As stefan points out, this situation occurs in keelboat racing, and is also a
not uncommon situation in radio controlled racing when skippers
mentally switch off after the finish and sail back through the finishing
fleet.
311
Back to Top
Stefan Lloyd View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 03 Aug 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1599
Post Options Post Options   Quote Stefan Lloyd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Oct 05 at 11:52am

Certainly there would have been grounds for redress, had a protest been filed in time, which I assume it wasn't. RRS 62.1b covers exactly this situation.

The only available penalty on the offending boats appears to be DSQ, unless the SIs make a time penalty available. See 64.1a. However it seems rather harsh and in practice I've never heard of this happening to a boat that is not racing.

Back to Top
RC311 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 07 Sep 05
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5
Post Options Post Options   Quote RC311 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Oct 05 at 1:44pm
Thanks Stefan, your interpretations seems correct. I guess if there was a
collision, then the boat still racing would HAVE to protest anyway.
311
Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Oct 05 at 11:37pm

Just goes to show that not many people involved in our sport - including those who write SIs - actually read and understand the Rules.

In the (good) old days when yachts (including dinghies) has flag halyards they would replace their cruising pennant before racing with a rectangular racing pennant. Racing Rules would apply between boats flying their racing pennnants.

As I see it a boat having finished should keep clear of a yacht still racing. Should she infringe this rule she can be protested...and be penalised by the Protest Committee (even if the other boat was sailing in a separate event. Shoulkd it be unclear that one boat has not finished Part 2 rules apply. If it is clear that one boat is not, and has not been racing Coll Regs apply - and a boat can be penalised for infringing Coll Regs. This applies even on a duckpond

 

Gordon

Gordon
Back to Top
NeilP View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work
Avatar

Joined: 23 Nov 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 271
Post Options Post Options   Quote NeilP Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Nov 05 at 10:56am

Spot on Gordon. If you have finished and impede or collide with a boat still racing, and they protest you, the the protest would have to be upheld. The penalty would depend on whether time penalties are available to the PC.

Neil

Back to Top
CurlyBen View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 Aug 05
Location: Southampton
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 539
Post Options Post Options   Quote CurlyBen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Nov 05 at 7:12pm
Originally posted by Stefan Lloyd

You are still under the racing rules after you have finished racing and in particular 22.1 applies. The preamble to part 2 implies that a penalty to a non-racing boat under 22.1 is possible.



I was looking at the rules on the ISAF website - 01-04 rules but I doubt this has changed - and while you are right with what you quote, the preamble continues to say "A boat is racing from her preparatory signal until she finishes and clears the finishing line and marks or retires, or until the race committee signals a general recall, postponement or abandonment.

a boat not racing shall not be penalized for breaking one of these rules, except rule 22.1"

Doesn't make any difference to this particular case, but if you can't be penalised under them then effectively the racing rules don't apply until the preparotory signal (other than 22.1 obviously)


Back to Top
Stefan Lloyd View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 03 Aug 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1599
Post Options Post Options   Quote Stefan Lloyd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Nov 05 at 7:33pm

Yes but two points. The first is that you were originally arguing that the rules didn't start till 1 minute. The preparatory is normally 4 minutes. Second point is that 22.1 is extremely wide-ranging. You basically have no rights versus a boat that is racing. In some kinds of racing, it is extremely common to have boats around you racing while you are waiting for your start sequence.

Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Nov 05 at 7:45pm

a boat not racing shall not be penalized for breaking one of these rules, except rule 22.1"

This is a quote from the preambule to Part 2 "When boats meet" of the Rules. All other parts of RRS apply - including, and especially Rule 2!

Gordon

Gordon
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy